We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Prime Rib”
Review of Mesquite Tree Restaurant - CLOSED

Mesquite Tree Restaurant
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level Contributor
102 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Best Prime Rib”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Not often you can get food like Trout Piccata, Southwest Seafood Alfredo, and awesome steaks in one place, but this is one of those places. I was in Afganistan last year and dreamed of their Prime Rib. I've had it there at least 20 times. Most times it's great, but sometimes it's even better. It all depends on the cut of meat they get. But one time it was so perfect it looked like a red velvet cake and tasted as succulent as you can imagine. I usually go there thinking about ordering something else, or find myself considering the special, but I end up ordering the prime rib. One of these days I'll order something else.

My wife loves their petite mignon and has the sauce on the side. It's her favorite steak in all of Sierra Vista.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Weston65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    34
    15
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Consistently Good!”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

My wife and I eat here several times a year and the food and service is always very good. Not spectacular, but always very good. The front room is especially nice and is relatively quiet. Cloth table coverings are always neat and clean and the atmosphere is eclectic with all sorts of memorabilia decorating the walls. The menu has something for everyone, although we have noticed an upward creep in pricing over the past few years. This is not a snooty place but a great escape for a special occasion.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jim r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Level Contributor
292 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great Service and Food!”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We enjoyed our dinner at the Mesquite Tree. The service was excellent, very attentive, with a number of good dinner selections, good beers on tap and a home style atmosphere. We would not consider this a fancy place, jeans or shorts are fine, but it sure was friendly. Our server showed us the giant Mesquite tree out back- it was quite a sight!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank itraveleverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
76 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Always Good Food”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We've been many times over the years. Almost always a good experience. Nice selection of steaks, ribs, seafood, etc. Reasonably priced as well.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MTravelerI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level Contributor
116 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great service and good food”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We have been going to the Mesquite Tree for years and have experienced high and low points. We can say that the new owners and management have made it a nice place to go and enjoy a quiet dinner. The unlimited salad and new beers on tap are an improvement. The deep fried shrimp is generous and awesome. The servers are friendly and quick.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Huachucakid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mesquite Tree Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing