We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired, expensive time-share hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Los Abrigados Resort and Spa
Ranked #41 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Tucson, AZ
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Tired, expensive time-share hotel”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

I screwed up.....I always check TripAdvisors before I book a hotel. This time I didn't and really got stung. You're not told that this is a time-share hotel.....this is important as there is no housekeeping and the amenities in room are very basic. I spent over $300 a night for two nights and was expecting a romantic vacation. Instead, I got a room that was barely better than a cheap, roadside motel. Furniture was cheap....no charm. Bathroom had old corroded brass fixtures and tiny tub/shower. We were told for $300 per night that we would not get any towels, much less housekeeping. The one package of hand soap was wrapped in plastic and difficult to open.

My mistake.....I'll check TripAdvisors regularly to look for honest reviews.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank AZ PAUL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond R, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. We apologize for the perception that you would not receive towels as we stock all rooms with a variety of towels including pool towels for you use. We offer towel exchange as guests request as well as additional housekeeping services. I would hope that this was communicated to you at time of check in, however based on your review, it is apparent that we failed to do so. We are in the process of upgrading all of our rooms completing the first 50 this past February. The upgrades include new carpet, lighting, plumbing fixtures, artwork and a completely new furniture package. Our goal is to have the entire resort complete in the next two years. We do hope you have a chance to visit and enjoy one of the upgraded rooms in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    343
    196
    121
    105
See reviews for
267
427
37
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

The resort was beautiful. Tucked away in the middle of Sedona and right on the creek. There were so many activities for the family, for kids and for adults. The staff was always friendly, polite and helpful. Playing outdoor chess with the oversized board was a terrific bonding time for my son and I. The rooms were well sized and comfortable. We had a blast playing in the pools and the kids kept wanting it play mini golf. We are looking forward to our next trip which is already planned here.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank DavidA8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Bautista, California
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

The grounds of the resort, nestled amongst the red rocks are fantastic, and the views are spectacular. They are renovating the rooms after purchasing the property from previous company who did no updates so some rooms are dated. Ours has yet to receive a face lift but not having granite counter tops and marble tile doesn't make or break my vacation. The room was spacious and comfortable. The kitchen was quite small, but serviceable for a vacation. Not really planning on gourmet cooking while I'm there. Let the staff at one of the many fine restaurants nearby handle that. The pool was great, the spa is very nice. On site grounds down by the creek with minigolf, boccee ball, tennis, chess park, etc is very nice. Be sure to walk over to talapaque (sp?) Plaza, very neat little outdoor shopping area and marketplace. Parking can get tight in the evenings, some suites have reserved parking, and it would be a nice idea to have 1 reserved spot for each. Staff were friendly and Sedona is just amazing. We will be back.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank laker1rn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, d.c.
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

The view of the Red Rocks made up for the somber and dark interiors. Outside was a different story - flowers everywhere took up a great deal of my camera space. The pool was a little cold. It is not a resort to rave about but adequate.

Room Tip: We liked the top tier and center, second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mladabol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

We bought this through a silent auction. It was a donation from someone that has a time share through Diamond Resorts. For what we paid, this is truly a disappointment. The rooms are so tired. We live in Phoenix and wanted to see if this was something we wanted to do every summer. We will keep looking. This is not the place. BTW, we were told we would have a 2 bedroom suite. We for some reason got a one bedroom. We are booked for a week and truthfully, I don't know that we will stay the entire time.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Mulan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
We appreciate the time you took to share your experience and regret that we that we didn’t meet your expectations. Normally, we receive compliments on the resort experience we offer. Although you never get a second chance to make a first impression, we hope that you would be willing to give us another chance to make a better impression on you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sedona hotels

Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Very friendly and helpful staff the .All the staff had a welcoming smile and gave you full attention ..the grounds are Beautiful the best ive seen in Sedona very green lots of flowers.the pictures do not do it justice.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank alejandro f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We r currently staying at Los Abrigados. You never know what you are going to get at a Diamond Resort. Well this one is not up to a Motel 6 standard.
Rooms r old with cracked bathroom sink. Towels r old and dingy. Even looked at a so called refurbished room . Updated couch and light. Still has old dirty looking tile floors throughout . No door from carpeted bedroom to bathroom sink area. Door to living area from bedroom didn't close . Kitchen area is a joke. No counter top area to prepare anything. Counter top electric toaster oven is their idea of an oven. And this was the best of 3 rooms that I looked at. The
staff at the resort very pleasant. Outside grounds very nice. If they spent some money on the rooms it could be a lovely resort. Won't be back till they do. I am worried about my next Diamond vacation location.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mokm159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for submitting your comments regarding your recent stay. We deeply apologize for the multiple difficulties you encountered during your visit. Please know these issues are definitely not how we aspire to host any of our guests. We hope to have the chance to communicate with further not only to gain a clearer understanding, but also to attempt to remedy the challenges you experienced. We appreciate your feedback and will strive to make the proper solutions internally to prevent similar situations from affecting future guests’ stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
1.9 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#20 of 48 in Sedona
1,196 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
2.9 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Abrigados Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Abrigados Resort and Spa

Property: Los Abrigados Resort and Spa
Address: 160 Portal Ln, Sedona, AZ 86336-6149
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Abrigados Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury resort and spa in Sedona, Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Los Abrigados Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Abrigados Hotel Sedona
Los Abrigados Resort Spa
Los Abrigados Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing