We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa pool with great view”
Review of Inverlair Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inverlair Lodge
Auckland, NZ
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Spa pool with great view”
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

A lovely spot to stay right on the Otago Rail Trail. The outdoor spa was very welcome after a couple of days cycling and had a wonderful view.
We had a twin room and the beds seemed small, as did the room, but the living area was great with nice views.
We ate at the local pub and they will come and collect you and return you back there at the end of the night.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank CrusaderBex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
21
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

My husband and I were part of the Slow Spokes group that stayed at Inverlair Lodge recently while biking the Otago Rail Trail. Our wonderful host Di gave us a guided tour of the Lodge on arrival and we were most impressed with the lovely modern spacious kitchen and lounge areas and beautifully appointed clean, warm bedrooms. After a dinner at the Oturehua Hotel we returned to the Lodge where some of our group sat around a cosy fire drinking wine while others of us soaked in the outdoor spa pool gazing at the milky-way and drinking in the country air....this really was heaven.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hauroko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dianne G, Owner at Inverlair Lodge, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Hi, many thanks for your kind comments we really enjoyed having your group to stay. Hope the rest of your journey was a memorable experience.
Kind Regards
Dianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, NZ
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

After biking all day, sitting in the spa pool at Inverlair, with a glass of wine, is about as good as one can get. Diane is very kind, accommodating. We enjoyed a lovely room and great company of others on the rail trail. They have good bike storage and a huge common area where the view is unparalleled.
We enjoyed a very nice continental breakfast. One could could outside on a barbie, but we headed down the street to eat. Our neighbors reported and EXCELLENT meal for dinner. I wish we'd stayed!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dianne G, Owner at Inverlair Lodge, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thankyou Peter for your review, so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope your
cycle trip on the Rail Trail was a memorable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

The kitchen and lounge areas of this lodge are stunning, and a big fire was good to welcome us on a very chilly day. Our main disappointment were the bedrooms, which were bare in comparison and cold - the heating in them didn't come on until 6pm, which was too late on a day when we had all pedalled like fury to get out of the freezing wind. A second bedside table and lamp for reading, and a coat rack or coat pegs or something for putting clothes on, would make the rooms more user-friendly.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank A keen traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dianne G, Owner at Inverlair Lodge, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
What a pity you hadn't addressed these problems with us while you were staying as I am right next door and certainly could've turned on the heating in your bedroom earlier had we known you were feeling the cold so much. As you mentioned we did have the fire going to keep the lounge and dining areas warm where everyone dryed out their clothes and footwear. I appreciate your comments and hope you have a safe trip back to Edinburgh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juliën van Nimwegen
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Cycling the Otago Rail Trail we had pre-booked a night here.

Staying over couldn't have been more perfect.

A warm welcome, and lots of drink and food to help yourself to with reasonable prices.

And the view whilst breakfast in the morning in amazing!


Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank julienvannimwegen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dianne G, Owner at Inverlair Lodge, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
So glad you both enjoyed your stay with us and wish you a safe journey back to Asmsderdam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We spent New Year's Eve here after a day's cycle, and it was great, very comfy. Spa pool was bliss at 10pm that night, out in the open under the stars. Lovely brekky before heading off the next day, and very friendly and hospitable owner. We had dinner at the local pub and very friendly publican drove us back (5 mins up the road) at the end of the night. Food at the pub was awesome, above average pub food.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charmarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dianne G, Owner at Inverlair Lodge, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thankyou for your kind review, so glad you enjoyed your stay although none of us managed to see the New Year in! Hoping 2014 is a good one for you and that the rest of your journey was a memorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed for 1 night they offered a chef but we chose the self cook BBQ option there were 6 in our party but the BBQ pack would have fed 12 the selection of wines were mainly local and good
The spa was very welcome after the day on the bikes.
Thanks for a wonderful stay

Room Tip: all rooms are good but room 1 has the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Les N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dianne G, Owner at Inverlair Lodge, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thanks for your comments Les, so glad you all enjoyed your stay. Hopefully you will be back again some time in the future. Regards Dianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inverlair Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inverlair Lodge

Property: Inverlair Lodge
Address: 3422 Ida Valley-Omakau Road, Oturehua 9387, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Central Otago > Oturehua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Oturehua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inverlair Lodge is a near new purpose built country Lodge which over looks the Otago Central Rail Trail with magnificent views of the Hawkdun Ranges in the heart of the Ida Valley.6 stylish bedrooms all with own ensuites. Capacity 16 guests.Spacious dining, kitchen and lounge areas.Spa pool & BBQ facilities.The perfect setting for small group functions such as Wedding Anniversaries, family reunions, curling groups, corporate functions and conferences.Inverlair offers you Generous Hospitality & Warmth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Inverlair Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing