We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Go-To Chinese”
Review of China Wok

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
China Wok
Ranked #46 of 67 Restaurants in Show Low
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Our Go-To Chinese”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

The China Wok is conveniently located in a shopping center, so we stop there usually once a week for lunch. It used to be voted the best China buffet in Show Low, but hasn't been for the past couple of years. I think it is because they serve nearly the same thing day in and day out with no variation. The cream cheese fried wontons are fabulous, the soups are quite good. The entrees are average with chicken broccoli, pepper beef, etc. They also have hot apple pie (cobbler?) on the steam table which is usually very good. They have so-so sushi (get there early or it dries out!). There is a small salad/dessert bar as well. It is usually pretty busy there, so we try to get there before noon!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank terieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    14
    15
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
296 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Chinese, but not at its finest”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Tried the restaurant for supper on a Saturday and it was below average in food quality and choices. The food was edible, but could have been a bit fresher and seasoned better.

The property was fairly clean but has quite a few miles on it. Needs a good spruce up and possibly a remodel.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Show Low, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

This restaurant's main feature as well as their highest priced item is their buffet line although they do have a menu as well. Beef in the buffet items tends to be tough so would suggest staying with chicken items. Food nothing to brag about but also nothing to gag about. Seafood items, salad bar, and dessert bar also available. Service is not great. Cheaper than the nearby Panda Express which is why they are still in business.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rhmusicman1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Show Low, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great choices”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

for this area the buffet here is pretty good and has variety of choices, including seafood. lunch buffet is very reasonable and dinner is ok. dinner on weekends are a bit high. overall, it's a good restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chris0615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great food and Atmosphere”
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

My kids and I love China Wok. It's our go- to restaurant. I use their sweet and sour sauce, egg rolls, and cheese wontons when I compare other Chinese restaurants up here. Always clean, and you never have to wait. Plus, every Friday, you can have all-you-can-eat crab legs. Decent price for a family-friendly meal. I recommend wholeheartedly.

Helpful?
Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Wok also viewed

 

Been to China Wok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing