We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly surprised by how good this was.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Cambridge North (Girton) Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Girton
Certificate of Excellence
Sidmouth, England
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised by how good this was.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We booked this hotel because we didn't want to spend too much and the location on the northern outskirts of Cambridge meant that we could get to the event we were attending without going into or through the City.
The hotel is not much to look at from the outside with a Beefeater restaurant on the front and the 20 bedrooms in a two-storey box-like structure tacked on behind. Inside the hotel bit, things are pretty basic, but everything was clean, functional and comfortable. In fact the bed is one of the better hotel beds I've slept in. Breakfast was very good for a hotel of this type and the service in the restaurant was excellent. The staff on reception weren't overly jolly however.
Overall we thought it excellent value for money and in similar circumstances would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sidcol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    87
    26
    10
    2
See reviews for
69
90
9
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
doncasterminty
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed one night in august excellent welcome and the romm was great infact it was 6stars honestly,food in the evening was good and breakfast was gvery good i would choose this premier again if im ever down cambridge.
Parking good and general area nice and quiet thankyou premier!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doncasterMinty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Had a great two night stay at the girton premier inn, was going to a wedding at near by madingley hall. Hotel was in a great position and the breakfasts were excellent both mornings, only downfall is that you have to pay for wifi, which when you're paying to stay there in the first place is a bit much.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andyjdav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
105 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

You get what you pay for and this was top notch. We were off to a wedding up the road and it was the ideal place to stay. I really do not want to use the 200 characters which I have to to submit this post. Sorry Tripadvisor but it is silly !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judivipers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

My husband, toddler and I stayed at the Premier Inn Girton for two nights and thought it was ok. It is not a luxury hotel by any means but it is reasonably comfortable and has all the basics covered. The bed was comfortable, the room was a decent size and we didn't hear any noise from the neighbouring rooms. As a place to sleep it does the job.

I would have preferred it if there were some drawers to put stuff in though - as we were there for 2 nights i wanted to unpack but the only storage was an open fronted shelf and hanging unit. It meant everything was visible and looked messy.

For those with toddlers, be aware that the travel cot isn't massive. My 18 month old pretty much filled it length-wise. Also there wasn't a separate mattress for it, just the base travel cots come with, and the bottom sheet was fairly big in comparison and wasn't fitted so kept coming untucked. Considering the efforts they go to to ensure adults have a comfortable stay I thought they could have tried a bit harder with the cot.

The beefeater attached was fine. Breakfast was good as was the service, but dinner wasn't wonderful (my burger bun was rock solid). it was nice to see some items suitable for toddlers though (they have a special section for them on their children's menu).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linc2068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Have stayed in "budget" hotels (a rival chain) before and was not impressed by the state of the room or service I recieved, but this one made me change my mind. Initially picked the Premier Inn because it was good for Cambridge central and had free car parking, and was a little taken aback by the price which I felt was quite dear. However, we received a family room (travelling with a little boy) which was spacious, comfortable and spotlessly clean. Had all mod cons. Arrival was friendly and the staff continued to make our stay a happy one. Family friendly, as was the pub next door, which we had breakfast in. Breakfast of good quality and lots of choice, again staff were lovely. We also has dinner there one evening and again found it to be perfectly good, although standard Beefeater fare.

Room Tip: If you've got small children and are staying midweek, ask for a front room, as we have a horrend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VonchaGatley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Stayed here with the family. Good location, though probably a little far to walk into the centre of Cambridge from. The adjoining Beefeater served a good breakfast and perfectly adequate evening meals. Staff were very friendly, and the room was just as you'd expect. Would recommend, although its a shame the wi-fi isn't free after 30 mins in this day and age.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank h0nest_j0hn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Girton
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Cambridge (A14, J32) Hotel
2.4 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
4.7 mi away
Premier Inn Cambridge City East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
5.1 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Cambridge Orchard Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Cambridge North (Girton) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Cambridge North (Girton) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Cambridge North (Girton) Hotel
Address: Huntingdon Road | Girton, Girton, Cambridge CB3 0DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge > Girton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Girton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Cambridge North (Girton) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you fancy punting down the Cam or taking a punt at Newmarket, come and stay at Premier Inn Hotel Cambridge North (Girton). We're very close to the colleges and city centre, and there are great transport links to get you further afield too. Float along the River Cam and gaze at 'The Backs', the hidden side of Cambridge's most iconic colleges. Or get a face-to-face with a jet fighter at Duxford Air Museum. Place a side bet at Newmarket Races, then come back to the hotel for some mouth-watering food at our Beefeater restaurant and a lovely comfy bed. Directions: SatNav - CB3 0DH : Come off A14 at Jct 32. Exit roundabout towards Cambridge City Centre. Follow Histon Road to end, turn right onto Huntingdon Road, continue approx half a mile . Travellers Rest Beefeater and Premier Inn is on left. Transport and local information: Town Centre 2 miles Cambridge Train Station 3 miles Cambridge Leisure Park 2 Miles Cambridge Colleges 3 Miles Cambridge United FC 3 Miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Cambridge North (Girton) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing