We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW! Disappointing this time.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Ranked #28 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Phoenix
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“WOW! Disappointing this time.”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed at the Arroyo Pinion about six months ago and I rated it 5-Stars. It was deserved. But this time (about two weeks ago), WOW, we were very disappointed. Here's some of what we noticed:

1. The grout in the shower was dirty and grungy (and no it wasn't the high priced caulking you used). I could scrape it off with my fingernail. 2. Two of the three light bulbs over the vanity were 25 watt and the third one was 40 watt. Not nearly bright enough for the location. 3. On the previous trip, we couldn't hear the neighbors. (Maybe because there were none at the time?). This time we could hear both and it was disturbing. 4. The breakfast bar was very messy (Waffle batter) and not kept up. My wife had to ask someone to come clean-up and resupply some food items. The food was minimally acceptable (cold) and the only syrup available was sugar free. I asked for regular syrup and was told, "Sugar free is what we serve" 5. Coffee out of the Nescafe Machine is terrible. We're not coffee snobs, but that stuff is undrinkable. (The room coffee is Star Bucks and if made with bottled water is good.) We finally dumped the food and went out for breakfast. 6. The staff did not give us that warm friendly "Glad you're here" feeling. Not rude or unfriendly, just not 'warm'.

I don't know what's happened at the Arroyo Pinion in the last six months, but the place is downgrading itself. It is not being kept up to the standard it was in all areas especially housekeeping. (Owners, are you paying attention???) As we were leaving the room Saturday morning for the day's outing, I mentioned to the housekeeper standing outside the door of the adjacent room we were leaving for the day and that she could get in ours to clean. Her response was: "Oh, you want your room serviced?" Correct me if I'm wrong, but I thought that's want housekeeping did.

While still a nice place, (as it should be after a million dollar renovation) the owners and management of the Arroyo Pinion better get on top of the cleanliness and general upkeep situations or the place will fall back into the $50.00 per night category whether or not it's in Sedona. Anthony Melchiorri, where are you???

Room Tip: Unless you like dragging luggage up and down stairs, ask for the ground level. There is no elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrTinPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigtimetraveler55555, Guest Relations Manager at Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thanks for your comments.

we have corrected the issues as necessaary. All the connecting doors have been removed with the exception of the family rooms. So, noise is no longer an issue either. Proper changes to housekeeping has been made with proper personnel and additional training.

Thanks for comments about being the nice place.

we look forward to accommodating you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    153
    59
    15
    16
See reviews for
115
227
19
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We had a pleasant stay at what was formally named the “Kokopelli Suites”. The grounds were very quaint and the staff was very friendly, helpful and accommodating. The room was inviting offering such amenities as; a modern T.V., a small refrigerator and microwave, a desk, a fireplace and Jacuzzi tub. All of which made the room a very special environment. The king size bed was a welcome sight and thing of comfort for a weary traveler. The room (ground floor) also had sliding glass doors that led to a not-so private patio with a small table and two chairs that had lattice dividers on either side. This was cozy, but again, not-so private, as any guest staying on either side of you could join your conversation with no effort at all. We didn’t spend a great deal of time in the room, but when we did, the room was very comfortable and inviting. There were plenty of service’s close by, to include; restaurants, banks, jeep / bike rentals, and just about anything else one would need. Oh, and the views of the surrounding area during the day and the stars at night will speak for themselves. I would most definitely stay there again and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Triptaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles H, General Manager at Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for your response, the staff and myself stive to make sure every guest gets the true "Sedona Experience". I am so pleased that we fufilled your expectations. Please visit us again when you come back to the area

Charles Howard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

The hotel staff was wonderful and very accommodating! They went the extra mile during our stay! Just minutes from town, but tons of places to eat within blocks. Great value for cost! Hotel rooms and grounds very clean and well maintained. Recommend!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank stljeepgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles H, General Manager at Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for your nice comments, the staff and myself take alot of pride in our property and want to make sure each guest has the total Sedona experience. I will share all of your comments with my staff, which I do with each review that we recieve.

I hope that the next time you come to Sedona, you will stay with us again.

Many thanks

Charles Howard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix,AZ
Level Contributor
92 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We had a good stay, our first time to this hotel, it has been many years since we have visited Sedona. This hotel used to be Kokopelli Inn & Suites, it has been the APH for over 1 year. The hotel is two stories with outside access. There is no elevator so if you have difficulty climbing stairs ask or reserve a lower floor room. We had a Deluxe King bed guest room with a jacuzzi tub in the room(did not use this) We had a patio with 2 chairs and a small table on the back of the room which was very nice and private. We had no problem using the wi-fi in the room(complimentary). The lighting by the bed and behind the bed was "cool" and different. The large tiled shower and toilet were together in a room with an exhaust fan. The room also featured a microwave and a refrigerator that we did utilize. In the room is a flat screen TV Sansui brand that swivels, but no sleep timer that I could find. In the room was a single serve coffee machine with Starbucks coffee-better than the lobby coffee. The room had a small wall safe. The bathroom sink is actually immediately as you enter the room and if a person is standing at the sink and a person is trying to exit or enter the room they will get hit.
There were cookies in the lobby in the afternoon and coffee all day. Breakfast was served in the lobby from 7am to 10am everyday. Example of the variety: eggs,bacon-1 day, sausage-the other day,biscuits,bread,bagels & cream cheese,muffins, make your own battered waffles,3 kinds of cereal,milk, OJ,apple,strawberry & kiwi juices,yogurt, apples, and coffee from a nescafe machine which I did not care for.
I used the outdoor spa,which was heated very nicely. The pool was not heated.
Plenty of complimentary parking. The hotel is divided into 4 buildings.
There is a laundry room with pay machines and a vending machine. There is a small exercise room off the lobby with 2 machines.
Local calls are free. We needed more towels and housekeeping was very prompt in bringing them to the room;nice touch.

Room Tip: If you can't climb stairs get a lower floor room,no elevator on property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phoenixreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles H, General Manager at Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you for your nice comments on our hotel. My staff and myself strive to make sure that each guest is treated as family. I will share all of your comments with my staff, and hope to see you again next time you visit Sedona.

Thank you again,

Charles Howard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

We were a little disappointed in our stay as it was an average facility with an above average room rate but then Sedona is a tourist location and everything seemed to be pricey. My first disappointment was that we ended up with a room on the second floor and no elevator. Since we have been traveling for a week and had a lot of luggage this made it difficult. The staff was very friendly and helpful and we got to meet both the owner and manager during get the early morning visit to the breakfast. They indicate breakfast us served at 7 am which is later than I have seen at most hotels but since I am an early riser and was down searching for a cup of coffee at 6:30 I was happy to see that it was ready at 6:30. There were two lines that appeared on our TV when we watched in the evening and the toilet kept running. Will look for different option in Sedona next time we visit.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikegal05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles H, General Manager at Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you for you response, we appreciate your comments. We try very hard to make sure that each guest experiences the full Sedona experience. I will share your comments with my staff, they strive to make each guest experience a memorable one. We hope to see you the next time that you visit Sedona.

Charles Howard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Nice upgrades! Peaceful environment. Front desk staff were helpful, price was good for the night we stayed. In_room Jacuzzi was delightful, also included fridge and microwave with room. highly recommend.

Room Tip: jacuzzi tub! an absolute must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizasway77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles H, General Manager at Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for your positive review of our hotel, The staff and myself do strive to make your experience at the Arroyo Pinion a positive one. The jacuzzi suites are my favorite as well. After a long day of hiking in Sedona, a jacuzzi is a must. We hope to see you again soon when your traveling back to the area...

Thank You

Charles Howard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

The staff was knowledgeable and friendly. The rooms were lovely and newly remodeled. The location was perfect for the area's activities. Highly recommend the hotel. Having a refrigerator and microwave was convenient.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the premium room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DrLinda2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles H, General Manager at Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us. My staff and myself are glad that we exceeded your expectations. We are hoping to see you again soon when you come back to the Sedona area.

Thanks again,

Charles Howard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
2.9 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#18 of 48 in Sedona
1,179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
0.2 mi away
Southwest Inn at Sedona
Southwest Inn at Sedona
#29 of 48 in Sedona
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
3.1 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Property: Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Address: 3119 West Highway 89 A, Sedona, AZ 86336 (Formerly Kokopelli Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Sedona
#13 Business Hotel in Sedona
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#24 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Newly Renovated Boutique Sedona hotel is located near the Thunder Mountain, Lizard Head, Chimney, Sugarloaf and Coffeepot Red Rock formations. Arroyo Pinion Hotel, An Ascend Hotel Collection(R) Member hotel in Sedona, Arizona offers easy access to uptown Sedona shopping, as well as: - Oak Creek Canyon - Red Rock Crossing - Dry Creek hiking trails - Bell Rock Vortex - Hiking Trails Enjoy these Complimentary amenities: - Free deluxe Hot breakfast - Free wireless high-speed Internet access - Free daily newspaper - Starbucks coffee in all rooms - Jacuzzi Suites with Fireplace & Patio Luxurious, designer guest rooms include Beautyrest beds with Robert Allen bed coverings and triple sheeting, custom outlets and USB ports at each night stand and desk area, and custom lounge chairs and ottomans. Flat-screen television with cable, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffee maker & desk with ergonomic chair are provided for your enjoyment. Some rooms feature a whirlpool bathtub with fireplace and a patio. Its perfect location and convenient access to area attractions make the Arroyo Pinion Hotel a great place for business and leisure travelers in the Sedona, Arizona area. Book a room with us today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kokopelli Hotel Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing