We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Hiking to Havasu Falls

Highly recommended! It was an amazing experience, beautiful scenery, the weather was perfect which... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
Gabbyjack K
The end of the world

Sometimes you just have to go and see it yourself. We love this place! Come on down but don't go... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Todd M
via mobile
Read all 511 reviews
  
Reviews (511)
Filter reviews
511 results
Traveler rating
420
37
12
11
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
420
37
12
11
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mile hike parking lot grand canyon supai village bucket list pygmy guides water shoes small rocks hualapai lodge wildland trekking bread long hike picnic tables camping trip spring water one night sleeping bag
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 511 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2019

As much as I wanted to love it, witnessing what the poor pack animals were going through was awful, and all I could think of was the suffering and how I was supporting it by being there. It’s something you can’t forget and until something is done about this it’s truly not worth it.

Date of experience: July 2019
21  Thank HeidiKS93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2019

All you have to do is go to @havasupaihorses on instagram or facebook and you’ll see all the proof you need. When i was there, WITNESSING the SCARS and FRESH PROOF OF ABUSE of the animals, i was disgusting. I wanted to leave because they also treat the visitors rudely. When we were asking simple logical questions about camping, they were answering us very vaguely, though when we asked them to elaborate or asked more questions, they told us to “figure it out ourselves”. Though the falls are absolutely gorgeous, i’m sure there are places that look similar or are even more gorgeous. Please go to havasupaihorses.org to learn more and try to help. And please please please make others aware.

Date of experience: June 2019
23  Thank 246lyss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2019

Is the land spectacular, the waterfalls magnificent, range and sky vast......yes!!!! But there is only 3 ways down into this canyon, the most used is by horse and pack animal. I witnessed horrific cruelty and neglect of these Havasupai horses........tied while overloaded with supplies and gear for several hours with no shelter or shade from the intense Arizona sun, no water, bloody burns and untreated wounds from abrasive ropes and pack lines, labored breathing and instead of walking the overloaded horses and pack animals in the midday sun, they were forced to run downhill over rocky and rutted terrain. We carried our own packs down into the canyon, and had planned to stay for several days, but were so sickened by the condition and treatment of the horses, we hiked out the following day! Sorry we ever supported people that devalue the wonderful creatures that have always worked by their sides?

Date of experience: April 2019
20  Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2019

The waterfalls and the hike is amazing. I really had a great time. However, seeing animals being abused is not worth it. For anyone going down there - you have to hike. It's an 11 mile hike to camp, then from camp it's a 5 mile each way hike to the lower falls. If you can't do the 11 mile hike with your tent and provisions then sorry you can't go. Do not use pack mules or horses to carry your stuff down. Anyone who does this does not deserve to be there. The horses and mules are abused, have obvious rope burns and make the 11 mile (22 mile) round trip journey each day (multiple times maybe) because you're too lazy to carry your stuff. If you do this, you are the ones who are abusing the animals. I didn't see the worst of it but from what I saw, it was horrible. The animals are skinny, go without proper water and food all for your enjoyment. I didn't know this until I was already hiking in the canyon. And this behavior has been going on for years, it's absolutely horrible.

Date of experience: October 2018
13  Thank Larissa023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2019 via mobile

Spent 3 nights on the Havasupai tribal land, camped at the campground just below Havasupai falls. The falls are stunning but they are only a small part of the area. This is definitely a trip worth doing but currently only 3 night permits are being issued... that’s actually a plus, there is so much to do hiking the area and visiting the various falls.

Date of experience: May 2019
5  Thank gomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews