We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wouldn't go back unless they renovated the place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Los Abrigados Resort and Spa
Ranked #40 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 387 helpful votes
“Wouldn't go back unless they renovated the place!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2005

Stayed here for a week with my husband, 2 toddlers and my mother-in-law. The room was large but run down, upon trying to open a drawer on the armoire the entire front of the drawer came off! The closet doors also came of the tracks constantly. Never got a clear picture on either of the 2 TVs in the room, mostly static! You'll feel like you're on display in the pool as group after group of time share tour reps and their prey gawk at you as they pass by every 2 minutes. It really got rediculous! We were also hounded by daily calls to invite us to attend one of the tours. NO WAY! The childrens pool was small but nice, water was very warm, the kids enjoyed it alot. Got room service the first night, food arrived quickly, was just OK, pretty pricey. Didn't try the other on property restaurants. Walk to the little art village next door, nice deli type restaurant, one mexican food - great food, horrible service, we attempted to order food "to-go" only to be told by the hostess that they did not do "to-go" orders, we sat in the restaurant and ate with our 2 toddlers, upon leaving we passed the hostess as she was taking a "to-go" order! That's just rude! There's also one higher end restaurant and an ice cream and candy shop. Much older crowd at this resort and in the art village, I wouldn't bring my family back here. Rooms need a serious face-lift! Upon leaving we found a $300 dinner that we did not eat charged to our room, the hotel did remove the charge promptly.

Helpful?
13 Thank partyofour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    335
    192
    116
    103
See reviews for
258
410
35
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2005

My wife and I stayed at the resort in February 2005. We had a wonderful time. It's a beautiful resort situated in a great location. The resort has all the amenities possible. The service was friendly. The concierge was very helpful in arranging a one-day tour to the Grand Canyon. We were renters and not time share owners, and we were never pestered to buy a time share or to take the sales pitch tour. We have no complaints and would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank AJS90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2005

I booked a deep tissue massage at the Log Abrigados Spa and the staff was just awful. The receptionist was very curt and rude and when I was finally escorted to the locker room (after waiting around for someone to help me), there were no towels in sight. I had to run back to the front desk to ask about this.

The massage therapist was just awful. Clearly inexperienced and awkward. I am a seasoned spa-goer and was really disappointed with this place. Even after repeatedly providing the masseur with feedback and specific directions, he continued to make me feel like I was being run over by a steam-roller truck. Oh, and then when I complained to the spa manager, her only response was, "well, thank you for your comments". I even tried to contact upper management about my awful experience but they never even had the decency to reply.

I paid $80 for this abuse. What a ripoff. But I did try the Fango Day spa a few days later and the deep tissue massage there was AMAZING - one of the best ever.

Stayed January 2004
Helpful?
11 Thank WestchesterMomof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sedona hotels

Commack, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2005

While it is true that the rooms (at least the RCI trader rooms) in this resort do have furnishings in need of updating, do not let that minor point keep you away from this establishment. This resort is very nice, with beautiful common areas and grounds, very nice and helpful staff, three excellent on site restaurants, large heated outdoor pools (we were swimming in the 90 degree pool in February), a nice hottub, tennis, sports courts, etc, etc. It has a perfect central location, and directly connected to an architecturely beautiful shopping center that contain interesting shops and more restaurants.

As far as Sedona goes, this is a must-visit place for anyone. It is stunningly unique and beautiful. Here are some must-do things:
1. Make a side trip the grand canyon, driving along the full east and west runs of th south rim. All I can say is, "wow!". Finish you day by viewing the IMAX movie.
2. Take the exciting and scenic two hour Broken Arrow tour with the Pink Jeep company.
3. If you can afford it, take a helicopter trip through Sedona and/or the Grand Canyon.
4. Even if you have no reason to visit Flagstaff, take the incredible 25 mile drive on 89A from Sedona to Flagstaff and back.
5. Take the time to go on as many hikes and possible. Climb to the top of the red rock butes. Make sure to explore in every direction. There is more stunning red rock to explore in Sedona than you can imagine. (Use a good guide book to pick your hikes; some hikes and very short; some are very long.
6. Have lunch at the Enchantment Resort. This pricing resort has a spectacular location.

Have fun!

Helpful?
15 Thank markwatcommack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Oaks, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2005

The resort is great but the whole time they will try to sell you a timeshare. We bought one and now there is never a room available. Beware there is a class action law suit.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Dave1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
Level Contributor
174 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2004

Every year, the Los Abrigados resort in Sedona sponsors this terrific holiday light display. The people who live or stay in the resort compete for a lifetime vacation ownership through ILX Premiere Vacation CLub by winning 1st place for decorating an area of the resort.
We paid $6 each to enter (the proceeds go to a selected charity each year). You walk through the resort and view all the displays. You receive a ballot to vote on your top 5 favorites. This year there were over 40 contestants (and displays)!
It runs from mid November through early January.
A great holiday event!

Helpful?
5 Thank Italophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2004

We arrived at Los Abrigados on Fri., Sept. 24. The staff was courteous, friendly and very efficient as they greeted us. We are first time timeshare owners utilizing the property we purchased earlier in the year. Everything went off without a hitch. The room was clean, all appliances worked, no insects and the staff cleaned our room without any loss of personal property.
Breakfast at the Hitching Post and the Coffee Pot Resturants are highly recommended: good service, great food, plentious portions. The Red Planet Diner has a great family atmosphere, but my preference is the Highway Cafe for lunch.
Judi's Resturant has a wonderful ambience, good prices, great selections for dinner and "must try" desserts.
Plenty of great places nearby to visit: Grand Canyon, Sunset Crater,Meteor Crater, excellent horseback riding tours at Apache stables near the Grand Canyon and Trail Horse Adventure in Sedona. Skydiving in Cottonwood, and ATV tours, be sure to specify a less rugged trail if you're new to ATV riding.
Best buys for Native American jewelry and pottery was on Hwy 89A, North, heading up the Oak Creek Canyon Road, off the side of the road near the Dairy Queen, at an open market.
Dinner at any of the resturants at our resort was good/ staff was very attentive.
Checkout was quick and unevenful. We had a great time and look forward to going back again.

Helpful?
9 Thank outtacontrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
1.9 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
2.9 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
0.3 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#18 of 48 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Southwest Inn at Sedona
Southwest Inn at Sedona
#29 of 48 in Sedona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
2.8 mi away
Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
3.6 mi away
Sedona Summit Resort
Sedona Summit Resort
#20 of 48 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Abrigados Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Abrigados Resort and Spa

Property: Los Abrigados Resort and Spa
Address: 160 Portal Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Abrigados Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury resort and spa in Sedona, Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Los Abrigados Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Abrigados Hotel Sedona
Los Abrigados Resort Spa
Los Abrigados Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing