We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nostalgic place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canyon Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Seligman
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Canyon Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Seligman
Certificate of Excellence
Polson, Montana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nostalgic place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

We needed a place to stay the night before our hike into Havasu Falls and selected this hotel over a couple others that are closer to the turnoff to Hualapai Hilltop. One reviewer said "This was one of the nicest hotels I have ever been in!". I can't agree with that statement, having stayed in some very nice hotels, but it certainly is a very decent place to stay. If you like hotels that are nostalgic, interesting, quirky, fun, and friendly ... then the Canyon Lodge and Seligman is your kind of place. The proprietor is very friendly and can tell you many interesting tidbits about Seligman and Route 66. The hotel is certainly not a fancy modern hotel, but our rooms were clean, quiet, comfortable and decorated with period-appropriate memorabilia. The continental breakfast was basic but sufficient and helped us get an early start to the trailhead. It's sometimes hard to tell what kind of accommodations you're going to get in "old small towns" like this, and I've experienced a few terrible beds, dirty rooms, etc. That's not the case with the Canyon Lodge and I think the Trip Advisor recommendations led us to a good choice for the night. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy and Deb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    76
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
74
142
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

I highly recommend staying at this motel. It was very reasonably priced. Great value!! The attention to detail in the rooms really shows through. The room was newly renovated and had the most comfortable bed and pillows on the trip. As a lone female traveler, I felt very safe at this motel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicat4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

This hotel nestled in the tiny town of Seligman is one of the nicest hotels I have ever been in!! It was spotlessly clean. Each room has a theme, ours was James Dean, and the attention to detail was bar none, even the light switch cover was James Dean!! The management was awesome and we certainly enjoyed our stay here!!! Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

I found the Canyon Lodge here on Trip Advisor and chose to stay there based on the number of positive reviews, and based on the themed rooms, specifically the train room. I specifically reserved the train room, but when we arrived Saturday afternoon we were told we could not have it because it had been given to someone else. Apparently the party that stayed the night before decided to stay longer and we were told it was a favorite customer so we were bumped to a room that we did not care about. I protested but to no avail. I asked the clerks name and he told me Reinhard, to which I responded, "Oh, you're the owner" and I walked out of the office and let my wife take care of paying because I was now too disgusted to face this person any longer.
If I was going to stay in a room that had no meaning to me, I could have stayed at any of the other rooms in Seligman, and probably for less money. I chose that room because I am a railfan and I wanted the train room. The "Hollywood Room" means nothing to me and was basically just another hotel room as far as I'm concerned.
Once inside the room we discovered that the carpet was rather dirty. I could feel the grime on my bare feet. I rubbed a washcloth on floor with four quick strokes and it came up black.
Aside from the above negative points, the room was otherwise neat and clean. The bed was comfortable as were the pillows. The room is rather small, but that is more a function of the period in which the hotel was built.
I guess Reinhard values his 'favorite customer' more than new customers, but he also guaranteed that I will never be a returning customer. When we return to Seligman in May for the Fun Run, we will find other accomodations. For those who might simply say "you will have a chance another day", I will say "how do I know he won't do that again next time?" He has demonstrated that reservations are meaningless. His credibility with me is zero.

Room Tip: Reservations are obviously not guaranteed. Don't expect to get the room that you reserve.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queretaro City, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

My wife and I decided to stop at Seligman as part of our Route 66 road trip. We weren't sure where to stay because all motels in town looked quite similar. After reading the reviews, we decided to stay at Canyon Lodge.

Since the moment we entered, Reinhardt -the owner, a very friendly gentleman- warmly received us and greeted us, making us feel very welcome. He told us about all the themed room options, and we took the Railroad-themed room with a king-size bed.

The room and the bathroom were impeccable. The shower was a bit small, but that caused no problems. Everything was super clean. Reinhardt arrived from Germany many years ago. If you are familiar with the German standards of order and cleanliness...well, his hotel lives up to that standard.

Breakfast is free, so that's something good for budget-minded travelers. It was also very good: juice, milk, fruit, and a wide variety of cereals and sweet breads.

When we left the next day he recommended us a few historical places to see in town, and even offered us a discount at a nearby gift shop for staying with him.

Seligman is a great little town to spend the night. it makes for a very real Route 66 experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodrigo_Marban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

We five people lodged in 3 rooms; John Wayne, Elvis Presley, and Hog Heaven. The rooms were decorated in style to the max, leaving no wall area without a commemorative of the suite. Besides the décor, the rooms were impeccably kept; furnishings were without blemish, leaving me to think this room had just been done, but looking at other reviews, it must be at least a year this décor has been done. We arrived late in the evening and left early the next day for a trip on the Indian reservation, and only regret we did not have more time to enjoy our time here.

Room Tip: We were told the Marilyn Monroe room is the most requested, so make reservations early if this is yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edna1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgecrest, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

This was the first night stay of our Route 66 drive. My husband really wanted the entire Rt 66 experience--drive as long as we could and then stop and find a room. Personally, I enjoy staying at the Hilton family of hotels and having reservations made far in advance. After reading the reviews after we left the Grand Canyon Caverns, I decided to relax and give Canyon Lodge a chance. I am so glad I did. We had a blast from the moment we walked into the hotel lobby. Talk about walking back in time to days gone by. We have never smiled or laughed so much. We were impressed with the room (we chose the Hollywood Room); the bedspread and decor were beautiful. and quite comfortable The room had everything we could possibly need. Plus, it was clean and comfortable. Reinhard suggested we eat dinner at Lilo's, which served delicious German Food. Breakfast in the morning was abundant and yummy. This place set the tone for the rest of our trip to Chicago. We never stopped smiling. Seligman, AZ, is an awesome little town. Make sure your experience this little gem.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RhondaCapron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seligman
0.1 mi away
Supai Motel
Supai Motel
#3 of 7 in Seligman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
1.0 mi away
Stagecoach 66 Motel
Stagecoach 66 Motel
#6 of 7 in Seligman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Deluxe Inn Motel
Deluxe Inn Motel
#5 of 7 in Seligman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Romney Motel
Romney Motel
#7 of 7 in Seligman
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
24.5 mi away
Grand Canyon Caverns Inn
Grand Canyon Caverns Inn
#1 of 1 in Peach Springs
3.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
22.8 mi away
Ash Fork Inn
Ash Fork Inn
#2 of 2 in Ash Fork
3.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Lodge

Property: Canyon Lodge
Address: 114 East Chino Avenue, Historic Rt. 66, Seligman, AZ 86337
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Seligman
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Seligman
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Canyon Hotel Seligman
Canyon Motel Seligman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing