We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Unforgettable”
other travelers have booked this property
Come enjoy a memorable stay at our Sanctuary at Pele's feet! 
 Epic Volcano & Ocean Views!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Come enjoy a memorable stay at our Sanctuary at Pele's feet! 
 Epic Volcano & Ocean Views!
Close up view of the Live Lava! The Main House, you will have the Upstairs Loft all to yourself.  Downstairs is lightly shared.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
11 reviews
Come enjoy a memorable stay at our Sanctuary at Pele's feet! 
 Epic Volcano & Ocean Views!
Close up view of the Live Lava!
The Main House, you will have the Upstairs Loft all to yourself.  Downstairs is lightly shared.
Sun rising over the ocean
Your Comfy Upstairs Loft with Epic Volcano & Ocean views!
Nice King size bed
Fresh towels & linens provided. This view faces the ocean.
Behind the curtain, there's a half bathroom to the left & a small room with single bed to the right
Small room with a single bed
Downstairs has a Kitchen, Full Bathroom, and Living Room.
Amazing stars at night!
Surrounded by lava!  (Don't worry, we are not on the active part!)
Blessed by frequent rainbows!
The Coastal Red Road nearby is one of the Top 10 Most Scenic Drives in America!
Kehena Black Sand Beach, just 10 min drive away. Wild dolphins and whales often frequent this beach!
Puna at dusk
Fire & Ocean
We offer Sacred Sightseeing, Yoga, Sound Healing, Massage, etc!  Please inquire!  :)
Mermaid Ponds nearby
Sacred Cave of Refuge nearby
We look forward to hosting you!
An aerial view of the neighborhood of Kalapana Gardens.
Tutu Pele - Hawaiian Goddess of the Volcano
Come enjoy, rest, receive ~
ALOHA!
Love & Blessings ~~~
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 3
Kalapana, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Velga B
1 review
“Unforgettable”
Reviewed February 21, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

This place is one of a kind. It is an off-grid house but it still has everything you would normally have in a regular house. The room was great, cosy, clean, with nice looking furniture. The house is on a black lava field with views of glowing lava flow in a distance at night and beautiful sunrise in the morning on the opposite side. I loved that the windows covered 3 walls and the fourth wall had the restroom window so I could take a look around in all four directions from the room. I had some mosquito visitors one early morning, but there was a mosquito net over the bed so it kept me safe. I will forget other hotels I've stayed at but I will never forget Lava Sanctuary.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 23, 2018
Aww, Velga, I am so happy that you had such an Unforgettable stay at my Lava Sanctuary! So happy that you enjoyed it ~~~ :). Welcome back anytime! Love & best wishes to you ~~~ :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph S
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Off the grid adventure”
Reviewed August 7, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

It was a unique and enjoyable experience for my partner and me to spend two nights on a recent lava flow. Like a phoenix rising from its ashes Kalapana Gardens had been wiped out by the lava flows of the 1990s and was re-establishing itself from a few seeds left behind. I lost my own home to a wildfire in Colorado in 2010 so I could relate to the devastation and renewal. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The location is near the place where lava is now entering the ocean so very convenient for the hike/bike out there. It was a unique geological and photographic adventure for us, but probably not for everyone.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2017
Aloha Joseph~ thanks so much for staying with us and glad u had a great time! Thanks also for the review! Welcome back any time! Best wishes! :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 14, 2017
Thank you so much for staying with us! Glad you had a wonderful time! Welcome back anytime! :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mike G
Boise, Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great view and peaceful”
Reviewed March 28, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

I stayed at the Lava Sanctuary for 5 days and 6 nights. The view from my 2nd floor spacious room were great. Standing in the middle of the loft you can see the sun rise, sunset, the lava cloud from the ocean and the glow at night from the Kilauea caldron. ( not all at the same time). Going outside at night was breathtaking because of the all the stars.
Living on the lava field has its restrictions like power and water, but I had a hot shower every night, and wifi. If you come back at night make sure you memorize the route during the day so you do not get lost. It is dark out there!
Jade was a gracious host and gave me lots of tips on what to see.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 14, 2017
Thank you so much for staying with us! Glad you had a wonderful time! Welcome back anytime! :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy L
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience - no sulfur "volcano" smell”
Reviewed March 6, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This was a truly fabulous journey. Jade has set up a beautiful home for spiritual seekers and open-minded travelers to find peace and adventure in a very interesting and less tourist-y part of Hawaii. The off-grid living was very functional and Dani was so friendly and helpful. They offer a shelf in the shared fridge and basic cooking supplies for guests. I agree that this is not for people seeking a posh resort, but if you are reasonably tolerant of minor quirks, this is a truly fabulous place to base your vacation plans. If you bike to the lava, I recommend Kalapana Cultural Tours for their good bikes and great service. There is a dog and cat on site.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 13, 2017
Aloha Nancy ~ Mahalo nui loa for staying at our place! Glad you enjoyed it! Best wishes to you always! : )
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon R
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Once in a lifetime experience”
Reviewed February 2, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This is a unique and wonderful place, but probably not for everyone. We found it delightful. You are completely off the grid - solar power and filtered rainwater, no screens but also no flying insects. Spartan but delightful. Jade and Dannie were wonderful hosts, checking for anything we needed but not intrusive. The downstairs kitchen and shower are shared with caretaker Dannie, but the upstairs, with a half bath, is yours alone. If you're looking for pristine, antiseptic accommodations with granite counters and polished wood floors, this place is not for you. But if you want to be right atop Pele's magnificent creations and where you can see more stars at night than you have ever seen in your life, you'll love it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 13, 2017
Mahalo nui loa, dear Jon! Blessings always ~~~ : )
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clément L
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Amazing and unique”
Reviewed January 2, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

The location is so amazing it doesnt seem real.
Jade was great and easily reachable even tough we did not have the chance to meet.
I hope I will be able to get back there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 2, 2017
Thank you so much Clement! So glad you got to enjoy Pele's majesty! Blessings to you ~~~ : )
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing