We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best restaurant in town!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The German Cafe

The German Cafe
Ranked #1 of 132 Restaurants in Sierra Vista
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $18
Cuisines: German, European, Central European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Authentic German Cuisine & Hospitality Including other International Specialties: Bringing Germany to Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best restaurant in town!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

This town is lacking in a ton of variety of different restaurants, but ALL they need is this one. Had a perfect meal cooked well, tasted homemade and fresh. Had to wait a little to get service but there was a dilemma with there printer and needed to get others checked out first. Service was cheery, helpful and friendly when they finally solved the issue. Would definitely return again call ahead to make sure they have room since its a smaller establishment. We called 20 min ahead and had no issues. Get the meatball meal with potato pancakes and the German heif beer it won't disappoint!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    79
    36
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
62 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Gutes Essen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

Really enjoyed some home-style German cuisine. We hadn't had any since leaving Bethlehem, PA, 10 years ago. We had some bread as a starter, a dark rye swirl, and it was very good. Probably from a commercial baker, but good nonetheless. We had two differenct sausages with our entree, and we shared, so we'd get a little of both. She ended up ordering another brat, it was so good! The German-style, warm potato salad was excellent, as was the sauerkraut. Could use a few more beer selections.

We engaged the proprietress in conversation about Germany, and was fun remembering my trips through there, when I was in the USAF. Owner is vivacious and beguiling!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank wolverine87144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“So - So”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Will have to disagree with the ratings this time. Our group was really looking forward to some great German cuisine, but came away a little disappointed, except in the dessert. Our pork dishes were overlooked and tough, and had the appearance of coming from a frozen breaded entree. Sauces were good, but certainly not as good as we experienced in Germany. Prices were high for the quality and presentation, especially high cost for drinks ($6 and up for wine and beer). I can only give this an average for what we were expecting.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nothing Special, But”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

It is important to know that my wife and I grew-up eating classic German dishes on a regular basis and later lived in the greater Milwaukee area, which is well-known for its German cuisine. We were invited to by some friends -- first-generation German emigres -- to sample the faire at the German Cafe. They went nuts over the food, while we thought it was quite ordinary. Perhaps we're jaded by our experience. Service was excellent. No complaints whatsoever about our visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Good, Bad and Ugly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

First the food was good, the service was bad and the location next to a bar where the smokers were outside and you had to run the gamut through a haze of smoke was ugly., Our food was tasty but my husbands food arrived about three to five minutes before mine. I told him to start so it wouldn't get cold, but he had no silverware. When my food finally came, with silverware for both, his food was cold and my food was only lukewarm. We were in town for two weeks and love German food but did not go back. We will wait until we can go the Phoenix club in Orange County, CA.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hilary4271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The German Cafe also viewed

 
Sierra Vista, AZ
 

Been to The German Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing