We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much to like, much to wish for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Los Abrigados Resort and Spa
Ranked #42 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Sedona, so the setting is simply magnificent in every direction and this place has much to recommend it: Handsome lay-out, lots of family-friendly activities (two pools when both are open, which evidently isn't all the time, a fun miniature golf course, a kids art park), a couple of tennis courts (when both are available, which evidently isn't all the time) and well-maintained grounds. The creek side area is quiet and very nice and, overall, the property is lovely. A bar with quality pool tables (no quarters required!), an activities center and walking distance to "Old Town" Sedona and some decent restaurants. The gas bbqs in the common patio area are a nice touch and work well. That's all good.
On the other hand, as others have also noted, the property seems to be in a permanent state of work in progress and the staff during our stay were indifferent and/or unimaginative (a couple with attitude, no less). Little touches which would add some class and style, like a well equipped kitchen (a dishwasher without detergent? no wine bottle opener? dish towels but not place mats?) would make a lot of difference.
And be prepared: the property is a time share, so when you check in during normal day time hours you're going to get pressed (pressed hard in our case) to buy. In our case, a polite decline generated a more aggressive sell -- tacky.
Stay here by all means, but be prepared for a host of small disappointments which may take the edge off the visit.

Room Tip: Ask about sidewalks and/or facilities under construction and it may be smart to see the room before...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dmh45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments about the our location and tha resort's attractions, however we are naturally disappointed that you were not entirely happy with the room appointment and the service provided by our team. We would like to assure you that we strive to offer all our guest a great, memorable time here with us and so we apologize if our team members did not provide better customer service on this occasion and would like to assure you that any you have mentioned will be addressed. Should you decide to give us another chance, we are confident that your next stay will be much more enjoyable. We wish you the best on all your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,038)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

560 - 566 of 1,038 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2013

I had high hopes for the new ownership, especially once they finished the pool area. But it was disappointing to try enjoying an afternoon at the pool because not only have they closed pool food service, but there is no restaurant or room service at the resort until after 4PM!! You have to go off-property or go hungry -- this is supposed to be a resort? Also, the pool construction was very sloppy -- there was a layer of grit everywhere I went inside the Spa and while I was swimming in the very overheated pool, just a gentle breeze sent grit flying into my face. And seriously, a cheap scale that's 20-lbs. off? I expect more from a Hotelier like Diamond Resorts.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank redrocker88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We regret that you were unable to locate our pool area concierge as our poolside service remains open until next month. We recommend always contacting the front desk when a situation like this occurs because we can address it immediately and have a team member at your service. Steak & Sticks, our popular sports bar and eatery serves its full menu beginning at 11am until 9pm and is open daily. There are other restaurants on property which are open even later for your convenience as well. We hope this gives you some piece of mind for future stays.
As we have recently completed construction in our pool area, we apologize for our dust. Our maintenance teams have addressed this immediately. We assure you that our hot tub's heater elements, and thermostat, are balanced to a safe and comfortable level. We sincerely apologize for any discomfort you felt in it. We hope that you choose to stay with us again for the true Diamond experience of “Relaxation…simplified.”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Fantastic place was sorry to leave and would love to go again
Arrived after midnight 9th the girl in reception was very nice, the resort is well set out like village
The facilities are good, had breakfast in the garden Cafe which was very nice with friendly staff and the food is good . The new pool is finished and is fab , the out door jacuzzis is excellent
The spa is poor run down and outdated , they need to look at how spas operate these days , having separate men and women is not done now, people tend to wear swimming costumes and mix . The on site shop sells holiday clothes and souveneers , it would be better if it was a small grocery shop selling basic provisions travelers tend to need coffee tea etc you have to go into town to get these.the weather was very rainy with thunder ad lightening but we still managed to do lots , pink jeep tours and a trip to the Grand Canyon . The area is beatiful and Sedona is a nice town

Room Tip: Best to choose the spring to visit for temperature and nice weather
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thank you for sharing your review, we are very sorry to read that you found our resort lacking in some areas. We are pleased to advise we will have several major refurbishment projects under way in the upcoming year to continue our commitment to making appropriate enhancements to the resort and resort plans. Thank you for the compliment on our new pool, as we are very proud of it! We like would like to welcome you back to our resort in the future and hope you will enjoy our enhancements the next time you visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

THe hotel was lovely, Most of the staff were great. There is a lot of remodleing being done and the grounds My first room was at the back of the property, with no way to access the room without walking around the property. When I went back to the desk, the staff had changed and the gentleman by the name of Paul was rude, condescending and sarcastic. Making excuses as to why he had inconvenience himself to help me find another room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marciel14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

As our valued guest, your satisfaction is one of our primary concerns and we are truly disappointed to read that we missed the mark on meeting your expectations for your stay. We would like to assure you that the impression you had after your recent visit to our property is not what we strive to offer our guests and we sincerely apologize for any displeasure you may have experienced with your guest room assignment. The level of customer service you received from our front desk team member is not typical of what we expect. This will be addressed internally. We hope you are willing to give us a second chance and stay at our resort again. Your business with us is sincerely appreciated and we wish you the best on all your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

You can not beat the location. You can walk to downtown, you can walk to trail heads. The park by the river is pleasant, the place has lots of amenities, the work on updating units is slowly ongoing. I would stay here again. On the negative side the only place for Internet now is the lobby I was told this should change by end of the year, The resort fee should not be! And do you really need 15 speed bumps.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DWOBOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

There are quite a variety of reviews of this property on TA. This is my experience for a 3 night girl's trip to Sedona. The location is simply unbeatable.

We were in room A, room 245. Nice view of the red rocks for which we were grateful. And the balcony was a nice way to start or end the day. The fountain in the small courtyard was not working and we noticed all the rest seem to be functional. But the views -- ah.

Totally accurate - no wireless really at all. Our room was clean - I'd give it almost spotless. And with the exception of the bathroom cabinets which looked a little old, we did not find it to be outdated at all - quite surprised based on the reviews.

Carpets, counters, floors - all were clean. No dirt around the edges. There was a bit of stale odor when first entering and turning the AC fan on took care of it. One corner tile in the bathroom cracked a bit. A little old grout around the tub but we were all more than satisfied. The sink is outside of the toilet and tub, making for a nice vacation bathroom. And the shower had what may be the best water pressure I've experience in any hotel 5 star or otherwise!

The bedroom was large - almost huge. There were two double or queen beds as this was a family suite. Probably 2 to 3 times that in floor space. The dining table was modern. Kitchen doesn't have loads of counter space but certainly adequate for a short trip.

We found the lobby bright and because we were on a girls trip without spouses, we weren't pursued for the sales tour. Fine by us! (My husband and I are Diamond Resort owners.)

We did experience a parking problem one night. While irritating, we found parking in front of the main building to be plentiful and it was not too bad a walk. The resort should figure a better or different way to manage parking. That was the one thing the front desk was not helpful with upon check-in. However they did extend our checkout to 11 a.m.

Personally would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank libba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Where to start, lobby is run down....nasty carpet and only location on property that has internet. Our room was in Building V (back side of the property were the workers were parking) very dark, furniture very dated, drapery was torn, shower door track was gross, room had dark carpet hard to tell how dirty it was, a/c unit only cooled if set at 70 or below/fan ran the whole time we there....sometimes the sink in the kitchen would drain and other times the water just sat there, refrigerator also had issues, freezer dripped into refrigerator water ran under bottom drawer, used 1/2 of roll of paper towels to clean up, light above vanity flickered sometimes, reported to front desk, maintenance was sent however claimed that they could not find the flickering light, told clerk at front desk actually which light it was, had ice cube trays but no container to dump cubes into, fortunately ice machine was located near front door, dishwasher seemed to clean dishes okay however hard to get the racks to pull out. Living room tables were old, stained and all different styles. Extra towels were stored under the vanity on exposed wood, Steps everywhere, no ramps for disabled or over weight people that have issues with steps. Did use the spa and had a very nice treatment, women's locker seemed to have recently been updated. Had been recommended by a Diamond Resort member to speak with a certain Sales person, Concierge desk and Sales Office staff are disconnected, we showed up for our time and sales person was already booked, was able to briefly speak with him, rescheduled per reps schedule; showed up the second and was told again he would not be available, he requested we reschedule, informed him that we had already rearranged our day trips and considering the condition of the room would not be interested in purchasing any type of membership....the only come back he had was to offer a tour a 2 bedroom newly updated suite, told him why would I want to see that and then go back to the crappy room we had....The saltwater pool had been reopened on 8/31 and was very nice, however the kids pool was then closed and the kids were in the saltwater pool. Seminar on vortexes in the area was interesting. Also worst toilet paper ever....room is only serviced once during 7 day stay.....

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JMW2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

It is with deep regret to read that your stay here at Los Abrigados Resort did not meet your expectations. We always strive to deliver exceptional hospitality, and offer quality accommodations at an affordable cost to each guest that stays with us, and we were very concerned after reading your review in that we did not meet these goals in your opinion. Our resort is 100% compliant with all ADA rules and regulations for those who need assistance in getting to their units. As we have recently change management companies, we are aware that some of our units have not been refurbished in quite some time. We are in the middle of an extensive refurbishment project in which the end goal to make sure each and every room have been refurbished to meet the standards that our guests come to expect from a Diamond Resort’s managed property. It is with great regret to hear that your room was not properly cleaned and checked for maintenance issues before your arrival. We will make sure this is addressed with our housekeeping and maintenance staffs. In addition, the discord you mention with our Concierge desk and sales staff is not typical of these team members. This will be addressed immediately. As we are primarily a Vacation Ownership property, housekeeping services are provided on a weekly basis. This information, along with additional services and amenities, is relayed to our 3rd party rental partners, so that they can advise their customers. Your business with us is sincerely appreciated and we wish you the best on all your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
1.9 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#21 of 48 in Sedona
1,272 reviews
2.8 mi away
Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Bell Rock Inn
Bell Rock Inn
#32 of 48 in Sedona
577 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sedona Summit Resort
Sedona Summit Resort
#22 of 48 in Sedona
1,787 reviews
1.3 mi away
Poco Diablo Resort
Poco Diablo Resort
#18 of 48 in Sedona
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Abrigados Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Abrigados Resort and Spa

Address: 160 Portal Ln, Sedona, AZ 86336-6149
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
Price Range: $104 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Abrigados Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury resort and spa in Sedona, Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Los Abrigados Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Abrigados Hotel Sedona
Los Abrigados Resort Spa
Los Abrigados Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing