We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Cycling in Alentejo Portugal!”
Review of Portugal Bike

Portugal Bike
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Odivelas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Discover Portugal ...On a bicycle! Travelling with PortugalBike will connect you deeply with the country, becoming part of its everyday life, observing details that typical tourists miss and enjoying spontaneous encounters along the way. PortugalBike is a Portuguese-owned company offering you bicycle tours, that help you to enlarge your horizons and your knowledge, showing you historic evidences and amazing landscape together with very good food and wines. Our goal is that you visit Portugal ...Riding a bicycle!
Reviewed April 30, 2018

We have been on many cycling trips with several different companies and we can honestly say that Cristina and Jose offered us an experience that exceeded any other trip we have taken both internationally and domestically.

The routes were well thought out, the bicycles were 1st rate, and the accommodations in the Pousadas were both historical and lovely! Meals were delicious...sometimes taken at the Pousadas and other times in small local restauraunts where we were clearly welcomed because of Cristina and Jose.

We felt like Cristina and Jose sincerely cared about each person in the group and made every effort to offer each of us the opportunity to "Discover Portugal...Riding a Bicycle!"

We definitely plan to return to Portugal and book another cycling trip with Portugal Bike!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank ann32080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"self guided"
in 34 reviews
"cycling tour"
in 10 reviews
"algarve coast"
in 8 reviews
"spectacular scenery"
in 5 reviews
"carbon fiber"
in 4 reviews
"great equipment"
in 4 reviews
"great cycling"
in 4 reviews
"guides jose"
in 3 reviews
"support van"
in 3 reviews
"amazing adventure"
in 4 reviews
"excellent company"
in 4 reviews
"great trip"
in 10 reviews
"modern hotel"
in 3 reviews
"beautiful country"
in 6 reviews
"beautiful tour"
in 3 reviews
"highly recommend this trip"
in 3 reviews
"historical sites"
in 3 reviews
Filter

48 - 52 of 257 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2018

This was the rare experience that exceeded our expectations, from the routes and bicycle quality to the staff professionalism, thoroughness and responsiveness to all inquiries. We took the self-guided Toward the Algarve tour and plan on returning to Portugal Bike for future trips.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2018

My husband and I have taken many bike tours both self guided and guided. Because we had minimal knowledge of Portugal, this time we decided to opt for a guided tour through the Alentejo Region. It was a great decision. Although we could have ridden the same high quality bicycles on the same well-thought-out route and stayed in the same elegant, historic Pousadas, if we had chosen self guided, we would have missed out on our incredibly wonderful hosts, Jose and Cristina, the owners of Portugal Bike. They had all the qualities you would want in guides: well-organized; encouraging; and with joy imparting their knowledge of Portuguese history, culture and cuisine. I could go on with superlatives, but I think the best summary is to say that at the end of our six day tour I felt like we were saying a grateful good-bye to favorite family members. I am happy to join others in giving Portugal Bike the highest rating.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Lowell188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2018

From the moment that Andre and Ricardo came to meet us at our doorstep to begin the trip, to the final champaign toast at the completion, the bicycle trip experience was one of impeccable service and the finest memories. We couldn't have asked for better companions and guides as we covered dozens of miles on our Scott hybrids bicycles with dozens of gears to make hill climbing just a bit easier. During the trek, we were treated to the finest wines at the most awesome restaurants and service each step of the way was out of this world. A special shout out to Andre' who was so knowledgeable about the history of Portugal, the flora and the fauna along the way, and of course the fine wines and food. His easy laugh, and positive energy was always a nice thing at the end of a ride where he met us with the van and a picnic ready and waiting. The only flaw in the ointment was the one day when we weren't able to bike because of high winds and rain. Other than that everything was spectacular. Thank you Portugal Bike for such a super trip!

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Pellhobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2018 via mobile

I cannot speak highly enough about this trip or this company. They exceeded my expectations. Everything from the bike routes to the scenery to the food to the group experience was fabulous. They went the extra mile to provide an extraordinary experience giving us Portugal bike jerseys in the beginning and a champagne toast at the end. I highly recommend this trip and hope to ride on another Portugal bike trip again someday.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank Jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portugal Bike also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Portugal Bike? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing