We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely lunch spot”

Pipers Brook Vineyard
Hobart, Tasmania
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A lovely lunch spot”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Normally a vineyard isn't our first choice of lunch venue because they can be incompatible with a toddler, but we were drawn in by the chance to check out the geese that wander the grounds! Lunch turned out to be the highlight though; the staff were so lovely, happy to accommodate a toddler, even providing a free bubbacino. We had a delicious chicken pie and pita pizza, accompanied by a glass of Pipers Brook sparkling, which we selected after having a generous tasting of the wines on offer. We left with big smiles....and a bottle of wine!

Helpful?
1 Thank Fattyandskinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    54
    22
    11
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Nice Spot!”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

A quick stop but we still managed to buy 4 bottles and some jam between us.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Allis0n_Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Really good food and beautiful wines!!”
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Visited here recently and definitely one of the best winery we ever visited in Australia.

Rows and rows of immacutely cared vines and the wines are really outstanding!!

Decided to stay for lunch and oh gosh, what a lovely lunch it was.

Ordered their Tasting platter for one person; it was HUGE, includes hot smoked salmon, smoked quail, hard boiled eggs, breads, Leslie Black's award winning chutney, hot salami, cheeses and many more. The single portion was enough to feed two adults!!

My wife ordered their Oven Baked Bleu Cheese pita with ocean trout, tiger prawns, capers and spanish onions. This dish was out of this world. Very good combination of all the best ingredients from Tasmania. The portions, again was very generous.

Washed it down with a glass of PB Vineyard Estate Pinot Noir and Pipers Sparkling. Ended up buying a few bottles of their lovely pinot noir. Lovely colour, lovely smell and finish to the palate.

Tremendeously amazed with this winery and the quality of food. Furthermore, it was really reasonable. For lunch we paid around $50++ including the two glasses of wine.

Would be perfect if the restaurant have sittings overlooking the vineyards instead.

Definitely a must visit for the good wine and quality lunches.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank serumz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tastings very generous in size and exceptional service. Great meal! Yum”
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Pipers brook vineyard. Girls weekend of 4 ladies. Had read the reviews online prior to attending (were not that great) however we felt compelled to have a look. Fortunately our expectations were exceeded... The tasting area ladies were fabulous, so naturally friendly and knowledgable. Showing empathy and genuine interest in every guest. We progressed to the cafe for lunch and were immediately greeted with big smiles. It was a long weekend, saturday, with 3 waitresses being very attentive. We didn't have to wait to be attended to and were given bottled water straight away. We can strongly recommend the tasting plate and the pot pie. Yum! We had a lovely dining experience in a pleasant outdoor setting.

Thank you and well done!

The gnocchi ladies.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful lunch and very nice wine”
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We had heard good things about the cafe and were not disappointed with the quality of the food or service. They were not busy the day we came and I can understand the service may slip during busy times. I would recommend this winery for lunch, maybe try to come early. The drive in and out was very pretty through the vineyard and the white wines we tried were beautiful.

Helpful?
1 Thank GlomeshGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pipers Brook Vineyard also viewed

Pipers Brook, Tasmania
Pipers River, Tasmania
 
Pipers Brook, Tasmania
 

Been to Pipers Brook Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing