We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Los Abrigados Resort and Spa
Ranked #41 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this property during the last week of March. We stayed in a 2nd floor, one bedroom unit. The unit had a small kitchen and enough room for 4. It also had a nice balcony where we enjoyed our morning tea and breakfast. The property itself is in a great location. It is within walking distance to many shops and restaurants. We really enjoyed the location and I felt that the grounds were well maintained. The location makes it a perfect home base for all of the activities around Sedona. The units are a bit dated, but our unit was very clean. The staff was very helpful and the available activities were nice. I woke up early one day for a beginners yoga class which was the perfect way to start my day. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would definitely come back if we ever visit Sedona again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chicagogrl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    340
    195
    120
    104
See reviews for
265
420
36
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kenora
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We had to be moved 3 times in the one week stay . Rooms are very well used with old furnishings n old televisions. The grounds are not well kept n pool not maintained . This should be the best resort in Sedona. I won't be going back till I know Renos are done. Most of units are very dark with no view. No wi fi in rooms and the main office systems were down. I would not recommend this place till resort has been updated

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tigerruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
We always strive to deliver exceptional hospitality, provide premium services, and offer quality accommodations to each guest that stays with us. It was very concerning, after reading your review, that we did not meet these expectations in regard to your stay here at Los Abrigados. Moving a guest from their assigned unit is usually done at the request of a guest, or if there is a particular issue with the current unit that requires work to be done by our maintenance staff. This is usually done as a last resort by our front desk. We have recently undergone a change in management. Since Diamond Resorts took over Resort Management, we have made significant improvement to most of our rooms and reception area. Even with these improvements, we do realize that some of our rooms are still outdated. A significant refurbishment project is underway as we speak to improve the amenities and accommodations for these rooms. Our Wi-Fi service, given the location of the routers on the roof tops, sometimes causes intermittent reception and a poor signal. Typically, guests are able to connect and note that the speed is slower than they would like. That being said, we are working on a conversion to a faster system this year to improve this service for our guests. We will also look into why it appeared that our grounds and pool did not appear well-maintained with our maintenance staff. As far as units with no view goes; we do accept reservation requests for units that do have a view of the beautiful scenery here in Sedona, and if a unit is available, you will be notified at check in. If you are willing to give us another chance, we are extremely confident that your next stay will be much more enjoyable and even exceed your expectations. We sincerely appreciate your business with us and wish you the best on all your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sedona hotels

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed there mid April 2013 and was an OK experience.

Pros - great location, you are right next to 'uptown' Sedona.
Cons - Outdated room, hot tub was too dirty to be used (co-ed one) & service was average (was denied a late checkout even by 30 mins!!).

Would not stay here again unless they renovate big time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GanaK98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Please accept our apologies for the lack of sufficient housekeeping you appear to have experienced during your stay. We assure you this is most certainly not the norm for us and we will address this with the housekeeping team. We are sorry for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to this. We would also like to take this opportunity to advise that we are currently undergoing a refurbishment and all apartments should be soon brought up to the same high standard. We hope this has not marred your stay and you will consider us for your future bookings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
375 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

When it was built, this property was most likely top of class. Once Diamond Resorts completes a thorough renovation, it will one again be top of class. For now, the rooms remain old and tired. This is a timeshare property which means each full unit includes a kitchen. At this property that means you get a kitchenette--everything is in miniature. You get a counter-top toaster oven and the microwave is on top of an apartment-sized refrigerator--a very unsafe arrangement. The cupboards are almost complete full of dishes and cookware, so there is no place to store dry food.
The beds are comfortable and there is plenty of storage in the old furniture.
The suite was non-smoking, but we could not always enjoy the balcony because of the people smoking on the patio below is.
The units have Wi-Fi, but the router is signal is weak and slow. I had to go to the lobby to connect to the Internet. The property charges 25 cents for 800 calls, There is no directory in the room that explains services or associated costs.
The resort shop stocks products made in Arizona and the owner/manager is a delightful woman.
The on-site restaurant is awful. The good news is that Tlacapaque contains many very good places to eat.
There are lots of activities onsite including miniature golf, tennis and bocce ball.
The resort spa appeared dirty and old. The hot tub was so heavily chlorinated you could smell it in the lobby. Only one pool was open (the other was being rebuilt) and there was no outdoor hot tub available.
Parking is limited and there are many stairs to navigate.

Room Tip: Be sure to state you need an accessible room if you have trouble with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TucsonTeeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for your review, we regret to read that you have not been satisfied with your apartment allocation and we would like to note that we would like nothing more than being able to accommodate all our guests in fully refurbished apartments, yet for practical reasons, until the refurbishment works are completed, regretfully this is not always possible. We of course apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused you and we hope this has not marred your stay with us and we will see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlevoix MI
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This visit had its ups and downs. The positives are Los Abrigados grounds and location, which are within walking distance of downtown shops and restaurants. There are also many great hiking opportunities within a short drive. The grounds are nicely landscaped and quite expansive with a park like setting along the lovely Oak Creek. Another positive is the staff - very helpful and accomodating. We have a time share there for an efficiency for two and those rooms are quite small - just adequate size for a bed and wardrobe - even though dishes are provided, there is not an easy way to eat on the outside patio (very low tables) or do up the dishes afterwards (bathroom sink obviously not an ideal washing station). When we made our reservation, we were not told that the adult pool was planned for renovation - the children's pool was usually busy with young families and the only outdoor hot tub in terrible shape. (Numerous patches) We did attend a time share presentation to get info on upgrading our personal share and were appalled at the cost - $30,000 and up for one of their lesser "points" offerings. We did not purchase anything, and really regret investing in the first place - strongly advise anyone to not get into any timeshare offering unless they are truly aware of the legal obligations connected to their purchase. Our maintenance fee has doubled in less than 10 years - the cost is not worth it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dvanguil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, we are glad to read that the friendliness of our team and the location and standard of our resort have contributed to you having an enjoyable stay.
We are concerned to learn, however, that the sales presentation you attended has not fulfilled your expectations and we are sorry if this has inconvenienced you in any way. We hope that this has not marred your stay and we trust we will have an opportunity to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My twin and I just came home from our 5 day holiday at Sedona. I spent many hours on the internet reading resort reviews before deciding on Los Abrigados Resort and Spa. From the beginning to the finale we received excellent service. Our check in and check out was quick and very professional. I had requested thru Travelocity for an upstairs room. When we arrived we were told our "standard studio" rooms were only located downstairs. Dianna immediately upgraded us to a corner unit on the second floor with a small view as I had wanted. (no extra charge) The rooms were spotless, the bed unbelievably comfortable, and all the kitchen commodities were all you could ever need. We spent morning hours in total quietness enjoying our coffee on the balcony. I called for help with setting up the DVD player and someone was there immediately. The concierge service was also very helpful. Plus the location on Hwy 179 right off Hwy 89 was absolutely perfect. We had restaurants and shopping right outside our door. We left Sedona super refreshed and rested. I would go back to this resort with no hesitation and highly recommend it to those searching for the best. The cost was very reasonable and comparable to most Best Western hotels.

Room Tip: Always let the front desk what type of room you prefer. ie.. upstairs, with a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for choosing our resort for your trip here to Sedona. We are very grateful for your recommendation, and we were very glad to hear that our accommodations, amenities, customer service, location, and value exceeded your expectations. Our team members take great pride in providing superior Customer Service for our guests. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I and my family recently rented two units at Los Abrigados in Sedona, AZ. Months after our reservation was booked, we got a letter advising us that there would be a $15/day mandatory fee per unit for Spa Fees (whether you used the Spa facilities for NOT). A few months before our trip we were informed that their outdoor Salt water pool would be under construction....they still were not going to waive the spa fee. When we checked in I went to a clerk who had no one in front of her, who rudely told me she was helping someone...Uh, I did not see anyone! I was so DISAPPOINTED in the accommodations! The outdoor hot tub was filthy, disgusting. Besides the fact that it was quite a distance from the outdoor pool. It was advertised as having "all the necessary appliances". Our oven...was a toaster oven!!! The counter/stove/fridge area was so small one person could barely fit in there to cook. Guess when you stay here, you eat out. Our bathroom shower door had mold on it and the tub was stained. Outside our unit was a pond...that was full of pond scum as it had not been cleaned. I booked a massage and was reprimanded by the massage therapist for not following protocol...that I was never informed of. I had to ask another patron where I needed to go after I changed into the Spa robe. Neither the person who booked the massage or the receptionist you gave me a locker key gave me any information. The furniture was horrible and painful to sit on. The whole unit was like a Motel 6 instead of a RESORT! The only high point for this Resort was it's location...near shops and Uptown Sedona. There was no Wi-Fi in the units and limited TV. Several occasions when going to the Concierge or front desk, there was no one there to assist me. One night the water was shut off from 11pm to 7am and we were advised to get bottled water from the Front desk...there was no one there to give us the water. Oh, and the only place to get breakfast before 9AM was at a the "El Portal" hotel located near the Resort. The Resort restaurant was not open for breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
We are truly and sincerely sorry that your here at Los Abrigados Resort did not meet your expectations. It is always our goal to deliver exceptional hospitality, provide exceptional services, and offer quality accommodations to each guest that stays with us. It was very concerning, after reading your review, that we did not meet these expectations in regard to your stay. As an FYI, the $15.00 per day resort fee covers several amenities at our resort, which include, but not limited to: Wi-Fi services, access to the spa, tennis, and golf facilities, locker rooms, and fitness center. We regret hearing about the lack of quality customer service provided to you by both our front desk clerk and our message therapist. This will be handled internally, and be used as a coaching opportunity for those team members involved. We are in the midst of a massive refurbishment for our units and resort common areas that will address your issues with our furniture and other unit amenities. The water shut off you mentioned was due to a mandatory necessary repair for our backflows to the resort. This was done overnight from 11pm to 7am to limit the impact this would have towards our guests. We did have staffing issues during the times you state no one was available to assist with your request for water bottles. These issues have since been corrected. Our current budget with our Home Owner’s Association does not currently allow for breakfast to be served at our restaurant; however, we are looking into several options with our restaurant that may include introducing breakfast to our menu offerings. In the meantime, our concierge can recommend several nearby restaurants within walking distance that would satisfy your breakfast needs. If you are willing to give us another chance, we are extremely confident that your next stay will be much more enjoyable and even exceed your expectations. We sincerely appreciate your business with us and wish you the best on all your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
1.9 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
2.8 mi away
Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
0.3 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#18 of 48 in Sedona
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
2.9 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
5.2 mi away
Bell Rock Inn
Bell Rock Inn
#34 of 48 in Sedona
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Abrigados Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Abrigados Resort and Spa

Property: Los Abrigados Resort and Spa
Address: 160 Portal Ln, Sedona, AZ 86336-6149
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Abrigados Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury resort and spa in Sedona, Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Los Abrigados Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Abrigados Hotel Sedona
Los Abrigados Resort Spa
Los Abrigados Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing