We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Substandard Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Los Abrigados Resort and Spa
Ranked #40 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Reviewed November 17, 2013

As a hotel it might be OK. As a resort, our experience was terrible. We are time share owners and exchanged a week at our resort for a week at this one. Worst decision we've ever made. The living area in the suite was completely substandard. The furniture didn't match and it looked like it came from a second-hand store. Even though we exchanged in from our resorts and were technically resort guests, they charged us to use the resort facilities. Fortunately we live in Phoenix and could cut our losses. We were scheduled to be there a week, but we left after the first night.

Room Tip: choose a different resort. This is average hotel quality, not resort quality.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Snorkeler1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

It was very concerning to read that our furniture quality, and resort fee, had a negative impact towards your stay. By replacing furniture and ensuring that notification of the resort fee we charge non Club members/Owners is posted on our website, and also notifying our exchange and rental partners to advise their customers, we are making every effort to ensure that our guests are impacted as little as possible by this. We consider the expense to be a minimal cost covering the usage of the Sedona Spa/ Fitness Center and locker room, which includes Jacuzzi, steam and sauna, 30+ fitness classes, mini golf, DVD rental and Wi-Fi in our lobby that guests may find useful. Nevertheless, we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused and hope you will return for another visit again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,018)
There are newer reviews for Los Abrigados Resort and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

518 - 524 of 1,018 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

This is a great location in Sedona right at Talalapaque so within waking distance of several excellent restaurants and shops.
The units are clean and have all you need and there are complimentary laundry facilities for guests.
I had a lovely relaxing facial in the Spa, which I'd recommend if you want to be pampered.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amh2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We unfortunately own one of the time shares here at Los Abrigados, and since Diamond Resorts has taken over nothing has changed except for our yearly maintenance fees. We called to book a reservation about two months ago and of course they were full, unless we wanted to “PAY” for a room.
Well after much discussion we finally were able to get our reservation for a “DELUXE” room that would include a fireplace and hot tub. How nice, when we arrived in our room we found the fireplace, an insert in the wall with a light bulb that made it flicker – no heat on those cold November nights. The hot tub was outside on the porch dirty and in direct line on site from the main access driveway. Both never used. Our one “MAID” service they replaced the towels and bathroom amenities, didn’t wash out the tub witch never drained properly even after they “FIXED” it. They didn’t even sweep the floors. My wife even doubts that they even changed the sheets. When we arrived we were called by the concierge to make sure we came down to her desk for out discount coupons and free gift, I did and the nice young lady told me that to receive them we had to go either to a Time Share sales session. Thanks but no thanks. Sedona is absolutely wonderful but there are far nicer places to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JBMCLNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

It is with deep regret to read that your stay here at Los Abrigados Resort did not meet your expectations. We always strive to deliver exceptional hospitality and offer quality accommodations to each guest that stays with us, and it is very concerning to us that we did not meet these expectations. Reservations booked through your ownership are made available on a first come, first serve basis. Our management company reserves the right to offer their own inventory for rent to offset their maintenance fee costs. In contrast to your comments about nothing being changed here, we have made numerous strides in refurbishing both our accommodations and common areas here at the resort. Since Diamond Resorts has taken over management, we have replaced furniture and flooring, installed new Wi-Fi equipment, painted the exterior, repaired sidewalks and the main pool, and installed new blue ray DVD players in each unit. In addition, for 2014, our Homeowner’s Association (HOA) has approved a Refurbishment project, starting in 2014, in which we will be repairing the tennis courts, improving the lighting in the accommodations, and replacing amenities such as kitchen items. You can find out more by visiting the HOA website from Diamond Resort’s main website. For safety considerations and costs, our HOA made a decision to change the fireplaces for display purposes only. Our guests can still control the temperature via their unit’s thermostat. We are truly sorry that your midweek cleaning was not performed to your expectations. This will be addressed with our housekeeping staff. We are truly confident that, should you choose to stay here again, you will be pleased with the progress that has been made with improving the quality of our accommodations and common areas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Unfortunately this resort was a big disappointment. Not only was the room decor in desperate need of an makeover two of the staff were rude
to us. The bartender at resort ignored us for a while then when we finally asked if we should just sit anywhere he barely acknowledged us; we walked out without ordering.
We should have known this was going to be a bust when we checked in a the front desk person barely acknowledged us and quickly told us that the place was 30 years old so don't expect much including housekeeping. No housekeeping unless you are there for 4 days. I will not go back and will tell my friends and anyone else to skip it. Sedona has too many beautiful options so pass on this and try Amara resort instead.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aliyah1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

It is with deep regret to read that your stay here at Los Abrigados Resort did not meet your expectations. We always strive to provide exceptional hospitality and offer good quality accommodations to each of our guests who stay with us, and it is quite concerning to us that our accommodations, nor our services, did not meet your expectations. As we are primarily a Vacation Ownership resort, mid-stay housekeeping services, which include changing towels, are only provided for those stays that are 5 days in length or longer. This information can be found directly on our management company’s, (Diamond Resorts) website. In addition, we try and relay this information about housekeeping services to our 3rd party rental partners, so that they can advise their customers. We regret hearing that you may not have been made aware of this resort policy before your arrival, and we are truly sorry if this had a negative impact on your stay. Since Diamond Resorts took over Resort Management, we have made significant improvement to our rooms and reception area. Nevertheless, we do realize that some of our rooms and grounds area need further refurbishment. A significant refurbishment project is currently ongoing to update all of our rooms and grounds; however, we cannot provide any specifics as to when this will be completed. If you are willing to give us another chance, we are extremely confident that your next stay will be much more enjoyable and even exceed your expectations. Your business with us is sincerely appreciated and we wish you the best on all your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

The resort is stunning, location is beyond compare and our room is gorgeous. Complete with ambiance fireplace, large outdoor jacuzzi tub, and beautifully appointed rooms.
We were greeted at the door with bottled water and a very pleasant staff. Shortly after getting situated there was a knock at the door and we were delivered a Devine offering of chocolate covered strawberries.
Thrilled beyond words with everything.

Room Tip: We were in room 169 a deluxe suite, at the back of the resort by the pool.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

We are very pleased to read your lovely review and we are thrilled to learn that we have met, if not exceeded, your expectations. We do hope that this is just one of your many future visits to our resort and we are looking forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

The Pros: The location is great, walking distance to shopping and restaurants and nice views from various points in the grounds. The pools looked beautiful and well maintained and the gym is great. The on resort restaurant is very handy and the food and service was decent. The staff was very friendly and helpful. One young woman at the front desk was great for pointing out local and hikes and was very helpful in general. Wifi was good. unit was dated but clean.
Our unit had a nice balcony overlooking the garden. the furniture was a little stiff and uncomfortable. our only real problem was no fault of the resorts but good to know if you are planning on going. we were four adults and were only staying for a short time. we were unable to get a two bedroom so we were all in a one bedroom with a pull out couch. the pull out couch was not comfortable at all. The only bathroom is in the one bedroom so in order to access it you have to walk through the bedroom. Not a problem for one couple or a couple with children but definitely not convenient for two couples.
location is about 2 hours from the Grand Canyon with a very pretty drive on 89A to Flagstaff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VacaAllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Thank you for your kind review, as you may know we are undergoing a refurbishment program and hopefully issues mentioned will not be an issue for much longer. We are glad that you had an overall pleasant stay and hope to see you coming back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

My husband and I just spent six nights at Los Abrigados Resort in Sedona, Arizona. We had a wonderful time. Their location is second to none for walking to restaurants and shops. The staff is extremely helpful with any request that you have. They have a beautiful area on the property down by the creek where you can take a book or a picnic lunch. It was very entertaining to watch the ducks swim and play around there. We played miniature golf on their 18-hole course on the property, which is free for their guests. They also have on property horseshoes, bocce ball and a huge chess game. I did not make use of their spa but did enjoy their pool and hot tub. They also have a restaurant there on the property.

Room Tip: Make sure to request a room with a view of the red rocks.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 688SusanG688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
1.9 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
2.9 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
0.6 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Bell Rock Inn
Bell Rock Inn
#31 of 48 in Sedona
558 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sedona Summit Resort
Sedona Summit Resort
#22 of 48 in Sedona
1,748 reviews
6.2 mi away
Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Abrigados Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Abrigados Resort and Spa

Address: 160 Portal Ln, Sedona, AZ 86336-6149
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
Price Range: $124 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Abrigados Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury resort and spa in Sedona, Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Los Abrigados Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Abrigados Hotel Sedona
Los Abrigados Resort Spa
Los Abrigados Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing