We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Outside.. Not So Much Inside”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Los Abrigados Resort and Spa
Ranked #40 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Outside.. Not So Much Inside”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed at the Los Abrigados on a recent visit to Sedona, AZ. At first glance, when we first pulled into the parking lot I thought I was going to really love this place. It seemed pristine with beautiful trees / plants everywhere in a real tranquil setting. Unfortunately we were disappointed once we got inside and began our experience. First, the woman working at the front desk had no idea what was going on with anything in general. We got there at about 1p.m. and were told our room was not ready which was completely fine, so we asked if we could get a bite to eat somewhere. She referred us to a restaurant next door which was attached to the property telling us what great brick oven pizzas they had. When we got there the place was completely dead and were told that the pizza is actually not served until after 5p.m. We then went to wonder around a bit on our own and right on the other side of the parking lot of the property we found a beautiful little restaurant / brewery and had a great meal. ( Not sure why the woman didn’t send us there). Next, we had booked a Jeep Tour through the red rock mountains and came back to ask the same front desk person if she could tell us how far away it was from our hotel. She told us she had never heard of this Jeep company and had no idea where they were. When we called the Jeep company they told us they were literally almost on premise of our hotel and that you could literally see their stand from the front door of the property. After returning from our tour our room was finally ready but just as a note, a bunch of the rooms are on the 2nd floor and if you have any luggage you have to log it up a big flight of stairs. We saw a few elderly ladies really struggling with this… luckily my very nice husband helped them out :) Once we got to our room it was just okay. Everything seemed a bit old. Another note is that housekeeping put everything such as waste basket, hair dryer, cups, etc… into the back of the closet that’s in the room so when we first got there we actually thought we were missing all of these items as they’re usually out and available for the guests in the expected locations. We also paid a resort fee upon check in but the night we were there the property was under renovation and the pool / deck was closed. We were told we still had access to the hot tub that was next to our room which we were very excited about especially after a day of hiking and exploring. Unfortunately our excitement quickly ended when we walked up to the hot tub to see that the whole tub was covered in rust and some kind of black spots. We actually took a picture of it that I will be posting for travelers to see. Upon check out we asked to please be refunded the resort fee as it was unreasonable considering the circumstances to be charged one. At least at this point they were understanding and did give back the refund. As mentioned I really did want to like the property, the outside of it was beautifully manicured and was really tranquil but the rest of it just didn’t score so high..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Natalia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
As we are committed to creating an experience that exceeds guest satisfaction, your feedback was most concerning to us .Our team members strive to be completely knowledgeable in all resort areas so they may directly assist you with all questions before, during and after you have enjoyed your stay here. We appreciate your patience with us as we continue to improve in this area. It is always our goal that it will be our team members that make all the difference in your stays here. We are truly sorry to hear that the hair dryer was misplaced in the utility closet, it should have been found under the bathroom sink for your convenience. This omission will be addressed with our housekeeping staff internally. Prior to arrival, our team attempted to contact all guests arriving to inform them about the pool/deck closures. Thank you for accepting our sincere apology if you did not receive prior notification. We hope that you had an overall pleasant stay here with us and we hope to have an opportunity to be of service to you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    338
    193
    118
    103
See reviews for
262
414
36
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Los Abrigados for the first time in June 2013.
We can't wait to come back.

We were very concerned about booking at Los Abrigados due to the negative posts here.
All I can say is that our experience was nothing like those posters.

The resort has a complete gym/spa/classes and is in a perfect location in Sedona.
The grounds are "to die" for. There is even a creek running through the property.

Our one bedroom unit had a new completely equiped kitchen.

The only "minus" for me was the lack of wireless in the room.
But I carry my own hotspot, so I was not inconvenienced by this - and it was disclosed in advance.

There are some more expensive, more up-scale resorts in Sedona, but there are none as well located as Los Abrigados.

Room Tip: I liked being on the second floor with the private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msmegabyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I was there the last week of May and had a wonderful time. The resort is going through changes as it has recently been purchased by Diamond Resorts, though it still looked immaculate. The staff were incredible, and I spent many evenings at the resort bar "Steaks and Sticks" and the bar staff was great. Deb was a fantastic bartender and when it got busy she was anble to step it up as well as maintain her friendly persona. Tami was a lot of fun, too and those two, along with the rest of the staff made my trip more memorable...and I have stayed there many times as I am an owner. You can already see difference from when it was ILX and if staff are anything to go by, its only gonna get better =P.

Room Tip: any room with balcony and view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed a full week May 25-June 1 In a one bed room suite. Our room was
on the second floor with a nice balcony fitting a table and two chairs. Our suite was spacious and clean. The bedroom was large and had plenty of storage for our clothes. Kingsize bed was very comfortable. It would be nice to have the rooms updated but they were fine. We encountered staff all week from the front desk to housekeeping and ground keepers, all we very friendly and accommodating. We had guests staying on the pull out couch and they slept well. When we arrived we requested extra towels and they were brought to our room promptly. We had a mid week cleaning as this is what they do in timeshares.We used the smaller pool ( which was large) because the larger pool was under renovations.It was very nice. They even came around from the resturant to take orders for food or cocktails, nice touch. We played miniature golf and attended an evening event on Indian flutes and music which we enjoyed. Overall we had a great time at a nice resort in a super location inSedona.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank PeggyNewEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

I travel frequently, over 80 nights in past year and I cannot remember as bad an experience as this in the past ten years. Room should have been torn down and rebuilt. Our traveling companions KEYS OPENED OUR DOOR. Light shined through the door all night and could not be turned off or blocked out. Windows and patio dirty. No safe as promised or tissue. Coffee pot would not reach an outlet from where it was positioned and had to be put onto the floor. Didn't matter since it didn't work anyway. Check in experience poor and misleading...promised a ground floor room but was on second floor. Our friends room was even worse and had no water at all for most of the morning. No manager on duty, supposedly to come in at 10:00 and was to call us to discuss. Naturally no call came. Book a "studio" room here and you will be sorry.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
We are deeply sorry and very concerned to read your review and would like to apologise for any inconvenience you may have experienced. We assure you that delivering excellent customer service and high quality of accommodations, ensuring that our guests can relax and enjoy their stay are our priority. Therefore, we would like to request that you contact us or our Customer Service department directly with regards to your stay. If you are willing to give us another chance, we are extremely confident that your next stay will be much more enjoyable and even exceed your expectations. We sincerely appreciate your business with us and wish you the best on all your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sedona hotels

1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2013

First of all, let me state that the staff was very kind and accommodating. The location was good. However sadly, that is where the positives end. The resort grounds needed attention and the room was very dated. We won't stay here again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nicole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We are pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay here with us. We of course appreciate your suggestion referring to the refurbishment and we would like to assure you that we have the works scheduled and we hope to have all apartments brought up to the same great standard very soon. We hope that we will see you coming back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Alberta
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We enjoyed our 3 nights at Los Abrigados. We had a one-bedroom unit which was very comfortable, although the kitchen area was very cramped. We never used any of the facilities, although there seemed to be lots provided. The pools looked nice although one was closed for reconstruction. It is located right beside the Tlaquepaque shopping/arts area so that would be a definite benefit to anyone interested in shopping for arts and crafts.
It was in a good location for getting to all the beautiful and interesting places to see in the Sedona area.
There was no wifi available in the units. It could be accessed from the reception area but this was rather inconvenient.
Check-in and check-out went very smoothly and quickly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ardegy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
We are really glad to read that our location, the quality and cleanliness of our apartments and efficiency of service were to your satisfaction. We hope to have another opportunity to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
1.9 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
2.9 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
0.3 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#19 of 48 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Southwest Inn at Sedona
Southwest Inn at Sedona
#29 of 48 in Sedona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
2.8 mi away
Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
3.6 mi away
Sedona Summit Resort
Sedona Summit Resort
#20 of 48 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Abrigados Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Abrigados Resort and Spa

Property: Los Abrigados Resort and Spa
Address: 160 Portal Ln, Sedona, AZ 86336-6149
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Abrigados Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury resort and spa in Sedona, Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Los Abrigados Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Abrigados Hotel Sedona
Los Abrigados Resort Spa
Los Abrigados Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing