We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another amazing trip”
Review of Portugal Bike

Portugal Bike
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Odivelas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Discover Portugal ...On a bicycle! Travelling with PortugalBike will connect you deeply with the country, becoming part of its everyday life, observing details that typical tourists miss and enjoying spontaneous encounters along the way. PortugalBike is a Portuguese-owned company offering you bicycle tours, that help you to enlarge your horizons and your knowledge, showing you historic evidences and amazing landscape together with very good food and wines. Our goal is that you visit Portugal ...Riding a bicycle!
Reviewed June 9, 2014

This was our second trip with Portugal bike,this time doing The Quiet Villages on the Mountains. Spectacular scenery,great hotels and as always amazing hosts. If you want to see Portugal by bike, this is the group to go with. On day one, Jose and Cristina are your guides, on day two they are friends and by day three they become part of your extended family!
We have done the south and the north of Portugal and both trips were outstanding yet different. The descriptions of the biking are very accurate. The bikes are high end and very well maintained. Jose and Cristina go out of their way to ensure that everyone has a great time and is comfortable with the biking. Don't look any further if you plan to bike in Portugal.

Visited May 2014

1  Thank roadrunner0820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoseNevesH, Gerente at Portugal Bike, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

It was wonderful to meet you again in Portugal. You also belong to our world-wide family. Thank you again for your kindness.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 135 of 189 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2014

This was our second trip with Portugal bike,this time doing The Quiet Villages on the Mountains. Spectacular scenery,great hotels and as always amazing hosts. If you want to see Portugal by bike, this is the group to go with. On day one, Jose and Cristina are your guides, on day two they are friends and by day three they become part of your extended family!
We have done the south and the north of Portugal and both trips were outstanding yet different. The descriptions of the biking are very accurate. The bikes are high end and very well maintained. Jose and Cristina go out of their way to ensure that everyone has a great time and is comfortable with the biking. Don't look any further if you plan to bike in Portugal.

Thank roadrunner0820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

This was our second trip with Jose and Cristina, and we were extremely happy with all aspects (we took the Medieval Villages tour in May 2013). Jose and Cristina have planned a challenging, scenic and interesting route, with very quiet roads of smooth pavement. The bikes were of highest quality and a pleasure to ride. Hotels were well located along the route and offered comfortable rooms, good amenities, and delicious breakfasts. We had a 5 hour hike on Day 4, which was a nice diversion from cycling and offered scenery we would not otherwise have experienced. Cristina provided refreshments at desirable locations along the route and nutritious lunches. Hosts are both very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable of the region. They accommodated our specific needs with a smile (dropped us off at our hotel instead of at the airport which was wonderful and much appreciated). We hope to take another trip with Portugal Bike! Thank you, Jose and Cristina!

1  Thank BarbaraCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoseNevesH, Proprietário at Portugal Bike, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

You both live in our hearts. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We took this tour in April, 2014, and were just delighted! It was our first organized bike tour, and Jose and Christina looked after us every step of the way, including having our luggage in the rooms at the end of the day. Jose was always willing to stop for the photos, and adjust our bicycles as needed. I took an ebike, and was glad I did. As stated in another review, there are a couple of big hills to conquer. In addition, I did not have to worry about keeping up with the others on the tour.We found the meals to be first-rate, seafood included in every meal, and well prepared. Local dishes were featured, just as we like. Hotel rooms were very comfortable as well. At the end of the biking day, there was time to tour the town we were visiting, on our own, and have a drink at one of the outdoor cafes.
Should we ever return to Portugal, we would certainly consider another trip with this company.

1  Thank JJ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Jose and Cristina are 2 of the best bike tour operators I've ridden with. The trip was very well-planned and Jose & Cristina are very warm, professional, and knowledgeable about Portugal, cycling and the region. The tour felt much more personalized than something that the big operators like Backroads could put together. I was completely blown-away by the pousadas (high-end hotels converted from ancient monasteries, castles, convents) - walking into them felt like I was transported hundreds of years back into medieval Europe.

I went on the trip in December. I think this is one of the best winter bike trip options in the northern hemisphere. If you're thinking about a winter trip, I'd highly recommend this one. There were absolutely no crowds, and the winter was warm enough for just a jacket.

1  Thank adelie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristina H, Proprietário at Portugal Bike, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your tour with us. We spent a wonderful time with you too. Thank you so much for your review. Your opinion is very important for us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portugal Bike also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 

Been to Portugal Bike? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing