We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty food at an independent restaurant -- yay!”
Review of Saigon Kitchen

Saigon Kitchen
Ranked #3 of 188 Restaurants in Surprise
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Saigon Kitchen opened in April 2011. It is on Bell Road in Surprise Arizona. It is a great restaurant and should be added to your website!
Surprise, AZ
Level Contributor
417 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Tasty food at an independent restaurant -- yay!”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

The food is fresh and tasty. We enjoyed spring rolls, lemongrass chicken, and salmon. All were very good. There is a happy hour menu with discounts until 6:00. Saigon Kitchen has a clean, modern atmosphere; don't be dissuaded by the strip mall location. Service is amateur and spotty; hopefully that will improve because we definitely plan to return.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lotsagoldens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    82
    32
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
649 reviews
409 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Consistently great fresh food”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

They have a great menu with lots to choose from, it is a very tough choice because it is all so appetizing and such fresh ingredients. All Vietnamese , Saigon, Asian cooking. Great presentations and big portions. This is not your typical neighborhood egg roll place. They have kicked it up a few notches. You do have to look at the specials on the board. Already been here a few times, usually try something different each time and have had all really great meals each time. We always get the spring rolls here with different meat and veggie choices, so fresh with a fantastic peanut dipping sauce. Also had the Cornish Hen which was crisp, with jasmine rice a side salad and the broth soup. All come very nicely presented on one dish. Had the Pho Combo noodle soup. Different Pho's to choose from in small and large size. For 1.00 more get the large Got the large portion knowing some would go home. It is full of noodles and all of their meats, on the side they give you basil, lime,2 sauces sweet or spicy and jalapenos to create yourself in your bowl, put in as little or all that you want. It just takes in all those flavors. And the next day what you took home will taste even greater. Good staff. Did have to ask for water refills. Great value for the really nice presentations and great food. They have a very quaint area for outdoor seating that is low lighting and mini booths, bar is nice.This place is jumpin and very popular, very good addition to this valley and Surprise. Make a reservation it fills up even in the summer.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank monetkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
225 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Went on friend's rave review”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We had a late lunch w/friends as they frequent often. Nothing special to report on my end but to be honest, we weren't focused on the food; too busy catching up.

The calamari appetizer seemed 2b a hit as everyone enjoyed. Dishes are served w/Jasmine rice and beef broth and small side salad. Friends ordered noodles in lieu of rice which would have been a better choice by looks. Not a carb fan so this place wasn't what I would consider "clean" eating. My significant other had the beef dish, which is considered a house favorite, and he very much enjoyed it. I had the lemongrass shrimp and it too, was good.

Service was great. This is not a fancy place ~ very simple furnishings, very clean and in a convenient location.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pittsburgh82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Greatest food in Surprise”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

This is fast fun and friendly. Don't let the strip mall scare you away. Make sure to order the fresh spring rolls. Have fun and enjoy

Helpful?
Thank JQBarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Second and final visit”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Visited on a Friday at 6pm, when the restaurant was not too busy. Ordered two appetisers, Spring Rolls - which were very tasty, and chicken skewers - which contained some very cheap cuts of chicken, the meat was chewy, and contained pieces of gristle and connective tissue. For $7, it was very poor. Despite ordering our starters early, the mains arrived while we were still eating the appetisers. Since the place wasn't busy, what was the big rush to get us out the door. The same thing happened to a neighbouring table, with entrees arriving while they were still eating their appetisers.

For entrees, we each had a fried rice dish, tasty, but a little greasy. Again, the chicken in the chicken fried rice was tough, and contained fat, gristle and connective tissue. I'm not particularly fussy about my food, but the chicken was very poor quality.

We did not order drinks, only iced water, but refills were not forthcoming. Twice I had to attract the server's attention to get more water.

The overall experience was not a pleasant one, and we will not go back. Overall, my opinion is that this restaurant has let it's standards drop, perhaps they assume that a good Tripadvisor rating will draw customers in, irrespective of the quality of the food. This is not the first review that mentions the quality of the chicken, so someone needs to sit up and pay attention to what the customers are saying.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank djosully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saigon Kitchen also viewed

Surprise, Central Arizona
Surprise, Central Arizona
 
Surprise, Central Arizona
Surprise, Central Arizona
 
Surprise, Central Arizona
Surprise, Central Arizona
 

Been to Saigon Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing