We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury Secona resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Los Abrigados Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Los Abrigados Resort and Spa
Ranked #40 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Silicon Valley, CA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Luxury Secona resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

My wife and I first stayed here 15 years ago, and liked it enough to buy a timeshare week every other year. Management changed a few times, and is now in the hands of Diamond Resorts International. They seem to be doing a very good job here and elsewhere. They are now part way through refreshing the rooms.

Everything about the resort is top class. Rooms are well equipped and exquisitely furnished. The concierge is very helpful with everything local. The setting along Oak Creek is gorgeous. It's a quiet retreat in the midst of Sedona. The pool (plus a separate kids' pool) is a center of activity during the summer months. Various festivals liven the area at other times of the year. It's now one of my favorite places to stay.

Room Tip: We haven't found a bad one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    330
    188
    114
    102
See reviews for
252
403
35
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

After a long journey from Australia I was exhausted. I had emailed ahead of time requesting somewhere quiet and peaceful. that is exactly what I received. I felt pushed though to sign up for a timeshare session, not impressed with that but spoke about my concerns. Everything was outstanding, the location is perfect easy walking distance to uptown Sedona, many galleries, restaurants on the premises. You can walk up the hill on the right of the resort to get to a store that provides small amenties otherwise you need to get to West Sedona to go to Bashars, check bus timetable as it doesnt run very often or you would need a car to get there. Love this place and look forward to a return stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
4 Thank Kane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

I have owned here for more than 20 years. When it first opened, it was definitely a higher quality resort. Over the years, the quality has diminished and is average in respect to rooms and amenities, although service is still excellent, grounds are very nice, and Oak Creek access is still fantastic. If there is no creekside wedding, go sit on a bench next to the creek and watch the creek and the ducks. The rooms definitely to be remodeled and upgraded. There are dog friendly wings. Very convenient to upscale Tlaquepaque shopping center. Rating it better than average due to grounds and creekside location.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Perú
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

We spent three wonderful days, the staff courteous and willing to walk the extra mile to make us happy. Our only complain is they close the restaurant kitchen at 9 pm so we were left wishing to try the excellent beef on display. The public barbecue facilities are a great idea.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the lobby, walking around May be tricky
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oscar-Becerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, FL
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

I've stayed at Los Abrigados twice, and it is one of my favorite resorts. The grounds are lovely -- flowers, fountains, sculptures everywhere. There's a nice riverside park, a cute 18-hole miniature golf course, tennis courts, two pools, a beautiful clubhouse and great workout facilities. The two-bedroom units basically have two master's, two balconies and a nice-sized living room. The only deficit to some people would be it has just a half kitchen. The furnishings aren't real fancy, but they're comfortable. There are so many activities for weeklong guests. There is always something to do, from water aerobics to arts & crafts to trivia contests to lecturers. The pool bar is great with excellent lunch fare and tasty drinks. There are good views of the red rocks from some parts of the pool area and the second-floor exercise bike area overlooking the pool. Only other negative is some parents bring their kids to the adult pool rather than going to the (large) kids pool. Fabulous location near downtown with a first-class, artsy shopping area next door. Lots of restaurants within walking distance. I will be going back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JudyM00re
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond R, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent stay at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa. We will pay attention to the issues raised. The resort is a great getaway for those looking for relaxation and we want to be able to service guests of all ages. With plenty of on-site and nearby activities, guests have opportunities to get some sun by the pool, explore the winding walkways, or visit nearby entertainment and shopping. Thank you again and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
92 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

I screwed up.....I always check TripAdvisors before I book a hotel. This time I didn't and really got stung. You're not told that this is a time-share hotel.....this is important as there is no housekeeping and the amenities in room are very basic. I spent over $300 a night for two nights and was expecting a romantic vacation. Instead, I got a room that was barely better than a cheap, roadside motel. Furniture was cheap....no charm. Bathroom had old corroded brass fixtures and tiny tub/shower. We were told for $300 per night that we would not get any towels, much less housekeeping. The one package of hand soap was wrapped in plastic and difficult to open.

My mistake.....I'll check TripAdvisors regularly to look for honest reviews.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank AZ PAUL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond R, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. We apologize for the perception that you would not receive towels as we stock all rooms with a variety of towels including pool towels for you use. We offer towel exchange as guests request as well as additional housekeeping services. I would hope that this was communicated to you at time of check in, however based on your review, it is apparent that we failed to do so. We are in the process of upgrading all of our rooms completing the first 50 this past February. The upgrades include new carpet, lighting, plumbing fixtures, artwork and a completely new furniture package. Our goal is to have the entire resort complete in the next two years. We do hope you have a chance to visit and enjoy one of the upgraded rooms in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sedona hotels

Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

The resort was beautiful. Tucked away in the middle of Sedona and right on the creek. There were so many activities for the family, for kids and for adults. The staff was always friendly, polite and helpful. Playing outdoor chess with the oversized board was a terrific bonding time for my son and I. The rooms were well sized and comfortable. We had a blast playing in the pools and the kids kept wanting it play mini golf. We are looking forward to our next trip which is already planned here.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank DavidA8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
2.0 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
2.9 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
3.0 mi away
Southwest Inn at Sedona
Southwest Inn at Sedona
#31 of 48 in Sedona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#18 of 48 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
3.6 mi away
Sedona Summit Resort
Sedona Summit Resort
#19 of 48 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Abrigados Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Abrigados Resort and Spa

Property: Los Abrigados Resort and Spa
Address: 160 Portal Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Abrigados Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury resort and spa in Sedona, Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Los Abrigados Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Abrigados Hotel Sedona
Los Abrigados Resort Spa
Los Abrigados Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing