We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Irish Fare”

Irish Wolfhound Pub
Ranked #1 of 185 Restaurants in Surprise
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
63 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good Irish Fare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Welcoming staff as we entered the Pub. Our waitress was friendly and helpful with selections on the menu. Food was delicious, I opted to ordered traditional Irish fare. Barley soup was loaded with barley and wonderful on a cold evening in January. The tender, large mussels were served with a garlic butter sauce and a roll to sop up the delicious sauce. The corned beef and cabbage was a good size portion with thick slices of beef that had just the right amount of spices. My husband ordered the meatloaf which had chorizo incorporated in the ground meat and added a delightful flavor. We'll definitely be back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aztravellover007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    125
    29
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
631 reviews
402 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“Quality is lacking”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Third time here in the past 3 years. It is declining in quality and amount. We ordered the calamari appetizer which is in a wine sauce that has kick with olives and onions. It wasn't too bad but way too much liquid, more olives and onions than calamari. Others ordered the mussels which were very tough and oversteamed and the seafood chowder soup which was lacking seafood and flavor. Here is the kicker, on the menu it mentioned soup is accompanied with irish soda bread. It was such a very tiny piece it wasn't even one bite. The calamari appetizer came with one roll as did the mussels. Now when there are 2 to 4 people sharing the dishes you would think that there would be more than 1 roll on the dish. We asked the server for more rolls or irish soda bread and she said she has to charge an extra $1.00 for each extra piece of bread. We said forget it that is so ridiculous, especially seeing that this is an irish place and they should have plenty of irish soda bread. We ordered our main dishes and told the waitress to please pace us and not bring the food all at once while we have the appetizers. Right after we received our appetizers here comes our dinners. We had her take them all back and reminded her that we asked her not to put the dinner order in until we finished our appetizers. So we then received our dinners after we finished the apps. I had the corned beef and cabbage. What a huge disapointment. What used to be really good size slices of corned beef is now looking like chips of corned beef.They pour white sauce all over the dish so it is best you get that sauce on the side which I asked for.The cabbage was just a quarter slice which used to be half a slice, a spoon of mashed potatoes and no carrots, whgich used to be on the plate. The lamb stew was tasty but lots of veggies and the lamb shank was small and again came with the very very tiny piece of soda bread. Fridays are fish fry night and the fried fish was pretty heavily breaded but was good even though the pieces of fish were small. Obvious they are trying to give you less food and quality to keep the prices the same. But guess what, after we recieved our dinners the server brought us 2 rolls free of charge. It is clean, they have a nice bar and backroom darts and biliards, also a nice outdoor patio area.The serving staff is efficient, however, overall a disapointment.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank monetkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
69 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The best in Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

I have been to the Irish Wolfhound many times and it is always a great experience. While the service is a bit slow due to making the food on the spot, the food is so good. Bangers and mash can't be beat. I tried the Boxty chicken and it was so delicious. I shared some with my friend and he said he wished he had ordered that. The sampler plate of sliders is yummy and a full meal by itself. I would highly recommend this place. Our order came to $38 for two people.
This would be an excellent place for a romantic dinner, business meeting or a family affair. The decor is dark wood and very comfortable.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Irish Wolfhound Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

We went with friends where the Pub is a regular for them. The food was delicious. Atmosphere was everything a Pub should be.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avondale, Arizona
1 review
“Horrible customer service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

For the past two weeks I have witness horrible customer service from the bar staff. First a man at the bar was allowed to yell and curse at a family with 3 small children, simply for them sitting at the bar. When the family finally had enough they left the bar before being able to be served. When two of the bartenders where asked about the situation, the response was the same. They stated that there was nothing they could do, and they continued to allow the man to act in this manner for the rest of the evening. Worst off this was while the owner was present. The second occurrence involved a man asking why the football game was not played through the speakers on the ceiling like they normally are. The response the bartender gave was "you must need a hearing aid." The customer was an older gentlemen who seemed to take extreme offense to this comment. This use to be my go to bar for a relaxing good time but, over the past couple of weeks it has become evident that customer service in now way is a priority at this establishment.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Irish Wolfhound Pub also viewed

Surprise, Central Arizona
Surprise, Central Arizona
 
Surprise, Central Arizona
Surprise, Central Arizona
 

Been to Irish Wolfhound Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing