We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Arroyo Roble Timeshare Villa Experience (Not Best Western)” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Nanuet, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Arroyo Roble Timeshare Villa Experience (Not Best Western)”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2007

Please keep in mind that my review only applies to Arroyo Roble timeshare resort, not the Best Western. They seem to operate both hotel and resort and Creekside Villas are the timeshare resorts)

We recently got back from AZ and our visits included Las Vegas, Sedona and Phoenix. I booked all RCI gold crown resorts.
Out of many different gold crown resorts I visited, Arroyo Roble
was the worst ever. Grounds were top notch, but the unit itself is a hospitality quality, does not deserve a gold crown. It may have been
awarded for gold crown few years ago, but not any more.

((BAD THINGS))
First of all, resort sits at the bottom of the creek so unless your
unit is facing the red rocks (only few), there is no scenic view for you. Your unit will be dark and creepy.
Best Western is situated on top of the hill so, you would get a
beautiful red rock view but not the villas.
Plus, all the scenic-view units are reserved my the owners so if you are exchanging into the resort, you'll probably have the same experience as us.

This villa that you'll get is 2-story villa with 2 bedrooms in the second floor and living-room, kitchen area in the first floor.
Everything in the villa is old. I've experience the oldest microwave
that literally took 10 minutes to properly warm up any food.
Dishes and kitchen accessories were also very old with visible scratches everywhere that I was reluctant to use.
Food disposal couldn't even dispose potato skins and it end up
clogging the sink. We had to call maintainence guy to fix and he seemed to be blaming us for the trouble, not the old food disposal.

Second floor bedroom wasn't cool enough, but rather warm.
We lowered the temperture from the main thermosat in the first floor but it would only effect the first floor, and near vent only.
It made a loud noise when it was running so we assumed
that it would make a same noise in the second floor but it was very quiet. We thought it wasn't working so we had to call meintenancy guy again. He showed up grumpy. He said, the air does come out but you would need to turn on the ceiling fan to circulate the air and turn off the lights to cool it down?!
Honestly, we would have turn off the lights if this villa didn't
give us the creeps. We had to turn on every possible lights even during the day and overnight.

Beddings were bad. I think the cheap $50 motel had better
mattress and bedding than this villa. Sheets were old as well, and
it didn't smell like it was laundried. Master bedroom had
queen/full size bed, and other room had 2 single beds.
It was really not the quality of a gold crown resort. We were pretty upset and disappointed about the whole unit.

((GOOD THINGS))
The only decent thing that might have qualified as gold crown was the master bathroom. It was spacious and bright with jacuzzi tub. Shower head had wierd water flow but ok.

Grounds were very well maintained and pretty.

Resort had two pool tables, one ping pong table, and two rackett rooms. When we had to stay-in due to weather, we played spent time playing pool. (This is something that you don't normally get in a gold crown as well)

Resort also had two computer stations for complimentary internet use.

((OVERALL))
I wouldn't ever visit this resort again.
Some staffs are friendly, and most are not.
Front desk didn't really look professional, felt like it was family owned inn.

Location was good, uptown shopping areas and official visitor center in the walking distance.

If you need to buy hats or suveniers, you might want to
visit "I love who" store that embeds cutom letters for free!
We needed safari hats due to sizzling weather and we got
pretty nice hats for $12.99 each (most other stores had it for 15.99 and up) and free name embedding!

  • Liked — Master bathroom
  • Disliked — The whole unit. Dark, Creepy and depressing.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank elleno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,204
    543
    100
    23
    10
See reviews for
721
739
38
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mass
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2007

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights June 19th thru June 23rd. We had a room on the 4th floor in the back overlooking the pool and the red rocks further out. We used our large balcony in the morning and in the evening. We were very impressed with the room with its small kitchenette and balcony. It was well kept, clean and spacious. The two pools were nice and the health club had new equipment.

The continental breakfast was quite nice with a good variety of items. The location on 89A was perfect and the staff at the hotel were helpful and friendly. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to Sedona.

PS: For any joggers, a route up 89A and back was quite a nice run.

  • Liked — Balcony
  • Disliked — Distance to parking
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kobra2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2007

The rooms and villas are beautiful. Set in the red rocks of a scenic city. The pools and clubhouse were fabulous. The staff were very friendly. Everything you would need. Slide Rock State Park is a must for kids.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jphermsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2007

Recently returned from a trip to the southwest which included Sedona. We stayed at the Arroyo Robles there and were very pleased with the hotel. The room was large, clean, well appointed and the view was spectacular. It was everything they promised. We were in the rear of the hotel on the top floor. The Red Rocks greeted us each morning and started the day off perfectly. The staff was very willing and able to give us loads of information as to where to go and what to see. They even gave us little hints as to how to deal with the shops when shopping for gifts and such. Sedona is a great vacation area. It's got beauty and a relaxed atmosphere. if you're heading out to climb the Red Rocks or visit the Red Rock Park area, take lots of water, comfortable shoes and make sure you have good information on how not to get lost on the trails. Tell the folks at the visitors center to make the "trail directions" a bit clearer so you know how to return there. Try visiting there in the early morning hours. It's cooler. Don't miss Route 89A. It's one of the most scenic roads we traveled on our trip. As with most of the roads in the southwest, keep your eyes on the road, check your brakes and make sure they're in order and if you're the one doing the driving, take in the breathtaking sites cautiously. They are not to be missed and neither are the curves which are frequent. You'll have a fantastic time. There's also a church just outside of Sedona in the hills "Chapel of the Holy Cross". Make every effort to see it. It's built into the red rocks. Having a camera is a must wherever you travel in Sedona and throughout the southwest. Enjoy!

Helpful?
11 Thank carolanddan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2007

This is a fantastic hotel!! Not sure why it is listed as a 2-star. Definitely a 3+ star. Rooms are nice, hotel is right in the center of town and staff is exceptionally friendly. Really enjoyed our stay.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank lotsofhotelstays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, CA
Level Contributor
168 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2007

My wife booked us into a King Suite with fireplace. Check-in was flawless, Included a reserved parking space. At $175 it was great value. You look out from your second story balcony onto the red cliffs that Sedona is so well known for. The staff was extremely helpful with suggestions as to where to eat (a review on the Cowboy club has been posted). They also provided info and literature on great photo ops. Breakfast was included and was standard Best Western. Plenty to eat although there was no meat (sausage/bacon) included. No complaints....good for the heart.

  • Liked — The large rooms and fireplace
  • Disliked — The internet service was impossible to navigate
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Epags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
120 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2007

Perfect location right in the heart of Sedona. Close to shopping, food, and the AZ Visitor Center. Room was clean and comfortable. Guest coin laundry was a great help. Pool was relaxing and the perfect temperature. AM Breakfast had english muffins, waffles, juice, coffee, danishes, and fruit...perfect start for the day!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Traffic...nothing that was their fault
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank PuggedMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Sedona
2.4 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Adobe Grand Villas
Adobe Grand Villas
#1 of 48 in Sedona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
3.1 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
Address: 400 North State Route 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336-4214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sedona
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#8 Business Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel And Creekside Villas
Best Western Sedona
Sedona Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing