We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Xanadu Ranch GetAway / Private Guest Rooms / Guest Ranch & Horse Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Sonoita B&B and Inns
NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed March 29, 2010

We stayed in the "Bunkhouse". It was perfectly clean and very comfortable. It was great having the kitchen and the BBQ available. After eating in restaurants it was a welcome break to have our own home cooked food. Watching the sun rise with a hot cup of tea and a warm biscuit was heaven. Karen and Bernie are great hosts and made us feel very welcome. I would love to go back to that area to find some good hiking trails and I would definately stay at Xanadu!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJNY67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    10
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
68
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2010

We spent 2 days here, 3/3-4, after having been here a year earlier. Bernie and Karen have done a wonderful job in making each room really special. We were in Rm. #2 and had everything we would want or need provided - we brought our own food for one meal, and used the microwave to re-heat, plus there utensils, plates, etc. The drive into Sonoita takes about 5 min., and if you choose, you can eat at one of several restaurants there. The room was immaculately clean. We love this place because of the quiet and solitude, but it caters mostly to "horsey" people, so this is another aspect which we enjoy also. Thank you Karen and Bernie for developing such a wonderful relaxing spot ..

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuddAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2010

Karen and Bernie are amazing - they are obviously doing what they love in a place they know is special, and they go above and beyond to make sure you have an enjoyable, relazing visit. Their concern for your well being stems beyond their gates as well, which is rare these days. The energy is positive and palpable, the site silent and serene, the hosts accommodating and just plain good people. We began planning our return before we left, and are bringing more people to share the experiene with. Enjoy your visit!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCPufnstuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boise, id
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2010

Xanadu is a cozy small getaway with a very homey feeling. The setting is absolutely gorgeous and Karen and Bernie are nice as can be. We stayed for a week and thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nerfbats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 8, 2009

This is a wonderful place and the view is incredible. The room was very cozy. Karen and Bernie were awesome host. We cant wait to return.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dktorts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern AZ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 3, 2009

I attended a week-long clinic in Sonoita and the Xanadu couldn't have suited my needs better! I needed wifi Internet and a kitchen--what I got far exceeded that. The room (#1) was as spacious as a small house and the views were spectacular. The place was furnished impeccably and tidied daily with painstaking care. It was truly a peaceful, soothing, and lovely getaway for this solo traveler. I shall return--with my horse!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oasisaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
2 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2009

Karen and Bernie have thought of everything, including all the "little things" that made my stay comfortable and easy. I was greeted by big welcoming smiles, and a well-appointed room with micro, fridge, coffee machine, satellite TV and Wireless!!! Outside my window, the sounds of a small waterfall in a Koi pond, and vistas of horse pastures, desert and mountains. They've created several different seating areas located near your door, where you can go to simply sit and reflect, or eat a picnic, or a sip a glass of wine with the stars and moon. As if this all isn't enough, they keep a small "self serve" pantry (payment on the honor system) that has every kind of snack - both the healthy ones, as well as lots of chips, crackers and chocolate! If you want a place where you can go to just "BE", this is certainly a wonderful retreat.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HorseWisdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonoita
22.3 mi away
Sierra Suites
Sierra Suites
#1 of 22 in Sierra Vista
561 reviews
21.9 mi away
Gateway Studio Suites
Gateway Studio Suites
#2 of 22 in Sierra Vista
165 reviews
24.7 mi away
Best Western Green Valley Inn
Best Western Green Valley Inn
#2 of 5 in Green Valley
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Inn at San Ignacio
Inn at San Ignacio
#4 of 5 in Green Valley
41 reviews
10.0 mi away
Spirit Tree Inn Bed and Breakfast
23.9 mi away
Wyndham Green Valley Canoa Ranch Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xanadu Ranch GetAway / Private Guest Rooms / Guest Ranch & Horse Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu Ranch GetAway / Private Guest Rooms / Guest Ranch & Horse Motel

Property: Xanadu Ranch GetAway / Private Guest Rooms / Guest Ranch & Horse Motel
Address: 92 S.Los Encinos Rd, P.O. Box 1291, Sonoita, AZ 85637
Location: United States > Arizona > Sonoita
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Sonoita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Xanadu Ranch GetAway gives you all the amenities to make your stay your way...At the Xanadu you can make your own hot breakfast in your room, we have 3 units with Full Kitchens or go to one of our local places for breakfast.or just have a cup of coffee or tea on us, in the privacy of your own room or outside at one of our comfortable scenic seating areas, watch a DVD movie (all rooms have satellite TV, DVD players and wireless Internet)***All rooms have refrigerators, microwaves, coffee pots & toasters.We are 1 1/2 miles from the Sonoita Crossroads, close to all the finest Restaurants and Shops, in the heart of wine country...If your coming to do the winery's we would recommend stopping at Charron's vineyards just off I-10 6 miles on the left. Then come here and check in as we have a Wine club card, on your room key for discounts and take some of our wine glasses all this will save $. Also we can give you the latest updates and a wine tour vacation guide. Xanadu Means "A place of great beauty, peace and contentment " Dream Land" ! Trip Advisor's # 1 Pick for Sonoita, Elgin, Patagonia, (The Mountain Empire) Certificate of Excellence Winner from Trip Advisor for 2011 & 2013 & 2014 (A big thanks to all our return guests) The # 1 pick for group gatherings, family reunions, Girl's weekend out, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Xanadu Ranch GetAway / Private Guest Rooms / Guest Ranch & Horse Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing