We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed with this average Hampton Inn”
Review of Hampton Inn Sedona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn Sedona
Ranked #31 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Southwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Disappointed with this average Hampton Inn”
Reviewed July 29, 2009

As part of our recent vacation in Arizona my wife and I decided to revisit Sedona. We had already had a marvellous week in and around Scottsdale, culminating in a great three days at the Boulders Resort. We chose the Hampton Inn in Sedona for our next stop based on some good reviews on TripAdvisor. We had booked for four nights, but left after only one and headed back to the Boulders as quickly as possible. We knew from past experience that Sedona was pretty expensive, but we had expected much more from what was going to be our most pricey hotel. We booked an AAA rate at this hotel of $151 per night ($169 including taxes) and we were very disappointed. We had stayed at Hampton Inns before, but this was very average and not good value for the price. The room was quite dark, but spacious and reasonably comfortable. The bathroom had obviously recently been redecorated, but there was not a single hook or towel rail anywhere. The TV was old, with a poor quality picture. The pool was quite small, but clean, but not a place to linger or lounge in the sun. OK for a quick dip after a busy day, but not much else. The included breakfast was very average and only really suitable for a continental type meal unless you like 'biscuits' and gravy, or overcooked mini omlettes for breakfast, which we do not. As the hotel did not have a restaurant we had to eat nearby. The Pizzeria opposite looked quite good and was very popular, but we chose to move down the road a little and ate at the Barking Frog, which was very good. This Hampton Inn is OK if you just want somewhere to stay to break your journey to say the Grand Canyon. It is not a resort hotel, and does not claim to be one. It is expensive for what you get. Our last stay in Sedona was at the Hilton Resort, which, although far from perfect, was much better value as it was only marginally more expensive than the Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank budgie-TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    295
    153
    65
    25
See reviews for
287
367
45
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2009

I agree with other reviews here. The hotel was nice enough, but certainly nothing special. Room was typical...bed, bath, TV, couch. The layout is a little awkward with access from second floor to first floor limited. Have to go outside for some areas. Pool was very small. Our air conditioning unit was noisy. Breakfast was fine. Actually better than some and they varied the offerings from day to day. Staff was fine. Not the best Sedona location on the west side of town heading towards Jerome. Not much within walking distance and when they roll the sidewalks up in Sedona at 9pm, there's not much else to do but stay in the hotel. The price was a little high I thought, but the guy at the front desk said he hadn't seen anyone get that price for a room in months. 129+ a night .

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RMHVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
110 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2009

Okay, so it's Sedona and everything is more expensive there. This an a very average Hampton Inn, nothing special. The front desk staff is not friendly but not rude, just there. The one computer in the lobby is pathetic. The rooms are dated and the beds okay. It is located right on busy main drag 89A with no views. For $160 a night with AAA, I would have expected more.

Yes, the red rocks are gorgeous, but frankly, the place is over run with tourists and right now Highway 179 is under massive construction so the traffic heading north/south is fierce.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TRV_1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorrento, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2009

Honestly, this is not a bad hotel. Quiet and clean. The price was a bit more (for a mid-level establishment) than we had intended to spend, and it was a tad farther from the heart of town, but they assured us they could provide the accomodations we were seeking so we deemed the cost worth it. Being that it was a Hilton property, we were confident that quality and level of service would not be an issue.

Our problem was that, when we arrived after a very long road trip, we did not receive the type room we had reserved weeks in advance. We had reserved one smoking and one non-smoking room, as we were traveling with my Hausband's father. The type and number of rooms were confirmed a number of times, both via phone and e-mail confirmation. When we arrived we were given a handicap outfitted room and told that in this "smoking room" guests were required to smoke on the balcony.

We could have smoked outside in the wind and light rain, at a lower rate, at any number of hotels closer to the heart of Sedona, right?

We were also informed that their smoking room had been inhabited by another guest all week. Hmmm. Since we had made reservations weeks in advance this should not have been an issue.

Too tired to argue, we asked the desk clerk to recommend a good restaurant where we could get dinner. He suggest a place that he said was very good, yet when we arrived at the restaurant less than fifteen minutes later it was closed for the evening. Wandering the streets to find an open dining establishment was not what three road weary people needed.

In the morning the desk clerk showed no interest in righting the issue and made no mention that Hampton offers a 100% satisfaction guarantee. Again, not a bad place...but if you want to feel confident that you receive both the room and the service you expect my recommendation would go to Best Western Inns & Suites who treated us wonderfully and went above and beyond the call at all of our other stops along our vacation route.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happykarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, TX
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2009

This hotel was very clean and the room was clean with comfortable beds. I could have slept all day if it wasn't for the fact that I was on vacation and wanted to see as much of Sedona and the surrounding area as possible. The staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ILuvtotravel48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
283 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 346 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2009

Spent a night here with a friend while in Sedona - our room (#112) was clean, comfortable and extremely quiet. We had a hard time finding the hotel, but it's in a great location, away from the hustle and bustle of Uptown Sedona, and not far from a grocery store and bottle shop.

Typical Hampton breakfast (which I like) and friendly helpful service.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melnq8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2009

We selected this hotel because we wanted to earn Hilton points and we knew what we were getting with a Hampton Inn. In actuality the room itself was one of the nicer Hampton Inn rooms we have stayed in in recent years. Another reason for this choice was for the free breakfast, which is your basic hotel free breakfast but was enough to keep us full until lunch and helped us save some money. The location was great and I would not hesitate to stay here in the future.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlottehokie00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona
1.4 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
1.3 mi away
Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
1.5 mi away
Southwest Inn at Sedona
Southwest Inn at Sedona
#29 of 48 in Sedona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Sedona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Sedona

Property: Hampton Inn Sedona
Address: 1800 West Highway 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Sedona
#25 Family Hotel in Sedona
#26 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Sedona 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern accommodations and amenities; southwestern decor and ambience.Outdoor enthusiasts will find nearby state parks, national rainforests, swimming areas, and exceptional fishing opportunities. Explore the Red Rocks of Sedona, reserve a Jeep tour, or experience an exciting biplane tour. Other adventures include trail riding, cowboy cookouts, hot air balloon rides, and natural water slides.Enjoy a delicious start to your day with our Sedona hotel’s free hot breakfast, or grab a free Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bag on the go. Work out in our fitness center, cool off in our refreshing outdoor pool, or retire to a comfortable guest room – complete with a 32-inch flat screen TV, free WiFi, and a signature clean and fresh Hampton bed®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Sedona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Sedona Hotel Sedona
Sedona Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing