We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great start to our trip” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Ranked #26 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Danville, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great start to our trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

We booked Arroyo Pinion Hotel after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor.
This was our first trip to this area and we were quite pleased with the accommodations.
Hotel staff was friendly, service oriented and knowledgeable about the area. Rooms were very nice and breakfast was good. We stayed on the backside of the motel so we only a little view
but we spent very little time in the room. We were so pleased with the hotel we stayed another night. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 773JoeE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigtimetraveler55555, General Manager at Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
I am glad to hear that you had a great start for your trip. Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your comments.

With all new product and excellent training for our staff and all new breakfast bar, we strive daily to obtain 5 out of 5. Apparently, we missed something and failed to get 5 out of 5 from you. Will you kindly call us, if you can spare a few minutes, to let us know where we missed out the one bubble, So we can get 5 bubbles our of 5 next time from you. We will certainly appreciate it.

Please come again and refer us to your friends and family On the next trip, we would like to make the excellent start of your trip. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    142
    50
    15
    16
See reviews for
106
208
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gaffney, South Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Jack was fantastic as front desk Concierge, immediately got us discount tickets to great excursions and wonderful restaurant advice. Rooms looked brand new. Lobby was beautiful with nice paintings. Roge came out to welcome us at breakfast and gave us great hiking and picture vistas advice. We got some great shots. Where hotel is at, you have to go outside for a view but there is no bad view in Sedona! Couldn't have asked for a better stay my first time in Sedona.

Room Tip: stay in the back of the property. really no good rooms for views out the window but just walk out th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigtimetraveler55555, General Manager at Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
I am glad you enjoyed your stay. And, thanks a million for your comments.
Its folks like you that really encourage our staff to work even harder. Staff was delighted to see your comments.
You noted it correctly that the rooms have been completely renovated with all new items in rooms and our staff is trained for perfection for excellent guest Experience.

Please tell your friends and family so they can come stay with us and please come and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I were taken back when we opened our room to a jetted hot tub by our king size mattress complete with two robes laid out for us. The room was clean, glass doors on the nice shower. Only 10 minutes from downtown Sedona. Very informative front desk clerk. No complaints.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Allnuttvacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigtimetraveler55555, General Manager at Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
I am glad your stay met with your expectations.
Our staff was delighted to hear your comments.
Thank you so much for giving us 5 out of 5. we work had for it daily and when someone appreciates our hard work, it makes it all worthwhile.

As a side note, Sedona being at a much lower elevation than Flagstaff, is not too cold during the winter and have a lot of christmas lights all around. People love the white hat mountain tops surrounding us and not deal with snow on ground. And Spring is the best time to visit Sedona. On your next stay try our winery tour package.

Please do come and stay with us again and please recommend our hotel to your friends and family. Once again, Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Kind of out of the way of all the hustle and bustle of Sedona. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was very nice and for a place with "free" breakfast this one was the best. When I asked Jack at the front desk what not to miss he immediately got a map for me and showed me the places to go. This morning when I was having breakfast a couple was asking if they could stay another night and was told that this hotel was sold out. Sarah Beth, the front desk person, told them she would see what she could do. The couple left and then unbeknownst to them Sarah Beth went to work. I overheard her call several different hotels before she found them another place to stay. She then negotiated a better price for them and booked them a place to stay. That is SERVICE.

Room Tip: If you want a nice quiet place to stay this is it. The rooms on the back side of the property were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Papamac5515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigtimetraveler55555, General Manager at Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you very much for recognizing our staff performance. I cant thank you enough.
Our staff is coached regularly with our mission statement in mind. "Provide clean, Comfortable, and Modern Lodging for Sedona Visitors with friendly and accommodating staff at mid-scale pricing as compared in Sedona Market"
Please come and visit us again soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LORETTE
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We booked this room not having been to Sedona before and although the location wasn't bad, the rest was below average based on what the hotel itself has described. We booked a king room with a veiw, got to our room and the placque on the door even says partial view, which meant look over the parking lot and across the freeway to the mountain. I went back down to the front desk and showed her our reservation and she told me we were in the the right room, and that they had just spent a MILLION dollars on reno's.. this later became the joke between my husband and I.. "well they didn't spend it on (there was a list)"
The WIFI was horrible and we were right next to the office and we tried in the lobby. Never more than 2 bars.
The sheets were like sandpaper and made it very uncomfortable to sleep.
the Walls between rooms were thin and everything from the neighboring rooms could be heard
Pool dirty, hot tub smelled funky and wasn't hot.
the "newly done" bathrooms had mold around the tiles.
Coffee maker didn't work, coffee came out cold.
breakfast the scrambled eggs were cold and hard.
the front desk staff had no idea where some of the big
attractions were located.
Overall the stay was below what their website had promised. If their website had said a place to put your head, no frills. My expectations would have been different.
FYI.. telling your guests the room is great and the view is awesome is not the same as having a great room with a view.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank alyroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigtimetraveler55555, General Manager at Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
First Let me apologize that we did not meet your expectations.

Not having been to Sedona, Its understandable about the cost perspectives. Real Estate and renovations costs are several folds higher in Sedona (a town of retired people and artists with practically no labor force) compared to many cities. This is not a Joke but a REALITY in Sedona. Newcomers to Sedona often feel the room prices are high. We provide Quality Rooms and service at very reasonably prices.
Frankly, I am surprised at a number of issues. So, would like to offer following clarifications.
As far as the views are concerned, we admit that we do not have the views similar to some other hotels that offer full views at substantially higher rates. Some hotels charge as much as $100 higher for rooms due to views. We only charge $10 for the partial view and there are no freeways in Sedona. I am assuming that you put that word jokingly.
We do have brand new WIFI Cisco System and free 800 tech support even if you need assistance with your computer settings.
Coffee is Starbucks and brand new coffeemakers with no complaints since there installation 3 months ago. Despite that we tested every coffeemaker and did not find any defective.
We do have many items on our continental breakfast bar with 2 hot items and served hot until 10am, which guest love daily.
Sedona does not have attractions like many amusement parks. The Points of interest are beautiful red rock formations throughout the area and our staff is very knowable and provides concierge service.
Pool and Hot tub are cleaned daily and Hot tub temperature is recorded daily.
Our sheets are washed professionally by a laundry Contractor and never have had a single complaint.
Our contraction is well built with 2X6 rather than the standard 2X4 wall construction. Connecting doors can cause hearing.
It takes years to build mold which is not possible with all new renovation. But yes, With the brown colored caking (sealant) with brown decor instead of cheap white caul can easily be mistaken.

Since you have brought up the word Joke, Lets Laugh a little: Brown caulk - called Mold, Cost not believable in heavenly town, $10 for partial view unreasonable, Breakfast cold, hot tub cold, Starbucks coffee in room made by guest cold. Pool dirty. High chlorine required by Health department in Hot tub smell Funky.

We would like to laugh with you and invite you to come and enjoy our hospitality, friendly service, sleep on comfy Beauty rest mattresses and when out and about in Sedona enjoy the Fantastic views. And, on a serious note, please accept our apology.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed at the Arroyo Pinion at the last minute. It was very reasonably priced, clean, and in a great location. Our room had a refrigerator and a microwave, which was a nice bonus. We had a room farther back and didn't hear any road noise and there were always plenty of parking spaces.

The only drawback is that the walls are quite thin, so we could hear our neighbors talking, and the room would shake every time another guest closed their door.

All in all, very pleased with this hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank CE55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigtimetraveler55555, General Manager at Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your great comments.

Our hotel is well built with 2X6 construction compared to the standard 2X4 construction. However, connecting rooms tend to have the sound issue. We are working on it to make them better as well.

We need to work harder with you next time to earn the score of 5 out of 5. Please give us an opportunity again to accommodate you.

Look forward to seeing you agin

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Great stay last week at Arroyo Pinion in Sedona. Recent remodel fantastic, upgraded. This location is in West Sedona, close to all the major shopping, dining and activities in town. A few years ago it seems a little outdated-not any more with the rooms. Also the kitchen area and front meeting rooms look remodeled.

Room Tip: I think they have all been upgraded recently
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigtimetraveler55555, General Manager at Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Your comments have encouraged our staff to work harder.

Thank you for motivating us. We are glad you enjoyed visit to Sedona and enjoyed staying with us.

It seems that you are a returning visitor from your comments.

We invite you you to come and stay with us again and join our Choice Privilege program that may be very beneficial to you.

Our small meeting room is ideal for small retreats and small family reunions.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
0.9 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
2.9 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#18 of 48 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
0.1 mi away
Southwest Inn at Sedona
Southwest Inn at Sedona
#28 of 48 in Sedona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Property: Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Address: 3119 West Highway 89 A, Sedona, AZ 86336 (Formerly Kokopelli Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Sedona
#13 Business Hotel in Sedona
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#24 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Newly Renovated Boutique Sedona hotel is located near the Thunder Mountain, Lizard Head, Chimney, Sugarloaf and Coffeepot Red Rock formations. Arroyo Pinion Hotel, An Ascend Hotel Collection(R) Member hotel in Sedona, Arizona offers easy access to uptown Sedona shopping, as well as: - Oak Creek Canyon - Red Rock Crossing - Dry Creek hiking trails - Bell Rock Vortex - Hiking Trails Enjoy these Complimentary amenities: - Free deluxe Hot breakfast - Free wireless high-speed Internet access - Free daily newspaper - Starbucks coffee in all rooms - Jacuzzi Suites with Fireplace & Patio Luxurious, designer guest rooms include Beautyrest beds with Robert Allen bed coverings and triple sheeting, custom outlets and USB ports at each night stand and desk area, and custom lounge chairs and ottomans. Flat-screen television with cable, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffee maker & desk with ergonomic chair are provided for your enjoyment. Some rooms feature a whirlpool bathtub with fireplace and a patio. Its perfect location and convenient access to area attractions make the Arroyo Pinion Hotel a great place for business and leisure travelers in the Sedona, Arizona area. Book a room with us today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Choice Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kokopelli Hotel Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing