We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff but very dated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Los Abrigados Resort and Spa
Ranked #40 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Reviewed June 5, 2013

First of all, let me state that the staff was very kind and accommodating. The location was good. However sadly, that is where the positives end. The resort grounds needed attention and the room was very dated. We won't stay here again.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank Nicole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for your kind words. We are pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay here with us. We of course appreciate your suggestion referring to the refurbishment and we would like to assure you that we have the works scheduled and we hope to have all apartments brought up to the same great standard very soon. We hope that we will see you coming back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,018)
There are newer reviews for Los Abrigados Resort and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

579 - 585 of 1,018 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2013

We enjoyed our 3 nights at Los Abrigados. We had a one-bedroom unit which was very comfortable, although the kitchen area was very cramped. We never used any of the facilities, although there seemed to be lots provided. The pools looked nice although one was closed for reconstruction. It is located right beside the Tlaquepaque shopping/arts area so that would be a definite benefit to anyone interested in shopping for arts and crafts.
It was in a good location for getting to all the beautiful and interesting places to see in the Sedona area.
There was no wifi available in the units. It could be accessed from the reception area but this was rather inconvenient.
Check-in and check-out went very smoothly and quickly.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ardegy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

We are really glad to read that our location, the quality and cleanliness of our apartments and efficiency of service were to your satisfaction. We hope to have another opportunity to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Los Abrigados offers nice, clean comfortable rooms. The staff is very nice and helpful. The property is absolutely beautiful! With colorful statues and gorgeous flowers. It is right in Tlaquepaque arts and craft village which offers nice shopping and great food!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krisstian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The location is perfect. Walk to shopping, dining, on Oak Creek. The view from outside of our stay was the beautiful Red Rocks of Sedona and Oak Creek! To start, the check-in process was fast, easy and flawless. Checkout was exactly the same. The room was great. (It's really like a condo) Recently updated and in great condition; Flat screen TVs, comfortable bed, etc. The sofa could have used some throw pillows for some comfort. We read complaints of noise from upper units when in a ground unit. We heard our upper neighbors on a few occasions, but noise was never a problem. We loved the ground unit with the patio and we used the available gas grill on multiple days. The staff were all very attentive and super helpful. Did I mention the beautiful condition of the grounds? Fabulous! The saltwater pool was under a total rebuild while we were there, but to their credit, Los Abrigados notified us well ahead of our trip that this would be the case. The second outdoor pool suited us fine and was never overcrowded, even with temps in the 90s. Nice spa facilities. We took full advantage of the spa facilities and used the whirlpool and sauna. My wife also had a pedicure treatment, and I treated myself to a massage. Nora gave me one of the best massages I've ever had! After 10 hours hiking in the Grand Canyon, she knew every area to treat. Thanks, Nora! Oh yeah, free laundry facilities! This isn't a hotel. Many complaints I've read here are based solely on this misconception. The $15 per day activities fee is well worth it. Just figure it in as part of the cost of the room. I believe we received great value and will definitely return! (P.S. If you want to avoid the sales pitch, simply avoid the concierge, don't answer your room phone, or say "No thanks!)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Second time users of Los Abrigados. We go mainly because of it's location, not for the rooms, see later. Check in was friendly and efficient. Apartment was ready this time before 03.00 so no going to bar early this time. Big gripe though, this 'service' charge? Internet access - sketchy at best. Pool - only kids pool so busy. use of gym, free laundry (good freebie) and other small things. Why? It seems just another extra charge for things that used to be free. What happens if you are not a internet user or don't swim? Discount? Don't think so. The usual go see the 'Concierge' before leaving for your apartment for your discounts etc. We are used to these tactics, being time share owners, so not really much of a problem. Got a VIP card though, which was handy. Again, we were put near that air conditioning unit but not too near to annoy us this time. Watch out though, if given apartment 164 refuse as it sits right next door to it. We were given parking bay this time which was a pleasant surprise. Apartment suite spacious, clean but dated. Flat screen tv's don't make furniture new, and using old tv unit for storage is a bit cheap. No pool towels in apartment so had to phone for them. Small problem but fairly quickly delivered. Pool renovations were only minor problem for us but see that it could be major for some who were looking directly over the works. Outside areas seem to have been spruced up and looking good. Stakes and Sticks - restaurant and bar on site - restaurant used once to check if same chef/food as steaks last time were to die for. Unfortunately they weren't, good but not great. We think chef gone to Oak Creek Brewery? Staff good in restaurant but better in bar area. Prices reasonable for both food and drink. Check out easy and overall would use again as easy walk up hill to uptown Sedona, next door to Telaquepaque and a couple of restaurants over the Creek.

Room Tip: Don't accept rooms 164 or 264 or near air condition unit.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robeth_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Los Abrigados Resort and Spa is in the perfect location. Its close proximity to a wonderful shopping center as well as downtown Sedona is fabulous. The resort itself is undergoing some improvements so the main pool was closed for renovation; however there is still a pool available. The unit was on the second floor which afforded a beautiful view of the famous Sedona red rocks.
The concierge did not seem to know very much about the area and was mainly interested in encouraging guests to listen to a timeshare presentation, but otherwise, the staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room which faces the red rocks.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shagnfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I read reviews before hand and knew what to ask for. We got unit # 280 Bld U A corner unit on 2nd floor overlooking pool and a wonderful view of some of Sedonas famous red rocks.
We met Randy the Undercover Boss head maintence man. Told him we loved the show. I teased him & said I want your autograph & later that evening Kris from the front desk sent a book of Sedona to our room signed by Randy.
Crystall from conceriege was extremely helpful,giving us discounts for restraunts.
The weather was a little cool-we had just left Mesa from a week of 90's and that week in Sedona was 70's.
One night they showed a movie in a small theater-Lincoln. It was raining when movie ended and the fellow(can't remeber his name ) had umbrellas for us to get back to our rooms. A very nice touch.
The day before we were leaving we met a couple that was just checking in to the Stone House. They offered to show it to us. OMG If anyone wants something over the top get this. It is amazing.
We have been to Sedona before so other than visiting my brother & his caregiver in Cottonwood a few times-a little shopping & eating out we just relaxed.
There is so much to see & do in Sedona. It should be on everyones bucket list.
The only complaint I have was the kitchen seemed dark-It was just in a hallway. There were plenty of things to use and it was well supplied but maybe sky lights might help.

Room Tip: /ask for a room in the back on 2nd floor corner unit. We were very lucky to get such a nice view of...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeniciaChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and review of your stay here at Los Abrigados. We were very delighted to read that our accommodations, activities, and customer service exceeded your expectations. Our staff takes great pride in offering exceptional customer service towards our guests. Randy is quite the celebrity here since his appearance on Undercover Boss with our Chairman, Stephen J. Cloobeck. We definitely recommend The Stone House for those who are looking at deluxe or additionally luxurious accommodations here at Los Abrigados. Your feedback about the lighting in the kitchen area is much appreciated. We will definitely look into this to see if we can improve this for future guests. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated. We hope to see you again soon the next time your travels take you to the Sedona area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
1.9 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
2.9 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
5.2 mi away
Bell Rock Inn
Bell Rock Inn
#31 of 48 in Sedona
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
3.6 mi away
Sedona Summit Resort
Sedona Summit Resort
#22 of 48 in Sedona
1,750 reviews
6.2 mi away
Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Abrigados Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Abrigados Resort and Spa

Address: 160 Portal Ln, Sedona, AZ 86336-6149
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
Price Range: $123 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Abrigados Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury resort and spa in Sedona, Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Los Abrigados Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Abrigados Hotel Sedona
Los Abrigados Resort Spa
Los Abrigados Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing