We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to hiking trails”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Ranked #28 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
pa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Close to hiking trails”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

This was our first trip to Sedona so I relied on other Trip Advisor reviews. The room was very clean and nice, comfortable beds. Seemed as though there weren't many guests there however. The desk clerk was very helpful in pointing out things to see and do. We needed copy service and they were pleased to help with that. The pool and hot tub were located directly in full sun which is probably great during cooler times. In May it was just too hot to use during the day. The hotel is not within walking distance of the "Uptown Sedona" area but there is amble free parking there. Breakfast is the standard continental fare. Wi-Fi wasn't working at first but when we reported, they fixed it immediately. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaGrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigtimetraveler55555, General Manager at Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thanks for your comments.

please visit us again with all new items and enjoy the hiking again as well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    153
    59
    15
    16
See reviews for
115
227
19
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arkansas
Level Contributor
103 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Stayed here for one night this month on our way from Grand Canyon back to Phoenix. Loved the friendly, helpful staff. We had a Cathedral Suite and it was very nice and comfortable. The jetted tub was perfect for me--it is not a two person tub, but not advertised to be and for someone not 5'3", it could be a bit cramped, but the jets were great. We had a fireplace, but were much more appreciative of the air conditioning as it was rather warm when we were there. The bed was quite good with lots of different pillows. The room had a couch which was nice and firm to sit on and a coffee table, but no desk to use a computer at (there was wi-fi that worked just fine, however). We had a microwave and refrigerator, as well as a coffee maker which was quite nice. This is a motel style unit, so doors open onto open air walkways and there is no elevator, but the nice suites seem to be on the lower level. The outside is nicely appointed with sitting areas and pretty flowering shrubs. The bathroom is a bit cramped, but the shower is wonderful--twin shower heads are very nice. The vanity area is also a bit cramped, but the toiletries are first rate!!! My biggest problem was the breakfast. We had bagels and cream cheese or butter and jams and two types of dry cereal, milk, coffee, and juice. It is not a bad breakfast, but for the money, some yogurt and fruit would have helped out and not been that much work. They had a full kitchen there in the breakfast area. The bagels were very good ones, I think from a local bakery, but a choice of muffins, maybe? Also, you would think for this money, one might have HBO or some form of movies in the room. We had a DVD player and the book said complimentary DVDs were in the lobby. When my husband went to pick up a DVD, the clerk said, "there is not a player in your room." He said there was, and she said "they must have forgotten to remove it--they are extra." However, she let him get two movies, but the selection was terrible. Given how cheap movies are now, they could invest in some more recent ones or some classics. Also, I had thought the DVD player was a nice touch--turns out it was probably an accident we had one at all--and would not have known about its availability.

Be aware--this is out of the downtown area quite a bit, so if you are looking for something where you can walk to shops, this is not the place. However, it is on the trolley line and probably a lot more peaceful. It does not have the views some places do, but it is very calm and quiet in the evening and early morning--we enjoyed it very much. It just missed excellent; in the category they are striving for, there are almost there--but not quite.

Room Tip: Our room was way at the back of the complex which is probably why it was so quiet--get a room away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bkwrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigtimetraveler55555, Guest Relations Manager at Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
First let me say Thank you for all your positive comments regarding bed, pillows, wi-fi, couch, double showerheads, fresh bagels and upscale toiletries.
Second, as new owners, we have substantially improved the hotel and continuing to do so and have bigger plans to enhance it further this year. Breakfast will be enhanced with that too.
Third, your comments are used to train our staff further. So, Thank you.
Fourth, we are in the process of removing the DVD players and adding a premium channel.
Fifth, you are right about the Jacuzzi tub, they are one person Tub, size of a regular Bath tub, but deeper with Granite all around it and in the bedroom area so you can see the TV from it.
Sixth, Town of Sedona is like a letter Y, Right arm of Y is uptown-the shopping area, the bottom of Y-the village of Oak Creek (outside the city) and left Arm is West Sedona, where there are many hiking trails, and restaurants. We are in West Sedona and inside the city limits.
Seventh, Special Thanks to you for pointing out Calm and Quiet, as most of our rooms are away from the road and we are surrounded by trees(in Desert-ya we pay big water bill) where you hear the birds chirp in the morning.
Eighth, we are located across the street from the famous Thunder Mountain where the Disney got its theme from for Thunder mountain train. You cannot see red rock views from Majority rooms but you can see from Pool area or from the street just outside the hotel.
Finally, we are striving to get Excellent by correcting the last bit of minor items. We invite you to come and stay with us again so you can give us the excellent next time.
Thanks Again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dixon IL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in December 2010. It's a nice little hotel, the real attractions in Sedona are out in the desert and hills. This hotel is a great "base camp" for a Jeep rock crawling adventure with Barlow Jeep Rentals. Drive your own, don't do the little tour thing, way more fun!

Room Tip: There aren't any good or bad rooms. No restaurant but plenty close by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fish1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigtimetraveler55555, Guest Relations Manager at Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Thank you very Much for your Review.
We invite you to come and stay with us again. The temp in Sedona is much cooler compared to Phoenix as we are tucked away in a pocket between Phoenix and Flagstaff in the montains.

As you new Owners, the Customer service is on the top of the list. Again, Thank you and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

I really liked this place! The property is nice, and the room was large and comfortable, clean and nicely appointed. Only complaint was that the bed was a little bit hard, but we still slept well. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alwaysonajourney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigtimetraveler55555, Guest Relations Manager at Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
We appreciate your comments very much. And we appreciate your business.

I am not sure if anyone pointed out to you, but one of the Red Rock Formations across the street is the Thundermountain, which is where the Disney got its theme from for the Thunder Mointain Train. Although the red rocks are not visible from our rooms, you can see from Pool Area and if you step out by the road.

We invite you to come and stay with us again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flatwoods, Kentucky
Level Contributor
126 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

The new owner of this establishment is working very hard to update this establishment. He will work with you to resolve any issues you may have and his personal cell number will be answered by him.
He is a very polite and conscientious owner. He will work with you and loves to have feedback.
Do not hesitate to stay at this facility.....very quiet and well appointed rooms....and the front desk staff are very knowledgeable to help you with whatever needs you may have and are very familiar with the Sedona area to make recommendations for you!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank badabing9504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wurldtraveler09, Guest Relations Manager at Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind remarks. Since the recent takeover, we have started doing a lot of things right away and we have big plans to improve the hotel. You will see the changes gradually. Most important thing for us is to see peole come and enjoy thier stay across the street from the Thunder Mountain ( where Disney got its theme from for Thunder Moutain train) and enjoy their vacation in Sedona. Then when they leave, they should be happy. Our staff tries their best to accomodate the guest equests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2012

This place should be considered a boutique hotel; there's really no place like it. The beds are extremely comfortable, there's both a fireplace, and a jacuzzi in the room, and the showers have two heads. (Which I tried to steal).
I'm planning a trip to come out and stay here again soon, the last few times I've been were in the winter. I love this hotel!

Room Tip: Get the rooms with the fireplaces. By far the best ones in the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunnyCfromPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wurldtraveler09, Guest Relations Manager at Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments. we are glad that you enjoyed your stay.

You are absolutely correct. Everyone loves our Cathedral Suites with Jacuzzi and Fireplace.

Please do come back and enjoy our friendly service, clean and well maintained rooms, and great location across the street from the most famous Thunder mountain where Disney got its theme from for Thunder Mountain Train. You can see it from our Pool area or when you step out by the street.
Look forward to seeing again soon/ Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
2.9 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#18 of 48 in Sedona
1,179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
0.2 mi away
Southwest Inn at Sedona
Southwest Inn at Sedona
#29 of 48 in Sedona
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
3.1 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Property: Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Address: 3119 West Highway 89 A, Sedona, AZ 86336 (Formerly Kokopelli Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Sedona
#13 Business Hotel in Sedona
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#24 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Newly Renovated Boutique Sedona hotel is located near the Thunder Mountain, Lizard Head, Chimney, Sugarloaf and Coffeepot Red Rock formations. Arroyo Pinion Hotel, An Ascend Hotel Collection(R) Member hotel in Sedona, Arizona offers easy access to uptown Sedona shopping, as well as: - Oak Creek Canyon - Red Rock Crossing - Dry Creek hiking trails - Bell Rock Vortex - Hiking Trails Enjoy these Complimentary amenities: - Free deluxe Hot breakfast - Free wireless high-speed Internet access - Free daily newspaper - Starbucks coffee in all rooms - Jacuzzi Suites with Fireplace & Patio Luxurious, designer guest rooms include Beautyrest beds with Robert Allen bed coverings and triple sheeting, custom outlets and USB ports at each night stand and desk area, and custom lounge chairs and ottomans. Flat-screen television with cable, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffee maker & desk with ergonomic chair are provided for your enjoyment. Some rooms feature a whirlpool bathtub with fireplace and a patio. Its perfect location and convenient access to area attractions make the Arroyo Pinion Hotel a great place for business and leisure travelers in the Sedona, Arizona area. Book a room with us today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kokopelli Hotel Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing