We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Save
Review Highlights
A Wonderful Introduction To Portugal

We’re well-traveled recreational cyclists and thoroughly enjoyed “The Charming Pousadas in... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
iluvtravel2018
,
Surrey, Canada
Portugal Bike Tours

Portugal Bike Tours Are the best. I have now done 5 different bike trips around the world and can... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
M7733TBmichellew
,
Okotoks, Canada
via mobile
Read all 257 reviews
  
Reviews (257)
Filter reviews
257 results
Traveler rating
247
10
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
247
10
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self guided cycling tour algarve coast spectacular scenery carbon fiber great equipment great cycling guides jose support van amazing adventure excellent company great trip modern hotel beautiful country beautiful tour highly recommend this trip historical sites
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 257 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2018

Viewing Portugal from the ground level--on bikes--was our goal. We chose Portugal Bike due to its stellar reviews. Since this was our first bicycle adventure we decided that a guided tour would be most appropriate. It was extremely well-organized, our tour guides were delightful (we miss our new friends!) and thoroughly competent, and the e-bikes, which we heartily recommend, were very high quality and functioned flawlessly. The pousadas were lovely, and the meals and wines were quite good. All in all, a top quality tour. Our only caveat: choose your tour carefully. These pousadas were located outside of the towns in spectacular settings, but some may prefer staying and exploring the charming towns of Portugal instead. We also would have liked to learn a bit more about the region and to have spent a bit more time in the towns we passed through rather than bicycling from one pousada to another. In any event, we give very high marks to the Portugal Bike team. Well done!

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank MVRon21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2018

We wanted to bike tour in Portugal with an interest in history and local farming, but we didn't want to find the route and hotels. Portugal Bike had just the week-long tour for the four of us! They patiently answered all of our advance questions, and when we arrived they were at the appointed place to greet us. They provided us with excellent quality bikes - we chose hybrid bikes for the lower gears and wider tires, both useful when visiting medieval hilltop villages. They gave us two GPS units with the route preloaded, as well as paper backups and their own phone app with more information and maps. The hotel selection was interesting and excellent. Our stay at a restored convent was absolutely amazing. The route was very good, lots of tiny country roads with little traffic, and the occasional stretch of busier road. Fortunately the Portugese drivers are respectful of cyclists and we felt comfortable most of the time. Our bags were picked up each morning and deposited at our next hotel, never a hitch. We really enjoyed the freedom of being self-guided, with the knowledge that we could call PB for help if we ever needed it. We had some weather and had to sit out a storm or two under a tree or in a bus stop, and we missed our turn once and found ourselves at the Spanish border, but that all added to the adventure and we always made it to our hotel before dinner. We always had time to tour the castles and forts, some of them dating back to Moorish times. The price was very reasonable, like 1/3 of the cost of a certain US company that begins with a B. And the wildflowers! Endless fields of flowers. I highly recommend risking a bit of rain in early season to see the countryside so green and blooming.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Nat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2018

My wife and I just completed a week long self guided tour. It was a fabulous experience thanks to the personal service and attention to detail of the team at Portugal Bike. From the moment we were met at the airport, through our orientation meeting to the pick up in Lagos, we were impressed. The quality of the bikes, the flawless operation of the GPS, the routes and the hotels exceeded our expectations.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Norsage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2018

We rode for a week in late April from Lisbon to the Algarve. The weather was perfect, brand new Cube bikes from Germany, beautiful scenery, 40-60 miles per day with many wonderful restaurants. and great wines.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank dhines110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2018

I traveled to Lisbon with three other women friends to go on a bike tour. It was a trip of a lifetime. We are all cyclists and the opportunity to ride great bikes, travel on amazing roads with such a range of scenery and natural beauty was amazing. Jose was a great guide and shared his knowledge of the region, wines, historical sites, information about the areas and the people. He was incredibly patient as we stopped to take pictures (of cows, sheepherders, plants, the ocean, flowers, each other...we took pictures of everything!!!) we checked out an antique store and he waited while we waded into the ocean. The rides were just as they had listed them in terms of terrain and distance. Perfect! Cristina was fantastic at anticipating everyone's needs and interests. If you mentioned that you liked something to eat it would magically appear at the next picnic. They are a great team and couple. I would do the trip again and hope to do the inland one next. I want to share the experience with my husband. The hotel choices, the restaurants and the stops were all perfect choices. Everything was first class and beyond what I could have imagined. Thank you! , Thank you! Thank you!

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews