We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great way to spend the day!”

Arizona Horseback Experience
Ranked #4 of 8 things to do in Sonoita
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Guided Trail Rides in the heart of Arizona's Wine Country. Responsive, Energetic, Horses. Spectacular scenic vistas. 3 hr rides, wine tasting rides, full day rides and multiple day pack trips. Experienced and knowledgeable trail guides. Special discunts.
Rochester, New York
1 review
“A great way to spend the day!”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The owners, Ron and Marge are great people. They really care about their riders and horses. They have many trails to choose from. They can accommodate riders of all skill levels. I signed up for a private full day ride. Ron selected a horse (Barney) appropriate for my weight and skill level. After a ride briefing, we headed out. Ron's trail choice was perfect, a variety of terrain with great views and scenery. Ron was very knowledgeable about the local history, plant and animal life. We ate lunch at a spot with a great view. Marge packed our lunch just before we left (made to order sandwich, homemade cookies, chips and a apple). In summary… great people, great horses and great trails.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank OutdoorGuy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    7
    0
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poulsbo, Washington
Level Contributor
120 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great ride!”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor, we booked a 3 hour ride and were not disappointed. Our guide Val, was fantastic-very knowledgeable with the area and horsemanship in general. Two of the people in our group had never ridden and the horses were all very well behaved-the views were scenic and made for great photo opportunities. I would also like to add that when you make reservations, be sure to accurately give the owners your height and weight-or the scale will come out upon your arrival. This is not to embarrass you, it is to protect the horses, as the owners work very hard at matching riders to the variety of horses they have at their ranch. I would highly recommend Arizona Horseback Riding Experience!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Novaart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY's Finger Lakes
Level Contributor
116 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A guided tour of the high desert”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

The owners were welcoming and gracious. We called just the day before and were able to join the 3 hour trail ride. Our guide, Cody, was the best! he was very conscious of our comfort and safety all of the time while providing just the right amount of information and quiet.
The scenery we rode through was just gorgeous and there was no trouble spotting wildlife and signs of wildlife. I am absolutely a novice to horseback but the horses were great. They seem to have just the right combination of training and free-spiritedness to make the ride an adventure, not a nose-to-tail slog. Some sections of the trail we rode were tricky but the horses and Cody guided us through just fine.
The three hours passed far too quickly. We were back at the corral before you knew it. This was one of the highlights of our trip to the Tucson area.
The cost of the trip was about $90 per person, a fair value for the beauty of the trip and the quality of our guide.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank keith46er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

My wife and I and our three teenage girls had a 3-hour ride at the Arizona Horseback Experience. It was fantastic! Our guide, Cody was great. The horses were very good and the scenery was gorgeous. We had done a sunset ride in Tucson the day before and this experience was dramatically better. The horses were responsive. It wasn't just a "nose to tail" ride. The guide was articulate and knowledgeable about the flora, fauna, history and geography of the area.
When we were on our way home from our week in Arizona I asked the kids what their best memory of the trip was and they all said that it was the horseback ride in Sonoita!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
135 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Trail Riding at its Best”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We took a 3 hour trail ride. The scenery is gorgeous. You feel you're in the wild west! Horses were excellent. Our guide, Val was fabulous. Once you book your ride ( in advance) you must pay and the ride will go, rain or shine.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank GVgolfer2aces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arizona Horseback Experience also viewed

 

Been to Arizona Horseback Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing