We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Average -- Sedona Too Commercial”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
Ranked #4 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2007

We stayed here for 2 nights in late August as part of an 11 day trip through Arizona. The hotel is in a convenient location, has wonderful views, but other than that, we did not think it stood out as a great property. We were in an updated room on the 2nd floor. We found nothing remarkable about the staff -- they were not friendly at all. The breakfast was very basic. We ended up checking out one day early to go to Flagstaff for a night before going to Grand Canyon, and we are glad we did.

The views in Sedona are absolutely beautiful, but overall we were a bit dissapointed in how commerical it has gotten here. Too many shops with the same merchandise and everything opens late and closes early. And the only thing open late, the "Movie Museum" is a ruse for timeshare sales, which appears to be a big business in Sedona. We enjoyed the Pink Jeep Tour and had a great dinner at the Cowboy Club.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philly3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,037)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,897 - 1,903 of 2,037 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2007

Stayed 4 days at the Arroyo Roble. We were in the newly remodeled annex section (2nd floor which was street level) We had our own parking space assigned to us. We have no complaints. The room was very clean and the view of snoopy's rock was great. We had a fireplace which we didn't use and the air conditioning worked great - which we really needed. It was around 100 everyday, but I have to say without the high humidity it wasn't bad. They have an extended continental breakfast which is going to expand to full breakfast around October we were told. The location was great. We were just at the end of Sedona's Main Street. You could walk to all the restaurants and shops. We weren't sure if we would like the location because we were afraid it would be too busy but it was just the opposite. You could cross the street very easily and it wasn't super crowded. While there be sure to do the Pink Jeep Tours. The Broken Arrow tour was great. Also try to make Slide Rock State Park. Even if you don't like the "cold" water, it was great watching everyone have a good time. As to the food the Cowboy Club was great. They have a great variety. The wild boar ribs were excellent. Another place we tried as recommended by the free trolley bus driver, was a small sandwich shop "Sedona Memories" it was on a side street and only open weekdays from 10-2. The sandwiches were huge and only cost $5.50. And don't miss Picasso Pizza it was as good as everyone said. Then be sure to go to Jerome. It's an old mining town with houses literally just hanging on the hillside. We visited the Old Ghost town that had old buildings, tools, antiques, vehicles, and any other "junk" you can think of. It was awesome. To say the least we had a great trip. We will definitely go back in the future. Loved it!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank joseph26003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2007

Our family stayed at this hotel from July 1 - July 3, 2007 as part of a lengthy vacation through the southwest. The hotel is constucted such that the lobby is the second floor and street entrance. The ground floor is the first floor so these rooms have verandas as opposed to the upper floor rooms which have balconies. There is an elevator for ease of access.

We arrived early to catch up with some friends who live in the area and had no problem with an early check in. Rooms on the 1st and 2nd floors have been recently renovated and we were assigned a 2nd floor room, #207, which was perfectly situated for access to both the pool and the laundry facilities (which feature free detergent and dryer sheets). All rooms have unobstructed views of the canyon and the hotel grounds are nicely landscaped as well. In the rooms, the sink and vanity are located outside of the bathroom which is great for busy families. there are two computers for guest use, free of charge, but printing is not free. It appears that this facility is part time-share, part hotel (I'm guessing that's the "...& Creekside Villas" part of the name). There is a clubhouse with steam room, sauna, weight room, sitting area, and pool in addition to the pool provided just outside the hotel facility. We liked the ambiance of the pool adjacent to the hotel, not the "stuffier" clubhouse facility.

The hotel is in an excellent location, immediately adjacent to shops and restaurants, and on the main drag to Oak Creek Canyon recreation facilities. It was easy to take an evening walk, grab an ice cream cone, do last minute souvenir shopping, etc.

Breakfast offerings included hard-boiled eggs, make your own waffles, a variety of breads to toast, cold cereals, hot oatmeal, juices, coffee, tea, milk, fresh fruit and cut melon pieces. Coffee is available all day in the lobby.

The front desk staff was very accommodating and cheerful regardless of the time of day approached. All in all, this hotel was a great value for the area and amenities.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank vacdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2007

Fabulous location in uptown Sedona near shops and restaurants. We stayed in one of the Creekside Villas which overlooked lovely Oak Creek.

Our Villa was immaculately clean and very spacious (even had our own washer and dryer in the kitchen - so useful towards the end of our holiday!). It was lovely sitting on our balcony overlooking the creek listening to the sounds of the water and the crickets. My only criticism is that the villa did not not have adequate lighting for its size which made is rather dark.

The Facilities were first-class with two swimming pools, gym, pool, racketball and free internet access, although it is a short steep walk up from the villas. A free continental breakfast is offered including make-your-own waffles.

All the staff we encountered were extremely friendly, efficient and very helpful.

Stayed: August 2007
1  Thank mummabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2007

-Got a good deal through the website for "manager's special" or "internet special" compared to other listed rates (such as AAA and corporate) for dates I wanted. However, one of the managers said regular rate was about 10% more than I paid, which if so, was still about $30 a night less than the higher rates I saw online. So, if you can't be bothered checking the website, maybe you're better off calling the hotet directly and asking for the very best rate.
--I asked for a high room with view but got first floor with "patio" because we had five of us. Higher rooms can't accomodate more than 4. Here's why the first floor was great for the family:
---*The view is still great, although a little blocked by the rail fence when you are sitting. No problem, raise your head slightly and enjoy. You might ask not to be assigned behind the pretty fountain so you don't have to raise your face so much.
---*Just down the steps is the outdoor hotel pool with super views (why bother going to the fancy resort enclosed pool, to which you get access, when you get such a view from the hotel pool?),
---*Close enough to parking,
---*Close to the coin laundry and breakfast.
--The location of the hotel is convenient if you want to walk and shop; there is a little pretty strip right next door; and so close to the "Y" you don't have to far to go to anywhere that's great in Sedona.
--All but one of the staff was pleasant, professional, and helpful. (That One apparently was having an off day so chances are excellent you will be pleased.)
--You get access to the ping pong table, pool table, fitness room, and nice indoor-outdoor pool at the resort, which I think are time-shares right behind the hotel. We had so much to do in town and around the rocks, we didn't get to use these amenities much, but it was nice to know it was there.
--Breakfast was nice enough.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RoadTrip19Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2007

Stayed 2 nights 8/707 - 8/8/07 during our week vacation in Arizona. This was the best place we stayed for several reasons.

We were in a 2nd floor room in the "North" section that only has 5 rooms. The room was larger than a standard hotel room and had a very comfortable king bed and a double pull out sofa. The room was clean and had a mini fridge, microwave, and the most spectacular view of the red rocks! Oh yeah, there was a fireplace but in the heat that we were experiencing, no need for that.

The hotel is in uptown Sedona and literally within walking distance to many, many shops and restaurants.

We used the hotel as our "home base" for our many excursions to Cottonwood, Jerome, the Oak Creek Canyon, Prescott, and Sedona. I am not a person who likes to drive or ride in a car for any length of time, but this was the most scenic area I have ever been in and driving seemed to go by very quickly.

The hotel front desk staff was very friendly and efficient. The breakfast, which is included, was good. They offered toast, bagels, muffins, cereal, hard boiled eggs, oatmeal, fruit, and waffles. The 2 mornings we ate there, I was very surprised at the lack of a line to get your food. The breakfast area is large with additional seating
outside. We went right in, got our food with no wait, and enjoyed breakfast with a great view. Our other experience at other hotels offering continental breakfast have not been so good with small areas and long lines. What a very pleasant experience this was for us.

We spent a little time in both pools. They have an outdoor pool right outside the main building and an indoor/outdoor pool by what I believe were the condos by the creek. In this facility there were 2 pool tables, a ping pong table, sauna, hot tub, exercise room, big screen TV, and two PCs with free internet access. Other than the pools, we did not utilize any of the other amenities. I did try checking our flights on the PC but the connection was sooooo slow, I bailed on the idea.

Overall a great experience in a fantastic hotel. Would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Pros: Comfort and cleanliness of room, the view! Cons: None

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bobomac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2007

We came to this hotel after a disaster at another place. The price was double what we were paying there but after our bad experience, I was willing to pay anything to just be somewhere nice and comfortable. This hotel far exceeded my expectations! First of all, you can't beat the location...it's right in the heart of Sedona within walking distance to anything and everything. We got one of the newly renovated rooms (recommended) that had very nice decor with comfy beds and bedding. There were tons of extra pillows, sheets, towels and blankets in the closet which was really nice. Outside our room was a grassy courtyard, beautiful fountain and the stunning red rock mountains...it was like something out of a postcard. It just doesn't get any better than this...we were so sad that we could only stay one night. We wanted to stay longer. The staff from beginning to end were extremely helpful and courteous. It's almost like they anticipated our needs. Only negatives were the extremely slow internet connection (probably because of the mountainy area and the laundry facilities. It took us almost 3 hours to dry a load of clothes...the dryer wasn't working properly. Other than that...best hotel experience we've ever had.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank plattapus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona
0.2 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
2.4 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
937 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
0.2 mi away
Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas

Address: 400 N State Route 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336-4214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sedona
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#8 Business Hotel in Sedona
Price Range: $184 - $497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Best Western, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel And Creekside Villas
Best Western Sedona
Sedona Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing