We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Obnoxious!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Los Abrigados Resort and Spa
Ranked #40 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Being business owners My wife and I love going to the Sedona area for relaxation and hiking. We have visited this area a half dozen times in the past and this was our first stay at this resort.

We have a time share in a different location and swap through Interval International. The concierge desk could not get it in their head, that we were not interested in buying another timeshare. They called every morning trying to entice us with one offer or another and "free gifts" to sit through their 1-1/2 hr spiel even after we made it abundantly clear as possible that we were not interested. I finally had to dis-connect both phones so that we could relax without being interrupted.

The resort seems to be older, but our room was clean and comfortable and everything worked like it should. The one complaint I have for the room was that there are only sheer curtains and no solid curtains to keep the outside lights from shining in during the night and I like a dark room for sleeping.

We did not use any of the resort facilities, so I can't comment on that aspect of the place. There was some construction going on but it did not bother us in any way. I noticed that they seem to have the standard amenities that other places have, laundry, tennis courts and pool.

As a base of operations, this place worked fine for us other than the constant sales hassle.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

We are very sorry and equally disappointed to learn that you were not entirely satisfied with your stay here at Los Abrigados. We regret to learn that you were somewhat disappointed with your first contact with our sales team. We assure you that we do not advocate hard sales approach as we feel that there is no need for one. We would like to apologise to you should you feel that you have been contacted excessively. We will of course take your comments on board. we hope that we may have another opportunity to see you coming back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,018)
There are newer reviews for Los Abrigados Resort and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

502 - 508 of 1,018 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2014

I did not stay at the resort, but did attend the spa for a one hour hot rocks massage ( by Mark) that I received as a gift, which was truly wonderful and relaxing. I am rating this 4 rather than 5 stars, because I would probably not personally afford/spend more than $80 for a one hour massage. That said, it was a great gift, Mark was excellent, and I enjoyed it verrry much. I felt like I was floating on air when I left. Thank you, Mark!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Elliston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Thank you, we are pleased that you enjoyed the use of our SPA facilities and we hope that we will have the pleasure to host you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed there for 3 nights, and had a horrible stay.

The place is short on parking, is inaccessible (if you have to carry your luggage), the front desk is understaffed, we were booked in the room that they knew had a broken air conditioning, and the phone operator was out to lunch (and would not answer reception phone, so we had . As a result, the check-in process took nearly 3 hours, and set the mood for our entire stay.

The room was large but beyond outdated (though the bed was OK). The "full kitchen" was a joke - the fridge was miniscule, no counter space, and dishes and cutlery were stored under the TV. The living room furniture was old, tired, and dirty (with stains). The bathroom was old, and had dirty towels in the cabinet under the sink.

In a regular hotel you could complain to the manager and get some sort of a compensation for the ruined holiday. This is a timeshare resort, and there is nobody to complain to. After writing down our issues, we were promised a call from a "regional manager", but as of 5 month later we still have not received neither apology nor compensation for the ruined weekend.

I would not stay there again, and would be wary of other Diamond Resorts' properties.

Room Tip: Try a different resort
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank PickyBizTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are sincerely sorry to hear you were dissatisfied with your experience here at our resort, as it is our goal to provide you with exceptional customer service. That being said, our front desk does offer 24 hour services to best assist with all of our guest’s needs. Our front desk team is always available to address any concerns that you may have regarding your stay and will pass along any feedback you may have to our management team, if requested. Currently, Los Abrigados Resort is undergoing many renovations to ensure we maintain a high standard of quality accommodations. In these renovations, we will be updating the unit furnishings and amenities. Your suggestions are much appreciated and we hope you will be willing to give us another chance to make a better impression on you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We just returned from a week at the Los Abrigados Sedona and left feeling frustrated and lacking, like we went cabin camping instead of staying at a Diamond Resort International (DRI) property. We have stayed a week each at the Ridge On Sedona in Village of Oak Creek ($10/day resort fee), Bell Rock Inn ($10/day fee) and The Summit Resort in West Sedona ($12/day resort fee), and were very impressed and happy with each DRI property. They charge the tacky resort fees because, like the airline fees, simply, they can.

Granted, the resort fees were clearly stated on the Diamond Resort and Interval International websites, which, although tacky like the nickle and dime airline fees, we expected to pay this fee. But with the highest resort fees ($15+$2 tax = $17/each day x 7 days) and the Diamond Resorts International respected name, we expected a nice, clean, relaxing stay for our extra money. No such luck. Only Diamond Resort International Owners get treated to the remodeled units, like our DRI owner friends traveling with us, who were assigned a beautiful, clean remodeled unit directly across from us.

First, if you don't want to be hassled to purchase an owner member timeshare, avoid the "concierge" timeshare solicitors. Remember, nothing is free or only 90 minutes long. Our friends really wanted to do some area activities, but were told each time by the "concierge" that each activity was "sold out", BUT if they would agree to attend a 90 minute presentation, they could get free or discounted tickets to the "sold out" activities. When our friends called each activity company directly, surprise!, not sold out. Hmmm.

When we inquired with the front desk about remodeled units or if the property is pet-friendly (we had no pet, just curious), their answer is first, "Are you owners? or renters?" You get the picture of how things work here. We are with Interval International, so "just renters". We got the saddest look from the staff. Quite an incentive to want to be owners, if only to be treated fair? But I digress.

So, as "just renters", were assigned to a pre-war non-remodeled, old, dirty unit with saggy, tacky 1974 furniture and no laundry machines. Stained burgundy maroon velour sofa and chair that sagged like a beanbag chair with springs that stuck up, so if you sat on it a certain way, you could no longer have kids.

The old 1974 waterbed style fake ornate oak headboards with tacky spotlights above the alcove headboards like a 1970s sexy movie, "Wakka Chikka Wakka Chikka Wow Wow". We never wear our footwear indoors, Hawaiian custom, yet our clean feet and white socks were completely BLACK from the tile floors and dirty old carpeting inside, also like those same old sexy movies Wakka Chikka Wakka Chikka Wow Wow! We wore our rubber flip-flops inside, like camping for the rest of the week. We laughed it all off as upscale "camping and movie making".

Complimentary shampoo, conditioner, bath gel and lotion are the WORST generic brands with an unbelievable sickly sweet chemical smell, not since high school gym class, (with those dang small thin towels). Ugh. Your hair and body will look like dry straw while smelling like chemicals and Bazooka bubble gum. Every shower head has metal sharp points that are designed to deliver needle-like water pick sharp streams of water to help remove a layer of skin and nerve endings, while possibly saying to yourself, "you'll shoot your eye out!" Makes for a quick, painful shower to save the hotel water.

No real kitchenette, just a small microwave, apartment size fridge, and toaster oven on counter with two small burners and NO vent of any kind, so your entire unit reeks of eggs or whatever you cooked. The smoke detectors have been conveniently removed by the hotel, from the main living and kitchen area because of this non vented "kitchen" arrangement to avoid constant alarms. The "kitchenette" sits in the middle of your already small living area. Very poor arrangement that literally only one person can fit in, twirl, and get claustrophobic. Again, we laughed it off as more upscale "camping".

One day, the hotel notified us that new livingroom sofa & chair furniture was arriving (whoopie!) between the hours of 10am and 4pm (six hour window). "Will you be gone during this time?" So we agreed to clean up the livingroom of our things and leave for a day of hiking. When we arrived back at 4pm, nothing was delivered and it was getting dark.

So we all showered and laid down for a quick nap before dinner. Of course, at 430pm, our door opened for furniture delivery with no apology for being late after a generous six hour delivery window. New furniture arrived with pre-stained cushions in several spots, interesting. I would have never accepted stained new furniture delivery myself, but each piece proudly has Diamond Resorts International labels on them. Hmmm.

On midweek housekeeping day, our dishwasher full of dirty dishes, glassware, coffee cups and dirty utensils were all put back in their storage places, unwashed. We couldn't wash our dishes because we didn't have dishwasher detergent, as we were given just one single packet for the whole week. We laughed it off while trying to find all of the obviously dirty food stained dishes in the cupboards and food crusted utensils to go back into the dishwasher again. Who puts away fithy looking dishes back in the cupboards? The same people who clean the unit dirty floors and carpeting. Of course, we were supplied with not a single packet of detergent again.
Still trying to laugh this off as upscale "camping", but no so funny anymore.

We are really rooting for the new transformation and completed remodel of the Los Abrigados Resort back to her original grandeur. The location is central and ideal, but the remodeling hassles, noise of nearby construction, closed portions of the resort, i.e. indoor hot tub out-of-order, outdoor pool gate locks out-of-order forcing you to enter from lobby, Los Ninos Pool closed, furniture being delivered during our stay, and being assigned to a really old and dirty unit were understandable and bearable, but then to be charged the highest resort fees of all the Diamond Resorts International properties in Sedona, was just the icing on a stale cake. Which explains why I felt frustrated over not being able to write a more glowing review, but I hope it helps you make an informed choice.

Room Tip: You must be an Owner of Diamond Resorts International to get a good room, "renters" get wh...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank timmers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

We regret that so many aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations and truly regret how terribly unsatisfactory the experience was for you. We always strive to deliver exceptional hospitality and offer good quality accommodation to each of our guests who stay with us, and it is very concerning to us that we did not meet these expectations. The resort fee we charge, although it may have been unwelcomed by you is considered to be a minimal cost covering the usage of the Sedona Spa Fitness and Activities Center, the Sedona Spa locker rooms which include hot tub, steam and sauna, 30+ fitness classes we offer each week (Yoga, Pilates, Zumba etc), mini golf, DVD rental, book exchange and Wi-Fi in our lobby that many past guests have found useful. Nevertheless, we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. It is a great disappoint to read that you felt you were treated unfairly by team members here. We would like to offer our sincere apologies for any displeasure you may felt and assure you that we are committed to providing you with our highest level of service simply because our Owners, members, and guests equally deserve our very best. We assure you that everyone who walks through our doors is treated fairly and with the upmost respect. It was very concerning to read of your reception experience with our concierge; along with the housekeeping shortcomings you experienced had a negative impact on your stay. What you described is certainly not an acceptable way for our guests to be treated and there is no excuse for this misconduct. As we take all comments seriously, you can rest assured we have begun taking action to improve and provide the exceptional services that our guests have come to expect and deserve. If you felt the conditions of your room were unacceptable our front desk staff and management teams would have been more than happy to see if another room was available that was more preferable, if notified during your stay. We certainly regret that we were not given this opportunity to make your stay more enjoyable. The number of rooms that are designated as pet friendly is limited; as such, their availability is reserved for our interest Owners and Members per our Home Owners Associations privilege agreement Although, you may not have enjoyed them, many past guests of the resort have found our toiletries and bath products to be of high quality. Some guests have even requested information so they can purchase them for their homes; we apologize if this too had a negative impact on your stay. Your feedback is appreciated because it allows us to see what changes we need to make. One of our big upcoming projects is refurbishing many of our rooms over the next two years. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us, even if it wasn’t the best one. Positive and negative feedback are both taken very seriously as we want to learn and grow from each guest experience. We hope that you would be willing to give us another chance to make a better impression on you in the future and that you will enjoy our enhancements the next time you visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

The rooms are nicely equipped and clean. However the furniture is tired. There is a $15/day charge for amenities, whether or not one makes use of them. Major plus is closeness to uptown. Be aware that most businesses are either closed or close early during January. The 'Spa' offers no amenities, e.g., water, coffee, etc. while servicing the client. Rumor is that it is being prepped for sale.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank sckukla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Read reviews and they give a fair assessment of the rooms but I was there with a 3 yr old and this place rocked for kids!

There is an activity room that has tons of stuff for kids to do, puzzles, board games, books, movies, and you can check them out and take back to your room. At check in we got a coloring book and crayons. They also of kid activities at regular intervals.

There is an xbox area also but we didn't use that. There is a playground, the creek has ducks that you can feed, mini golf, giant checkers, bochee, Tennis and other games.

It really was a fun place to for my family near shopping ECT.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mtap14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

The location is great. We requested a unit that would sleep 6. The unit actually had a sofa bed and 2 double beds that were very uncomfortable and worn. We found the sofa uncomfortable, bathroom fan loud and the internet service very poor. A throw rug would have made the hard tile floor more comfortable as well. With no laundry facilities within the units we needed go to a run down out building. We also incurred a per night resort fee for services we did not use. All other resorts we've stayed at had complimentary coffee in the lobbies. This resort does not display a warm friendly feeling. We are owners at Diamond Resorts and are very disturbed at the quality of this resort.

Room Tip: I would advise another resort.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Thank you for your review although we regret to read that you were not fully satisfied with your unit assignment and that your overall impressions of the resort had a negative impact on our stay. We would like to note that we would like nothing more than being able to accommodate all our owners, members and guests in fully refurbished units, yet for practical reasons, until the refurbishment works are completed, regretfully this is not always possible. We assure you that whenever possible our front desk team members will do everything within their power to reassign your guestroom, without having to move another guest when notified. Our premier bedding and linens were specifically designed for our resorts with optimal comfort in mind and are usually very popular with our guests. Please accept our sincere apology for any discomfort you felt with them. We are very sorry to read that you found our resort lacking service in some areas.
This will be addressed with our teams respectively. While we do not have the capacity to provide washer /dryer in units, we are pleased to include laundry facilities on site for your convenience. The resort fee we charge is posted on our website ahead of time. We consider this expense to be a minimal cost covering the usage of the Sedona Spa Fitness Center, which includes use of the Jacuzzi, steam and sauna, the 30+ fitness classes we offer each week (yoga, Pilates, cardio, Zumba etc), complimentary mini golf, complimentary DVD’s and complimentary Wi-Fi in our lobby that guests may find useful. Nevertheless, we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. We look forward to serving you more efficiently in the future and hope we can continue to provide you with awesome Vacations of a Lifetime®.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
1.9 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
2.9 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
0.6 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Bell Rock Inn
Bell Rock Inn
#31 of 48 in Sedona
558 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sedona Summit Resort
Sedona Summit Resort
#22 of 48 in Sedona
1,747 reviews
6.2 mi away
Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Abrigados Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Abrigados Resort and Spa

Address: 160 Portal Ln, Sedona, AZ 86336-6149
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
Price Range: $122 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Abrigados Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury resort and spa in Sedona, Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Los Abrigados Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Abrigados Hotel Sedona
Los Abrigados Resort Spa
Los Abrigados Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing