We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveler rating
51
4
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
51
4
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaz wine countrycommon roomgoat milkb and bromantic weekendbeautiful propertyboth morningsa great place to stayyogurtcherylsonorahostsfireplacesoapguestsbreakfastconditioner
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 57 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2017

We had a group of four couples that went for a wonderful weekend in Sonoita in Southern Arizona. We stayed at a small B & B hosted by Cheryl & Tom Rogos. The rooms are comfortable, very clean and beds are terrific. The breakfasts were fabulous and the place peaceful and relaxing. The country side is spotted with small wineries and tastings were reasonable. The horse races was an added attraction since it was the same weekend of the Kentucky Derby. Beautiful, relaxing area to visit and a great place to stay !

Room Tip: There are only four rooms and they are equally good. Ours ( Mission Room) happened to have a fireplace but, we did not use it.
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Al G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas R, Owner at La Hacienda de Sonoita, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2017

Thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your experience at La Hacienda and Sonoita. We look forward to your return with all your friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2017

Arrived early and was allowed access to room right away...just one thing was missing for me on arrival...there was NOTHING to drink available in common room...it was a very HOT day, and a nice pitcher of (even just ice water) something would have been nice. Stayed at many B&Bs (both in US and abroad), and they always have little "snacks" and something to drink available all the time. That being said, the breakfast was wonderful, and the host/hostess' company was appreciated at the table since we were the only guests.
SPECIAL NOTE: The Hacienda is located about 1/2 mi. in from main road on a rutted DIRT ROAD...we didn't mind since we have an SUV, but be warned if you don't take your vehicle "off road" that this might be a consideration. Rooms were clean (rather like motel rooms), and walls painted with southwestern themes.

Room Tip: Think most rooms only have one bed...we need two, so be sure to inquire.
  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2016

Very clean, albeit minimalist rooms resulting in a rather cold ambience, each decorated with an attempt at a theme, ours being the railroad room. The commons family/dining room was full of warmth and charm, however. Spacious room accommodations with few amenities, including bedding with only two pillows, no extra blankets, no tissues and one had to ask for a bar of "goat milk" soap. The two absolute highlights were views of the stars at night, and stunning cattle ranch views of beautiful land with a distant mountain backdrop in the morning. Breakfast was both delicious and generous with super conversation around a communal table - Tom is a wonderful story teller. A great way to start a Sonoita day!

Be sure to travel to the B&B before dark as you travel a long dirt road to get there. We found the free running dogs a bit annoying, especially upon our arrival and in the morning.

Room Tip: The Grand Canyon room, in which our friends stayed, seemed the best of the four available.
  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MCBW5875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2016 via mobile

Nice place, nice folks. One calm dog, one maybe aggressive. Not bad with people. Very quiet. No wifi, but ATT 4G works well. Nice room, fire place. Did I say very Quiet. Looking forward to breakfast. I am gluten free. They said it didn't matter.

Stayed: December 2016, traveled with family
1  Thank Timothy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas R, Owner at La Hacienda de Sonoita, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2016

Tim, we are into quiet and relaxing. Glad you found that. We do have wifi but it does have a limited range. Our dog sometimes needs to be "introduced" to our guests to get over his barking but as you say he is good with people. Glad you enjoyed your visit. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2016

Two couples traveled to SE Arizona to check out the wine scene and tour Kartchner Caverns. We made La Hacienda our home for 2 nights. Tom and Cheryl are great hosts in their true to form ranch house B&B. Another couple joined us for the wine tour and for dinner the following night--so great to meet such interesting people. The dinner, catered in, was delightful. Dinner is BYOB. Both breakfasts, cooked by our host Tom, were hearty and delicious. Rooms--sparkly clean. No smoking on the premises. Only caveat--no tv in the rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Luanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas R, Owner at La Hacienda de Sonoita, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2016

Luanne, thank you for your kind review. We really enjoy opening our house and wine country to visitors to experience. We're glad you had a great time. We enjoyed your company and conversations and hearing the life experiences of you all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews