We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty beach on Emerald Coast”

Grayton Beach State Park
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Pretty beach on Emerald Coast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Fine white sand beach reserve just west of Watercolors. Beautiful place to walk the shore for a mile out to the Grayson cut. Stay off the dunes.

Helpful?
1 Thank ReddiTugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    357
    109
    30
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
608 reviews
120 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“Did not disappoint”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We dreamed of finding a beautiful, undeveloped beach during our drive through the panhandle. We were told that Grayton had often been rated one of the top beaches in the country and so we stopped here and were very happy that we did. Emerald water, deep white sand, beautiful dunes. Stretches of tasteful house interspersed with stretches of state park dunes. Great bird life and shells. At least in Jan, it was dead empty which we love. A couple of bar/restaurants with lots of personality right next to the beach.
Well worth a stop and a couple of hours of beach walking.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PelleasPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“My favorite beach!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Great beaches & awesome bars! This place is absolutely gorgeous and the bar is just walking distance. The water is clear and beach is clean!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Masirahqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestview, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“a quiter beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Very nice beach away from the hustle and bustle of Destin/Fort Walton Beach and Panama City. Slightly out of the way but its worth the drive. I suggest driving Hwy 30 the entire length from US 98 near Sandestin to US 98 near Panama City, its a scenic drive along the coast.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful white Gulf sands”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

This area has the same beautiful sands of the Destin and Sandestin area, but usually with a few less tourists crowding the beaches. It is increasingly a place for events (to the chagrin of the locals, I'm afraid). But so much more peaceful than the nearby Seaside-->Seagrove area. In addition to personal homes for rent, there is a state camp ground and an area of state cabins - not necessarily cheap, but in a more secluded area and within walking distance of the beach. There are also wheelchair accessible ramps leading down to the beach from the cabin area.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank marathonmess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grayton Beach State Park also viewed

Santa Rosa Beach, Florida Panhandle
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida Panhandle
Grayton Beach, Santa Rosa Beach
 

Been to Grayton Beach State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing