We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced & Outdated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Los Abrigados Resort and Spa
Ranked #40 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Phoenix
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Overpriced & Outdated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

Be prepared to wait to check-in with somewhat unfriendly personnel. After pre-paying at over $200/night we were slammed with that ridiculous resort fee that we, of course, never took advantage of since we were out exploring beautiful Sedona. The rooms! We were in a studio facing "the creek" of which you couldn't actually see behind the buildings blocking it. OMG...these rooms haven't been painted or recarpeted in 20 yrs! The bed was comfy but the linens & room smell like old, used musty linens. The shabby 2 towels were minimal and we finally found the well hidden Kleenex & trash cans after a good hunt. For the money try Hilton or even Bell Rock Inn. You'll have to drive a bit with those choices but you won't feel robbed like I do!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kimsmith40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    334
    192
    116
    103
See reviews for
256
408
35
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

We just love the location. Diamond resorts bought this resort a few years who and have updated the rooms nicely and completely built a new main pool that is wonderful. The work out area, spa areas is one of the best that I have scene and the offer many exercise/yoga/stretching classes thrust the week that my wife really enjoyed. You are pressured to attend a timeshare presentation and they did offer a very nice gift for attendance but I would never, never attend a Diamond presentation after together one that we were trapped in when we attended one in March of 2011 (see review). The room we stayed in had recently bee updated but the microwave was on top of the refrigerator which was very difficult for my short spouse to reach. The WiFi is $3 per day and was very poor in our room so I went into the lobby and it was only fair there. The check in/check out was quick and the the staff was great all around the resort.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albuquerquebigdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your most recent stay here at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa. Based on your review, it looks like you have been here before, and for that, we sincerely appreciate your repeated business. We were excited to hear that you were able to experience the new pool and additional recreational activities offered here. Please be aware that due to proximity to the mountains, most of Sedona experiences intermittent Wi-Fi signals, however, our front desk staff, and Wi-Fi help desk can provide tips on how to maximize your Wi-Fi usage. We can certainly understand your view on attending a presentation, however, we are pleased to announce that there have been changes made to these presentations and how they are presented to our guests, since you last attended one. That being said, these presentations are truly optional for our guests to attend. Your recommendation is also greatly appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again the next time your travels take you to Sedona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

NEVER again..... for $40.00 per person it was the worst experience ever eating out, instead of prime rib we were served cold top sirloin, hours old cooked bacon, under cooked and cold lamb.They had a few small oysters with a very bland sauce, and shrimp, it was a total rip off and was evidenced by how many people were seated. Just a total ripoff. There were 9 of us and one guest had only a bowel of pasta, not bad for $40.00 bucks, and any alc. drinks were extra. Total bill $406.00. Happy Easter.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank david w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for taking time to write about your recent experience at our Easter Brunch as we appreciate the feedback. We launched this as our first of many occasional Sunday Brunch offerings at Spoke & Wheel. We appreciate the feedback as we are always looking for ways to improve. There was a good turn-out for that day, about what we had hoped for being our first offering. We were pleased with our first run, although we too noticed areas that we would like to improve upon the next time. We do hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sedona hotels

Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

My husband and I have stayed here several times on our visits to Sedona. It is in a great location and has always been a great price for what you get. This last time we were here, they have no added "Resort fees" when you check in which I did not know about (not one for reading the fine print so it was my fault) . They were approx $25 a day. The people next to me at the counter raved and ranted until they credited them - I just watched them , then asked the agent if she would credit mine without me yelling and she said even if I did she could not credit them. That was annoying. Anyway - the rooms are nice and pretty clean. (They don't pick up garbage every day, and no maid svc every day if you are only staying 3 nights)
Good points are it is right next to Tilapaque, which is a little artsy area with stores to walk around - where you have to check out the Oak Creek Brewery for lunch, dinner or a snack ! Now they are Awesome!
I am not sure if I would stay again because by the time you add in all the fees, there are better more luxurious places for the price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, Usa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

nice resort, spanish style resort. we stayed in a upgraded room near the restaurant Timo, is a great family place, they have grills, baskethball courts, raquet ball courts, salt water pool and jacuzzi, a little creek is beautiful at nigh. really peacefull! everything is walking distace, restaurants and shops. overall it was a nice experience, the staff is really friendly, loved this i will be back soon.

Room Tip: family resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jmo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

Beautiful location with a very helpful staff.
The surroundings and proximity to downtown were beautiful!
The concierge was especially helpful.
The Monday morning breakfast provided helpful information of activities/side trips in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Sylvia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
We are glad to hear you enjoyed the scenic view from the twenty-two acres of surrounding walkways. The resort is nestled against the foothills of Arizona’s Red Rock Country. It is a great location for outdoor enthusiasts, as well as those just looking to relax by the pool. Our team members are available around the clock to assist with our guests' needs and recommend local activities to keep you busy while staying at Los Abrigados Rest and Spa. Thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

Although booked at The Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort, the property directed us over to their sister diamond resort for one night because of maintenance issues. This gave me the opportunity to review both properties; see my review on the "The Ridge" to compare the two. Los Abrigados, although not nearly as updated as The Ridge, was immaculate and spacious. It offered a nicely sized living/dining area with a small kitchen including a two burner stove top, toaster oven, small microwave, a tiny dishwasher and fridge. However, what really impressed me about the property was the activities provided for the family: two tennis courts, a basketball court, a mini-golf course, bocce ball and a swing set for younger children. A spacious patio surrounds the adult pool and the separate children's pool boasts an umbrella sprinkler. The property borders a river with seating scattered here and there for secluded reading and relaxing. Just a short walk from the back of the property lies a trailhead to the Airport vertex. In just under an hour you can walk from the resort to the top of this spectacular viewpoint, but if this taxes your family members, you can drive nearby to a trailhead that lets you scramble up a shorter path to the top of this scenic point. Overall, although The Ridge's suites surpass the rooms at the Los Abrigados, this resort's facilities, especially those with young families, could persuade you to select this site as the better place to vacation.

Room Tip: Great recreational facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tammy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you so much the lovely review! We would like to note that as we indeed have a refurbishment program scheduled, we are certain that we will tend to any issues there may be in the near future, and so will be able to offer an even more satisfying vacation experience. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
1.9 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
2.9 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
0.3 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#18 of 48 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Southwest Inn at Sedona
Southwest Inn at Sedona
#28 of 48 in Sedona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
2.8 mi away
Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
3.6 mi away
Sedona Summit Resort
Sedona Summit Resort
#20 of 48 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Abrigados Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Abrigados Resort and Spa

Property: Los Abrigados Resort and Spa
Address: 160 Portal Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Abrigados Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury resort and spa in Sedona, Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Los Abrigados Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Abrigados Hotel Sedona
Los Abrigados Resort Spa
Los Abrigados Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing