We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Resort on the Rebound”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Los Abrigados Resort and Spa
Ranked #42 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Reviewed May 7, 2014

There are a lot of bad reviews for this resort they are the result of the previous poor management and maintenance of the property. A new management company has taken over and the property has improved significantly over the last 18 months. If I were trying to make a decision on staying here, I would limit myself to reviews written during the last 12 months as they will more accurately describe the current condition of the property.

LOCATION: Great location next to an upscale shopping and dining area and very close to the central core of the town. There are several good restaurants located within easy walking distance. The resort is set back from the main road making it private and very quiet. A creek runs along the back side of the property providing a nice outdoor retreat area with many large mature shade trees. This is a very pretty area and a nice place for a walk along the creek.

GROUNDS: The grounds are beautiful with many mature shade trees and well manicured landscaping throughout. It was evident that a lot of care was taken to maintain the landscaping and the hardscape. There are several BBQ grill areas throughout the property with good quality and very clean stainless steel grills.

ARCHITECTURE: Great bones! The Spanish style architecture was beautiful with details that added to the appeal. The common areas were beautifully done and in excellent condition. Visually this resort was much more impressive than other newer resorts we saw in Sedona.

AMENITIES/ACTIVITIES: The main pool & spa was expanded and completely rebuilt in 2013 and includes an attractive beverage and snack bar. It is large and nicely done with an adequate number of new chaise lounges in both sun and shade areas. The spa was the largest I have ever seen and the temperature was just right. The smaller pool was closed for maintenance during our stay. It is not as nice as the main pool, but would be a good pool for children. The resort offers lots of activities for guests including miniature golf, DVD's, books, on-site mini theater with current movies, board games, ping-pong, etc. A full Luxury Spa is located on property and offers a wide range of services that one would expect at an upscale resort.

UNIT INTERIORS: This is where the resort falls short. The management is restoring and upgrading the interiors in stages. Our unit had new draperies, furniture, paint, wall art, bedding, lighting, and carpet. The units are functional but are somewhat dull and lifeless and just don't have that coordinated upscale look. If you are looking for a Marriott or Westin interior, you won't find it here. The bed was comfortable but the other furnishings were only semi-comfortable. The bathroom and kitchen were not yet upgraded and it showed with outdated and well worn plastic countertops and outdated fixtures. This was smallest kitchen I have ever seen. It was u-shaped with 7'x7' dimensions and that included the cabinets. The open floor space was 3'x4'. There was ZERO space in the cabinets for food storage, not one square foot. We had to store food items on top of the microwave and the dining table. It definitely was a 1 person kitchen where you can stand in the middle and use the sink and every appliance without taking a single step. This kitchen was a design deficiency when the resort was built and the management has done the best it can by outfitting it with key appliances in miniature size. Tiny microwave oven bolted on top of a 3/4 size refrigerator next to a small sink adjacent to a tiny countertop toaster oven which is next to a 2 burner electric cooktop. It all works but everything was miniaturized. That being said we found that the kitchen was MUCH better than the little kitchenettes that are found in many resorts including some of the Marriott Vacation Club properties in Hawaii. Bottom line, the kitchen did a decent job with breakfast, lunch, and snacks for a party of two. If you want to prepare a full dinner for 4 you will find it a challenge. The outdoor balconies were spacious and furnished with new upscale chairs and cocktail table. It's a pleasant area to enjoy coffee in the morning and glass of wine in the evening.

STAFF: Excellent, excellent, excellent! The staff was friendly, caring, helpful and very knowledgeable. The concierge desk was very helpful with activity and dining recommendations, brochures, guidance, and reservations. The current management company has done an excellent job in recruiting and training a truly wonderful staff. This is what I would have expected at a Ritz Carlton property but was pleasantly surprised to find here.

BOTTOM LINE: Would we stay here again, absolutely. The location, staff, grounds, amenities, pool, and architecture make this a winner. The unit interiors are somewhat lacking but more improvements are coming along, just don't expect a full size kitchen. This is a good resort for families as well as couples and Sedona is a fun place to vacation.

Room Tip: None of the buildings offered great views or privacy. I advise against rooms that are near the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,065)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

529 - 535 of 1,065 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2014

After reading all the bad reviews on here, I was skeptical of staying here. But we were staying in a timeshare courtesy of my parents, so we went with fingers crossed. It was fantastic! I don't understand any of the bad reviews I read. The place was clean (except for the floor - see below) and the grounds beautiful. No one bothered us with a timeshare sales push at all. It was a very relaxing stay. The kitchen is very small and the layout difficult to work with, but we were happy to have a kitchen at all, instead of eating out all the time. Grills are available for use outside too. We stayed in a 1 BR. The pullout couch in the living room was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept on. The kids pool was closed for repair while we were there, and that was disappointing, but these things happen. The other pool and hot tub was still open. The kids loved the mini-putt and the giant chess board. There is also a small playground. We were there at Easter, and went to their egg hunt. The kids had fun. The only compliant I had was that their floors need better cleaning. A previous reviewer wasn't kidding when he said his kids socks were black. We all kept our shoes on. The rugs need a good shampooing and each unit should have a mop to mop the tile floors. The maid only comes once a week and I would have liked to clean my floors more often than that. Overall, it was a good stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

This is a great resort - close to everything! Our room was recently renovated. Our complex had it's own swimming pool. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Loved the workout area, with a covered porch attached to it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennifersRoundTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Visited Los Abrigados recently with friends. I found the property to be charming, not outdated as mentioned in other reviews. We stayed as a group of 3 and did not spend much time on the compound but I felt as if there was a lot to offer for someone with an active lifestyle or a family. Variety of restaurants and shops within the community and a very close walk to the central area. I would love to revisit for a calm getaway and enjoy more of the community.

Wifi worked great. Calm and quiet for the entirety of our trip. Not a good place to stay if you want views. As we were not looking for that, all our needs were met and we were more than satisfied with our stay. Parking was a little difficult at times. Large jacuzzi was an added bonus, with a TV within view, added bonus.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KikiJamaicanTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay here at Los Abrigados. We were excited to read that all your needs were met and that you were more than satisfied with your stay. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Be prepared to wait to check-in with somewhat unfriendly personnel. After pre-paying at over $200/night we were slammed with that ridiculous resort fee that we, of course, never took advantage of since we were out exploring beautiful Sedona. The rooms! We were in a studio facing "the creek" of which you couldn't actually see behind the buildings blocking it. OMG...these rooms haven't been painted or recarpeted in 20 yrs! The bed was comfy but the linens & room smell like old, used musty linens. The shabby 2 towels were minimal and we finally found the well hidden Kleenex & trash cans after a good hunt. For the money try Hilton or even Bell Rock Inn. You'll have to drive a bit with those choices but you won't feel robbed like I do!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kimsmith40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We just love the location. Diamond resorts bought this resort a few years who and have updated the rooms nicely and completely built a new main pool that is wonderful. The work out area, spa areas is one of the best that I have scene and the offer many exercise/yoga/stretching classes thrust the week that my wife really enjoyed. You are pressured to attend a timeshare presentation and they did offer a very nice gift for attendance but I would never, never attend a Diamond presentation after together one that we were trapped in when we attended one in March of 2011 (see review). The room we stayed in had recently bee updated but the microwave was on top of the refrigerator which was very difficult for my short spouse to reach. The WiFi is $3 per day and was very poor in our room so I went into the lobby and it was only fair there. The check in/check out was quick and the the staff was great all around the resort.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank albuquerquebigdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your most recent stay here at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa. Based on your review, it looks like you have been here before, and for that, we sincerely appreciate your repeated business. We were excited to hear that you were able to experience the new pool and additional recreational activities offered here. Please be aware that due to proximity to the mountains, most of Sedona experiences intermittent Wi-Fi signals, however, our front desk staff, and Wi-Fi help desk can provide tips on how to maximize your Wi-Fi usage. We can certainly understand your view on attending a presentation, however, we are pleased to announce that there have been changes made to these presentations and how they are presented to our guests, since you last attended one. That being said, these presentations are truly optional for our guests to attend. Your recommendation is also greatly appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again the next time your travels take you to Sedona.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

NEVER again..... for $40.00 per person it was the worst experience ever eating out, instead of prime rib we were served cold top sirloin, hours old cooked bacon, under cooked and cold lamb.They had a few small oysters with a very bland sauce, and shrimp, it was a total rip off and was evidenced by how many people were seated. Just a total ripoff. There were 9 of us and one guest had only a bowel of pasta, not bad for $40.00 bucks, and any alc. drinks were extra. Total bill $406.00. Happy Easter.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank david w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Thank you for taking time to write about your recent experience at our Easter Brunch as we appreciate the feedback. We launched this as our first of many occasional Sunday Brunch offerings at Spoke & Wheel. We appreciate the feedback as we are always looking for ways to improve. There was a good turn-out for that day, about what we had hoped for being our first offering. We were pleased with our first run, although we too noticed areas that we would like to improve upon the next time. We do hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
0.3 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#20 of 48 in Sedona
1,308 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
2.8 mi away
Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Bell Rock Inn
Bell Rock Inn
#29 of 48 in Sedona
592 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sedona Summit Resort
Sedona Summit Resort
#21 of 48 in Sedona
1,823 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Abrigados Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Abrigados Resort and Spa

Address: 160 Portal Ln, Sedona, AZ 86336-6149
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
Price Range: $117 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Abrigados Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury resort and spa in Sedona, Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelPower, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Los Abrigados Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Abrigados Hotel Sedona
Los Abrigados Resort Spa
Los Abrigados Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing