We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peace,peace, peace”

Beatty's Miller Canyon Apiary & Orchard
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The apiary, a great place to observe hummingbirds, also offers overnight accommodations.
hemel hempstead
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Peace,peace, peace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We spent 3 days in one of the cabins here and just loved it! Listening to tom jn talk about his beloved dogs and Tom snr knowledge and love of nature and especially the hummingbirds was very specail

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank betstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    11
    1
    1
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, GA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Hummingbirds & More”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is an interesting place, very well-known to birders. When we pulled up, we were promptly greeted by Mr. Tom Beatty, who opened with "If you don't smoke on my property, I've got no problem with you." He's a character, but he's extremely knowledgeable about wildlife and has built a pretty amazing place. It's well worth the $5 to go up to the hummingbird viewing platform (with many feeders and comfortable seats) and other areas on his property to see birds and other flora and fauna. The property backs up to the national forest, so you can continue on the trail as far as you want. Mr. Beatty may give you lots of confusing directions on where to go to see various species (we finally found a spotted owl, but gave up on finding a pair of pygmy owls). If I was staying here (they have cottages you can rent), I think I would draw him a map so he can show people where to go! But it's kind of like a scavenger hunt... and it's likely that there will be other people there, and together you can remember all the info he packs into your brain. He also kindly loaned us hiking poles for climbing up the canyon, which was a steep and rocky trail. He told me "I look at people for a minute and decide if they need sticks." I couldn't deny that we probably looked like we needed them, and we were grateful for them. NOTES: there's a flock of peafowl, and they are really noisy. There's a little gift shop with an honor system payment system for cold drinks and little souvenirs, as well as the honey the Beattys produce. The area (and the Beattys' apple production) is still recovering from a fire a few years ago. There's also been some damage done to the creek by the city of Tombstone, which gets its water from Miller Canyon. Miller is probably not at 100% right now in terms of birding, but I can't imagine that anyone who wants to see some birds wouldn't make this place a priority! Also, check out there awesome web site... it will give you the flavor of the place and of Mr. Beatty.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Magpie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brevard, Nc
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice hummers and such”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Glad we got here when a real birder was touring some folks as he could call out the various hummers we saw as well as explain some aspects of their recent decline in numbers.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Pituophis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“wonderful family experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

my husband and i have been visiting the beattys for about 15 years. it is a beautiful place, even now after the devastation. they have worked so hard to restore everything that was lost or damaged in the fires and floods last year. i highly recommend cabin A on the hill. the hiking is wonderful up miller canyon. if you are a birder you will be rewarded. if you like to sit and relax that is great too. they also have seven dogs which you can interact with or not. but they are a lot of fun we always bring them biscuits. the oldest dog Buffy we remember as a puppy. they also have chickens and guinea hens. there is nothing like sitting outside cabinA in the evening and watching the stars from high up on the hill.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank hellopuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
211 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“nice people, site still recovering from fire, floods”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

We spent a couple of hours there on Thursday last week. The creek is dry because the water is being diverted to Tombstone, Arizona. The orchard was largely burned by the big fire last year, and the general hummingbird count is down markedly. There are a few Chiricahua Leopard Frogs in the pond and we did get to see a Phoebe. The Beatty's are really nice people making the best of a difficult situation. They should be supported as much as possible during this time, but if you are hoping to see a lot of birds, you might want to wait until the area recovers.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank ipeguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beatty's Miller Canyon Apiary & Orchard also viewed

 

Been to Beatty's Miller Canyon Apiary & Orchard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing