We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We drove on by...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Romney Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Romney Motel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Seligman
Central Coast California
Level Contributor
121 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“We drove on by...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I found this online while trying to find a place to stop for the night. I drove by and was SO glad I didn't book on line. It looked very junky and had shopping carts next to the office. Also next to the office was some type of room that you could see junk piled in the window. I always think if it looks bad on the outside, what is it like inside? Drive on by...

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank labonvoyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    24
    16
    8
    10
See reviews for
21
29
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

The staff was extremely friendly & kind. They accommodated me & my dogs in every way imaginable. The building is old & rundown but it was still charming. I felt completely comfortable & welcome. I particularly enjoyed the original 1960s furniture. The price was also a great bargain. Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heynowTara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

This place is a dump not vintage. The photo doesn't show 2 abandoned grocery carts and an old Alpha Romeo on blocks under a lean-to beside the office. Bathroom floor was filthy. Had to ask to have sheets changed. Towels frayed. Window ledge not cleaned in a long time judging by dust and bugs on it. Carpet was patched with different remnants. Would not recommend this to anyone.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank anna l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Room was very clean while keeping an old feel. Since it is on old route 66, they are aiming for that effect. Office attendants were very friendly. Within walking distance of restaurant and route 66 novelty shops. Easy access to I-40.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher N S... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We unfortunately arrived at midnight but the manager was very nice about it and was relaxed when we checked out half an hour late. Parking is tight but can be fitted in. The room was a decent size and the fixtures needed updating but it all added to the charm. Good value for money and right on Route 66.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arabella_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila,phils
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We searched in the internet on where we can stay after our visit to Grand Canyon. It's an hour drive to Grand Canyon. Romney Motel fits our budget with the basic amenities we can have. It's in famous Route 66 Seligman area. The manager was accomodating and offered refill coffee to us. There are lots of souvenirs shop where you can buy stuffs to bring back home.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank honeybunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level Contributor
107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We are always interested in a good bargain when it comes to accommodations, so the nightly rate of $54.90 per night caught our attention. ($58.93, with tax) All we needed was a comfy clean bed, air-conditioning, a TV, and hot water. This is a no-frills place, but it had the basics we required. The owners were very neighborly when we checked in. The place is old, but was clean and repairs were kept up. If we ever need a room in the small town of Seligman again, we would return here.

Room Tip: We stayed in room #6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CGGlobeTrekkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seligman
0.1 mi away
Deluxe Inn Motel
Deluxe Inn Motel
#5 of 7 in Seligman
4.0 of 5 stars 82 reviews
0.0 mi away
Supai Motel
Supai Motel
#3 of 7 in Seligman
4.0 of 5 stars 152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stagecoach 66 Motel
Stagecoach 66 Motel
#4 of 7 in Seligman
4.0 of 5 stars 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Ash Fork Inn
Ash Fork Inn
#2 of 2 in Ash Fork
3.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
24.4 mi away
Grand Canyon Caverns Inn
Grand Canyon Caverns Inn
#1 of 1 in Peach Springs
3.0 of 5 stars 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romney Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romney Motel

Property: Romney Motel
Address: 22430 W. Highway Route 66, Seligman, AZ 86337
Location: United States > Arizona > Seligman
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Seligman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Romney Motel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in mother of route 66 Seligman Arizona, in between Willims and Kingman, 102 miles to Grand Canyon, 1 1/2 to Laughlin, 2 1/2 hours to Las Vegas, 1 hour to SUPAI Falls. Our hotel offers clean rooms with queen, king and double beds, fridge, microwave, high speed internet, 130 TV channels and very welcoming staff in the motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Romney Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romney Hotel Seligman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing