We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Finches Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Girton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I spend two nights at Finches and would definitely recommend it to others. It is perfectly located for getting to Girton College as well as only being a short bus ride into Cambridge city centre. Jane and Nigel were fantastic hosts, offering warm hospitality and were very attentive. The breakfasts were outstanding, with almost any option available, from cooked breakfasts to cereals, fruit salad and pastries. I found the room very comfortable, with a good size, well-equipped en suite bathroom. You won't be disappointed staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
60sunshine, Owner at Finches Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

So glad you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed our breakfasts! Thank you for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (358)
There are newer reviews for Finches Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 358 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2014

Looking for accommodation in Cambridge, we were looking at hotel offers rather than B&B because we appreciate privacy and independence offered by hotels. However, good reviews and proximity to Girton College as well as convenient bus connections to the town's centre, as well as a lower price, persuaded us to try the B&B option.
The Finches Bed & Breakfast accommodation exceeded our expectations and we had no regrets as to our choice.
In fact, the accommodation combines all the best of both B&B and hotel accommodation.
"hotel features":
1. The rooms are in a separate part of the house, which feels like a hotel when you want it.
2. The rooms are clean and comfortable, with nice en-suit bathrooms.
3. You are free to use your room when you need it, as opposed to a number of other similar B&Bs where your presence during the day may be discouraged or even forbidden (not that you really want to spend your time in your room during the day when you visit Cambridge as the town has so much to offer)
4. The couple running the B&B are helpful when you need them but in no way imposing their hospitality on you – it is more like concierge offered by best five-star hotels.
"B&B features":
1. You feel more like at home thanks to the design of the house with a small number of rooms.
2. You meet wonderful people (owners) who are not employees but people who have really dedicated themselves to making people happy and turning it into a business.
3. It is more of a "living in England" experience, rather than staying at a place that looks the same in Paris and Kuala Lumpur.
Other comments:
1. Excellent choice of breakfast, including wonderful full English breakfast. I also recommend omelettes (especially the cheesy variety).
My strong recommendation, I will never look elsewhere when I come back to Cambridge.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blue_Ocean33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
60sunshine, Owner at Finches Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review and for your kind comments. We are delighted you had a good stay. We thoroughly enjoyed having you and the ladies stay here at Finches and please do contact us should you find yourself visiting Cambridge sometime again in the future. Warmest regards Jane & Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

The room was lovely, furnished with all the amenities, and Jane and Nigel were wonderfully gracious hosts. Also very much appreciated the excellent breakfast, as well as the ability to make a cup of tea in my room late at night. Would recommend Finches in a minute to anyone staying in Cambridge. It was especially convenient to Girton College, which is just down the road. Bus service into downtown Cambridge was frequent and easy to manage.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbh273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
60sunshine, Manager at Finches Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. It was lovely to meet you and look forward to meeting the twins should you visit Cambridge again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

It was the second time we were staying at The Finches B&B. We enjoyed it even more this time.We spent four nights this week. Jane and Nigel are wonderful hosts. The rooms are lovely, comfy, and modern. I especially liked the softness of the bedlinen! Jane is also a great cook, the cooked breakfast is excellent. The other hosts are also always very interesting to talk to which is great if you like to chat with people from all over the world, like I do. We'll be back Jane!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
60sunshine, Owner at Finches Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

It was a pleasure to seeing you again and we are so pleased you enjoyed your breakfasts and talking to other guests. Thank you for choosing Finches as your birthday treat and look forward to welcoming you back when you visit Cambridge again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Just arrived home from a 2 night stay at Finches. An absolutely fantastic 4 star B and B worth a lot more. Jane and Nigel are lovely people and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast is to die for, and set us up for the day. The rooms are beautifully decorated, and the attention to detail is amazing, even down to a corkscrew and wine glasses in the room. You've seen the rest, now go to the best! It's very near to the City Centre, and a trip on the Red Open Top Bus is a must, with earphones and a running information commentary. Thank you for a wonderful stay, we will be back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jakkx56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
60sunshine, Owner at Finches Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review and your kind comments. Delighted you had such a good stay. Wishing you a wonderful family holiday in May. Warmest regards Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

As a frequent visitor and former resident of Cambridge, I am thrilled to have found the perfect place to stay. Immaculate presentation of rooms and high level of comfort make my frequent "duty" stays into restorative treats. Breakfast is freshly prepared using high quality ingredients and to suit individual preferences and parking/accessibility is easy.
Jane and Nigel and their family are warm and knowlegable hosts - never intrusive yet always willing to help their guests. I love staying at Finches and wholeheartedly recommend it to discerning, well-disposed people.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janeole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
60sunshine, Owner at Finches Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thank you so much for your review. We thoroughly enjoy having you stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon. Warmest regards Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We had a memorable weekend at Finches B&B thanks to Jane and Nigel, whose warm welcome and impeccable hosting made our stay very special. The place is extremely cosy, clean and comfortable. We really felt like being at home. Jane was always available to advise us on whereabouts in Cambridge and both Jane and Nigel were a fantastic source of information, in addition to being a pleasure to talk to. The breakfasts were absolutely delicious with a huge array of very tasty food to choose from. They showed a lot of flexibility and we were also very lucky to get a lift to town by Nigel on our way back to the bus station.
We certainly plan to stay at Finches every time we come to Cambridge and we look forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellerSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
60sunshine, Owner at Finches Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write us a tripadvisor review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your weekend with us and that the sun was shining throughout your stay, which makes such a difference when attending a wedding!! It was lovely to meet you both and look forward to seeing you again very soon. Warmest regards Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Girton
0.2 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#9 of 36 in Cambridge
1,206 reviews
2.2 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
433 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#11 of 36 in Cambridge
1,058 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
1.5 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finches Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finches Bed and Breakfast

Address: 144 Thornton Road, Girton, Cambridge CB3 0ND, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge > Girton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Girton
Price Range: $81 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finches offers a bed and breakfast service for visitors to Cambridge and focuses on providing high quality accommodation. Conveniently situated within walking distance to the historical city of Cambridge, Finches provides visitors with a warm and welcoming place to stay. All rooms en-suite, tastefully furnished and decorated to a high standard and include Freeview TV, Free Wireless Internet Connection, IPod & IPhone docking station, hairdryer, tea/coffee making facilities. Free off road parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Finches Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finches Hotel Cambridge
Finches b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing