We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happily surprised, far better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Los Abrigados Resort and Spa
Ranked #43 of 49 Hotels in Sedona
Reviewed March 22, 2014

I had read some of the reviews after booking. I decided to keep an open mind. Well, we had a wonderful time. Our room was not one of the remodeled rooms, but it was well kept, had plenty of space and had a very comfortable bed (building 200). Although our room was right across from the lobby, it was quiet and we were able to park our car right by the room. Nice view of the red rocks from our patio as we enjoyed glasses of Arizona wine. The gym was one of the best we had seen in a resort with lots of equipment and classes. The grounds were beautiful and also had lots to do, like miniature golf, giant chess/checkers, a giant Jacuzzi and a pool you could swim laps in. Plus, the resort had a long list of varied activities each day, ranging from ceramic painting to scientific vortex discussions w/a hiking discussion thrown in for good measure. Along w/using the gym, my husband also had a sport massage in the spa, as we had been given a $15 off coupon at check-in, which motivated him to get a massage. He said it was great. You can't get bored here. As far as the personnel, all were very friendly, accommodating and helpful. Not a snotty one in the bunch. The restaurants on site were a bit slow in delivering the food, but I understand both have been recently changed around and updated, so the kitchen is still working the bugs out (not literally). Our server, though, was very nice and the food did come out tasting very good. The bar personnel were very fun and the sangria was great. The location was close to uptown shopping and eateries, so we walked to dinner to different places each night. Yes, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Have them show you where your room is on the site map. When I saw where they planned to put us (in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay here at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa. We were pleased to read that you had a wonderful time, and that our accommodations, activities, facilities, and customer service all exceeded your expectations. As we are in the middle of an extensive refurbishment project, we expect most of our rooms will be completely refurbished within the next 1-2 years. Your feedback in regard to our onsite restaurant, Steaks and Sticks, is very much appreciated. We will make sure to do what we can to improve our service level. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again the next time your travels take you to Sedona.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,051)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

527 - 533 of 1,051 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2014

My Wife and I just spent a Mid March 2014 Fri, Sat and Sun night at Los Abrigados Resort in Sedona AZ and here are the pros and cons regarding our stay:

Pros:
-Nice central location in Sedona
-Well kept grounds
-Very pleasant and helpful morning front desk female representative

Cons:
-Snotty front desk male rep when we checked in Friday evening.
- Aged worn rooms
- No offering or explanation of sauna, pool or amenities
-No room cleaning service. Even though we stayed 3 nights.
-No towel exchange
-Had to request extra coffee each day for coffee maker in our room
-Additional "amenity" charges of $ 16.00 plus tax per night were not optional. We used no amenities.
- No late night food service or room service

This felt like the nightly accommodations were last down the list and the sale of time shares was at the top of the list.
My wife and I travel often and we visit Sedona yearly. We have stayed at various facilities offering the same quality of service for much less cost. We thought for the price we were paying and through American Express we would experience a magical or at least much more pleasant and high end establishment while being treated well. UNFORTUNATELY we found this to be a high priced low end roadside motel caliber stay.


Sincerely,


Arturo Araujo
Kathleen Watson-Araujo

Room Tip: To choose a good reasonably priced room, Go Elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ArtA1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick K, General Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Thank you for taking time to provide valuable feedback regarding your recent visit to Los Abrigados Resort & Spa. I was disappointed to read about the service you received from the evening Front Desk Agent. We would like to express our sincere apologies for the poor service you received and assure you that we are committed to providing you with our highest level of service. The resort fee we charge, although it may have been unwelcomed by you is considered to be a minimal cost covering the usage of the Sedona Spa Fitness and Activities Center, the Sedona Spa locker rooms which include, steam and sauna, 30+ fitness classes we offer each week (Yoga, Pilates, Zumba etc), mini golf, DVD rental, book exchange and Wi-Fi in our lobby that many past guests have found useful. Nevertheless, we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. We understand that some of our rooms are tired and worn however are actively upgrading rooms as we are able. This year we were able to address several units which have been well received by our guests. We are targeting early next year to complete another set on our way to ensure all units are upgraded. Positive and negative feedback are both taken very seriously as we want to learn and grow from each guest experience. We hope that you would be willing to give us another chance to make a better impression on you in the future and that you will enjoy our enhancements the next time you visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Based on the reviews I have read about this resort, needless to say I was nervous about our arrival. This was the first time that all 3 adult children have been on a trip with us in a long time and I just wanted everyone to be comfortable. We checked in at 3 a.m. and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Going out of their way to mention if anything was unsatisfactory, to please let them know. We had orginally booked a room that was to accomadate 6, but ended up with a room for 4. Ours had a king bed and a pull out couch along with dishes for 4. The bedroom was very large with a bath included. We had room to put a rollway in and the kids were able to share that room. The pull out couch was used by my husband and I. I have to say it was the best pull out couch I have ever slept on. The mattress is obviously new and seems to be made of memory foam. Because the reservation was mixed up, they did not charge for the rollaway. I would agree that the resort is old, but they are clearly in the process of renovating. The new pool is salt water and has a large outdoor hot tub that is new as well. There is also a childrens pool in another location. The workout facility is quite large, I don't believe it is missing anything. The grounds are beautiful and the location is great. They offer a nice choice of activities as well. I can't say enough about the staff. Everyone we met was very gracious and they seemed to go out of their way to be helpful. I cannot speak to the quality of the restaurants on the grounds since we did some of our own cooking. They have a nice grill area set up outside for everyones use. Once they are finished, you probably won't be able to find anything to complain about.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mykidsmom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Thank you for sharing you and your family’s experience here at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa. We were delighted to hear that our Front Desk team provided a very exceptional first impression upon check in. It was concerning to read that your accommodations were not as you had originally booked; however, we were glad to see that it did not have too much, if any, of a negative effect on your stay. Yes, you are correct; we are in the middle of a very extensive refurbishment project to help bring us up to par with our fellow Diamond Resort properties. We hope that you and your family were able to take advantage of the recently completed outdoor salt water pool! Your recommendation and tips are greatly appreciated. We hope to see and your family again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Apparently this restaurant is now under new management and perhaps this was the reason for the rather disastrous meal we had there. On the recommendation of our waitress we ordered the wood fired chicken. It arrived at the table smelling delicious, but when we cut into it it was raw on the inside. They removed it and asked us to reorder from the menu as they couldn't salvage the chicken safely. So we reordered two pizzas and a Caesar salad. The food itself was average. When the bill arrived we were surprised that they actually charged us the full amount for the meal we ate and the only compensation for the unfortunate experience was an offer of a free piece of cheesecake that we could share. They were lucky not to have had a couple of sick customers if we hadn't realized how under cooked the chicken was. We wouldn't eat here again. It was expensive for what we received.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chloe3836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick K, General Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Thank you for the feedback regarding your experience at our Spoke & Wheel restaurant (formerly Steak n Sticks). We have spoken with the chef who was aware of how your meal was served that day. They were in training mode and have since mastered this entrée. In fact it is one of the more popular entrees on the menu. We do apologize for your experience and hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Just got back from Sedona. Loved it there! The scenery was gorgeous and the views spectacular! The resort was central, within walking distance to shops and restaurants. The grounds were nice and a wide variety of activities were offered. The two restaurants on site were fine, but not excellent. The one-bedroom unit we stayed in was partially renovated and nothing fancy. We were expecting better. The towels were rather worn and so were the robes at the spa. The terrace was a good size but not very sunny. Most units face the interior grounds so you do not get views of the red rocks. The pool and whirlpool were nice and open at night as well. The staff was friendly and helpful; check in and out were quick.
I would recommend this resort for families and couples.

Room Tip: Ask for a rennovated suite on second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MaraToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Our stay at Abrigados was very nice. The resort is older, but our room was clean and comfortable and everything worked like it should. Do not expect the 1 BR to be your regular spacious with 2 bathrooms. The units are small with an abbreviated kitchen. They are updating rooms by sections. The location and beautiful grounds make up for any of these shortfalls. That and the onsite restaurant is better than most. Very friendly with a diverse menu. The Tlaquepaque Arts and Crafts Village just next door to the grounds with galleries and shops and restaurants. The outdoor salt pools are easy to get to as is the spa. Any of the area attractions are easy to get to from this resort.

Room Tip: The have newly remodeled rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ScottsdaleFishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We always stay at this resort when we are in Sedona due to the wonderful grounds and creek access. I travel with a service dog and I almost never have an issue here. When we first arrived there was a big issue with the new key system. We had just driven eight hours and just wanted to get in our room. Once we located the room we tried the keys, they did not work. I called the from desk from my cell phone as I am handicapped and could not walk back down to the lobby. We waited a quick 10 minutes for security. He came and yes, indeed, the keys did not work. We waited another 10 minutes in the cold. My husband walked down to the restaurant to make sure they would still be open once we got in the room. The security guard came back with another set of keys, those did not work either. He finally opened the door with his master key but we still did not have keys. He left and went to get more keys. In the meantime I called down to the restaurant to place our to-go order. We were told that the menu in our room was wrong. They would have someone bring us a new one. While we waited now for both keys and a menu I started running the bath on the patio. It was very obscured from view which was very nice. Finally both the new keys and menu arrive, by the same security guard. We finally had keys that worked. We called down to the restaurant and ordered food and then we were told the menu was changing again the next day. Our food arrived pretty quick, by guess who, the same security guard! We gave him a big tip and chowed down. Since the bathtub is huge it took that long to fill it up. I had a wonderful bath under the Sedona stars! The room we were in was a new remodel and greatly improved over the older rooms. The grounds are great, the pool was warm, but I still think the restaurant needs help. This was our 6 stay here and we stay here because of the nice grounds. We did buy a time share package once but the rules were so strict we never got a chance to use what we had bought , very disappointing. One other thing, there are no room darkening curtains, just sheer. Anyone walking by the bedroom could look in and the sun came in. Being handicapped I find getting around anywhere but the main grounds and floor very very hard

Room Tip: get a remodeled room on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenandike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
1.9 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#19 of 49 in Sedona
1,289 reviews
5.2 mi away
Bell Rock Inn
Bell Rock Inn
#30 of 49 in Sedona
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
5 mi away
Wildflower Inn at BellRock
3.6 mi away
Sedona Summit Resort
Sedona Summit Resort
#21 of 49 in Sedona
1,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Abrigados Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Abrigados Resort and Spa

Address: 160 Portal Ln, Sedona, AZ 86336-6149
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
Price Range: $95 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Abrigados Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury resort and spa in Sedona, Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Los Abrigados Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Abrigados Hotel Sedona
Los Abrigados Resort Spa
Los Abrigados Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing