We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Lava Tours”

Active Lava Hawaiian Tours
Ranked #7 of 8 things to do in Kalapana
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Active Lava Hawaiian Tours - Offers three extraordinary yet different ways to experience lava on Hawaii's Big Island. We offer an alternative lava hike for the times when the lava ceases to flow. This easy lava hike will take you through a maze of lava sculptures created by Kilauea's Volcano. See awesome displays of lava formations and the varies types of lava designs. This tour comes with panoramic views of the Pali as we hike along the ocean in Kalapana. Or we can lead you down into the worlds largest lava tube-Kazumura lava cave and experience the worlds longest & deepest lava cave; fun for all ages.Finally, get extreme and conquer the Pali on our extreme trek to see molten lava flow at your feet. This tour is meant for the strong at heart and it's recommended that you are physically fit and that you prepare in advance for this extreme trek.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Amazing Lava Tours”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Despite no active lava we had a wonderful lava walk with Michele, who is a really knowledgeable and engaging tour guide. The best though was the lava tube tour-2 hours underground viewing old lava falls. Never done anything else like it and loved every minute of it.

If you get the chance, do the tour you will be amazed at what you see and Michele will provide a memory never to be forgotten.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali66-Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele L, Owner at Active Lava Hawaiian Tours, responded to this review, August 31, 2016
Thank you so much for your review, visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    3
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Kazumura lava tube tour”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

This is one of the places that really shows the unique formation of the awesome places on the Big Island. This cave is wonderful!!!! But you need to go with a guide like Michele Lopez, who knows the cave. We chose to go to the Kazumura lava tube tour, since the lava flow in Kalapana is not visible. This has been an experience of a life time. If you really love nature and want to explore the Big Island, a tour of the Kazumura lava tube is a must. The Big Island is fascinating; the diversity and beauty of the island is extraordinary.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele L, Owner at Active Lava Hawaiian Tours, responded to this review, August 31, 2016
Thank you so much for your review, visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Seniors Tour the Longest Lava Tube and live to tell about it!”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

OK, so maybe we shouldn't have asked Michelle: "who is the oldest person you've taken on the Lava Tube Tour?" Ehhhh…."you guys?" Not to worry, she is super safety conscious, well prepared, and patient! Armed with headlamps and flashlights, off we went to crawl up and down old lava "falls," view soaring celings, and interesting formations. After about an hour, we arrived at a Jerrasic Park like opening to the sky. The entire tour was exceedingly interesting, reasonably priced, and nonclaustraphobic. Michelle is not a volcanologist but she had pretty good information about the tube. We recommend this tour for anyone who is adventurous, young at heart and wants pictures to impress the grandchildren. It is definitely not part of the "Granny does Hawaii" tour!!!

Visited February 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele L, Owner at Active Lava Hawaiian Tours, responded to this review, August 31, 2016
Thank you so much for your review, visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We saw lava!”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Hi guys! First I want to say that Hawaii island is great and highly recomended to visit. And Michelle made our trip to Hawaii more colorfull and remarkable, she gave us real alive lava! And her brother Lenny made our stay very very comfortable and nice. Thank you guys very much, you are awesome!

Visited September 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
1 Thank AlexBolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele L, Owner at Active Lava Hawaiian Tours, responded to this review, August 31, 2016
Thank you so much for your review, visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great people, Great Views”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Wonderful people! Michele is super passionate and knowledgeable about lava. Even though the lava wasn't flowing, we still had a great time hiking and looking at all the lava sculptures and shapes. After the tour we had some nice snacks and wine. Also stay at the Volcano Lodge!

Visited November 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
2 Thank dimib06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele L, Owner at Active Lava Hawaiian Tours, responded to this review, August 31, 2016
Thank you so much for your review, visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Active Lava Hawaiian Tours also viewed

Kalapana, Island of Hawaii
Kalapana, Island of Hawaii
 
Pahoa, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Active Lava Hawaiian Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing