We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in Sedona.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Los Abrigados Resort and Spa
Ranked #41 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Scotland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great location in Sedona.”
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

This is a great location in Sedona right at Talalapaque so within waking distance of several excellent restaurants and shops.
The units are clean and have all you need and there are complimentary laundry facilities for guests.
I had a lovely relaxing facial in the Spa, which I'd recommend if you want to be pampered.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amh2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    340
    194
    120
    104
See reviews for
264
419
36
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manasquan, New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We unfortunately own one of the time shares here at Los Abrigados, and since Diamond Resorts has taken over nothing has changed except for our yearly maintenance fees. We called to book a reservation about two months ago and of course they were full, unless we wanted to “PAY” for a room.
Well after much discussion we finally were able to get our reservation for a “DELUXE” room that would include a fireplace and hot tub. How nice, when we arrived in our room we found the fireplace, an insert in the wall with a light bulb that made it flicker – no heat on those cold November nights. The hot tub was outside on the porch dirty and in direct line on site from the main access driveway. Both never used. Our one “MAID” service they replaced the towels and bathroom amenities, didn’t wash out the tub witch never drained properly even after they “FIXED” it. They didn’t even sweep the floors. My wife even doubts that they even changed the sheets. When we arrived we were called by the concierge to make sure we came down to her desk for out discount coupons and free gift, I did and the nice young lady told me that to receive them we had to go either to a Time Share sales session. Thanks but no thanks. Sedona is absolutely wonderful but there are far nicer places to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JBMCLNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
It is with deep regret to read that your stay here at Los Abrigados Resort did not meet your expectations. We always strive to deliver exceptional hospitality and offer quality accommodations to each guest that stays with us, and it is very concerning to us that we did not meet these expectations. Reservations booked through your ownership are made available on a first come, first serve basis. Our management company reserves the right to offer their own inventory for rent to offset their maintenance fee costs. In contrast to your comments about nothing being changed here, we have made numerous strides in refurbishing both our accommodations and common areas here at the resort. Since Diamond Resorts has taken over management, we have replaced furniture and flooring, installed new Wi-Fi equipment, painted the exterior, repaired sidewalks and the main pool, and installed new blue ray DVD players in each unit. In addition, for 2014, our Homeowner’s Association (HOA) has approved a Refurbishment project, starting in 2014, in which we will be repairing the tennis courts, improving the lighting in the accommodations, and replacing amenities such as kitchen items. You can find out more by visiting the HOA website from Diamond Resort’s main website. For safety considerations and costs, our HOA made a decision to change the fireplaces for display purposes only. Our guests can still control the temperature via their unit’s thermostat. We are truly sorry that your midweek cleaning was not performed to your expectations. This will be addressed with our housekeeping staff. We are truly confident that, should you choose to stay here again, you will be pleased with the progress that has been made with improving the quality of our accommodations and common areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sedona hotels

Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Unfortunately this resort was a big disappointment. Not only was the room decor in desperate need of an makeover two of the staff were rude
to us. The bartender at resort ignored us for a while then when we finally asked if we should just sit anywhere he barely acknowledged us; we walked out without ordering.
We should have known this was going to be a bust when we checked in a the front desk person barely acknowledged us and quickly told us that the place was 30 years old so don't expect much including housekeeping. No housekeeping unless you are there for 4 days. I will not go back and will tell my friends and anyone else to skip it. Sedona has too many beautiful options so pass on this and try Amara resort instead.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aliyah1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
It is with deep regret to read that your stay here at Los Abrigados Resort did not meet your expectations. We always strive to provide exceptional hospitality and offer good quality accommodations to each of our guests who stay with us, and it is quite concerning to us that our accommodations, nor our services, did not meet your expectations. As we are primarily a Vacation Ownership resort, mid-stay housekeeping services, which include changing towels, are only provided for those stays that are 5 days in length or longer. This information can be found directly on our management company’s, (Diamond Resorts) website. In addition, we try and relay this information about housekeeping services to our 3rd party rental partners, so that they can advise their customers. We regret hearing that you may not have been made aware of this resort policy before your arrival, and we are truly sorry if this had a negative impact on your stay. Since Diamond Resorts took over Resort Management, we have made significant improvement to our rooms and reception area. Nevertheless, we do realize that some of our rooms and grounds area need further refurbishment. A significant refurbishment project is currently ongoing to update all of our rooms and grounds; however, we cannot provide any specifics as to when this will be completed. If you are willing to give us another chance, we are extremely confident that your next stay will be much more enjoyable and even exceed your expectations. Your business with us is sincerely appreciated and we wish you the best on all your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

The resort is stunning, location is beyond compare and our room is gorgeous. Complete with ambiance fireplace, large outdoor jacuzzi tub, and beautifully appointed rooms.
We were greeted at the door with bottled water and a very pleasant staff. Shortly after getting situated there was a knock at the door and we were delivered a Devine offering of chocolate covered strawberries.
Thrilled beyond words with everything.

Room Tip: We were in room 169 a deluxe suite, at the back of the resort by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
We are very pleased to read your lovely review and we are thrilled to learn that we have met, if not exceeded, your expectations. We do hope that this is just one of your many future visits to our resort and we are looking forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbury, New Jersey
Level Contributor
359 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

The Pros: The location is great, walking distance to shopping and restaurants and nice views from various points in the grounds. The pools looked beautiful and well maintained and the gym is great. The on resort restaurant is very handy and the food and service was decent. The staff was very friendly and helpful. One young woman at the front desk was great for pointing out local and hikes and was very helpful in general. Wifi was good. unit was dated but clean.
Our unit had a nice balcony overlooking the garden. the furniture was a little stiff and uncomfortable. our only real problem was no fault of the resorts but good to know if you are planning on going. we were four adults and were only staying for a short time. we were unable to get a two bedroom so we were all in a one bedroom with a pull out couch. the pull out couch was not comfortable at all. The only bathroom is in the one bedroom so in order to access it you have to walk through the bedroom. Not a problem for one couple or a couple with children but definitely not convenient for two couples.
location is about 2 hours from the Grand Canyon with a very pretty drive on 89A to Flagstaff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VacaAllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, as you may know we are undergoing a refurbishment program and hopefully issues mentioned will not be an issue for much longer. We are glad that you had an overall pleasant stay and hope to see you coming back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

My husband and I just spent six nights at Los Abrigados Resort in Sedona, Arizona. We had a wonderful time. Their location is second to none for walking to restaurants and shops. The staff is extremely helpful with any request that you have. They have a beautiful area on the property down by the creek where you can take a book or a picnic lunch. It was very entertaining to watch the ducks swim and play around there. We played miniature golf on their 18-hole course on the property, which is free for their guests. They also have on property horseshoes, bocce ball and a huge chess game. I did not make use of their spa but did enjoy their pool and hot tub. They also have a restaurant there on the property.

Room Tip: Make sure to request a room with a view of the red rocks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 688SusanG688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

This was our forth trip to Sedona, Az but our first stay at Los Abrigados, we reserved a 1 bedroom for a weeks stay months in advance but upon arrival were told due to some maintenance on the room it would be 2-3 hour wait but they did allow us to store our perishables in the fridge & freezer since we had stopped at the grocery store on our way thru town, a gentleman was painting some apparent wall repairs and told us he would be 10-min tops seemed to be some communication issues... When we returned after leaving for a few hours there was NO parking spots even remotely close to our building being handicapped this was an issue! after talking to a maintenance man he gave us permission to park in a "no parking" area close to our building but every night if you stayed out past dark you had to cross your fingers and circle.

Room Tip: We stayed in a corner building/room the bar b que, ice machines and self service laundry are dotted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fromnwmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
1.9 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
2.8 mi away
Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
0.3 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#20 of 48 in Sedona
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
2.9 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
5.2 mi away
Bell Rock Inn
Bell Rock Inn
#33 of 48 in Sedona
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Abrigados Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Abrigados Resort and Spa

Property: Los Abrigados Resort and Spa
Address: 160 Portal Ln, Sedona, AZ 86336-6149
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Abrigados Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury resort and spa in Sedona, Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Los Abrigados Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Abrigados Hotel Sedona
Los Abrigados Resort Spa
Los Abrigados Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing