We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional French food, an unforgettable experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Amuse Bouche

Amuse Bouche
Ranked #9 of 185 Restaurants in Surprise
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
113 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Exceptional French food, an unforgettable experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

The owners started a catering business in Surprise and then opened this wonderful Bistro! The food is exceptional and the experience is unforgettable. I ordered roasted leg of lamb that was served on a grilled ciabatta bread with garlic aioli, topped with caramelized onions, tomatoe and Swiss cheese. The lamb was so tender, it melted in your mouth.It was served with a side of field greens, balsamic vinaigrette, candied pecans, and aged blue cheese. My friend ordered Quiche Lorraine with Swiss and bacon and was also served with a side of field greens, balsamic vinaigrette and candied pecans. We both could not finish our plates! The space is tiny, the menu is limited but the food is definitely an amazing experience you will not forget!!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
12 Thank 73Elaine73409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    45
    17
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
182 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Excellent French food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

When I feel like splurging, this is the place I choose in Surprise. The food is always excellent. I especially like the pork tenderloin panini and the caprese panini. My significant other loves the meatloaf sandwich. Desserts and soups are always outstanding. There is no atmosphere, but the food makes up for it!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
11 Thank ALT44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
88 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Classic technique, Home made taste”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

The open kitchen is spotless. The owner/server was very informative, admitting that the small dining room was an afterthought. She said the crowds that are common in the winter thin out in summer. The coffee was disappointing; high acid. I ordered a mushroom crepe and made sure she understood I was vegetarian. The potato side dish was cooked in bacon fat, which is a small mistake when serving a vegetarian. You could tell that the husband/ cook had classic technique, but the flavors and textures in the crepe were nothing exciting. A little sauce or garnish would have helped. My friend ordered the special: roast beef hash eggs benedict. He said it was very good. A good choice for the locals, but I will not go out of my way (30+ miles) to eat here.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank AZJOHN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
534 reviews
474 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING Tiny Bistro (B.Y.O.B)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

They make soup that is better than Bouchon's (Yountville Ca.) The Pots De Creme is to die for. I've dined here several times but on this visit I had Hanger steak that only came with a feta salad. It didn't sound special but the taste of everything far exceeded my expectations. My husband had the three in house made sausages pasta dinner and he said it was phenomenal. You have to make a reservation to get in since the place is tiny and it is bring your own booze kind of place. The menu is VERY LIMITED and CHANGES everyday.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
12 Thank TheSaltyPepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Always excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

The wait on mother's day was about 35 minutes even though we had a reservation, but it was well worth the wait. The eggs Benedict didn't disappoint. Wonderful holandaise sauce and the ham they use is so good. Great food. Great service. Great restaurant!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
12 Thank Barb391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amuse Bouche also viewed

Surprise, Central Arizona
Surprise, Central Arizona
 
Surprise, Central Arizona
Surprise, Central Arizona
 
Surprise, Central Arizona
Surprise, Central Arizona
 

Been to Amuse Bouche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing