We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst experience ever” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Los Abrigados Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Los Abrigados Resort and Spa
Ranked #40 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
London
Level Contributor
94 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Worst experience ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

A demonstration in poor customer care from start to finish.
1) We called the resort from the Sedona Chamber of Commerce to get a room rate. Having agreed on $97 for the night, we drove the 2 minute journey to the resort. We were then quoted $126. We argued and finally got to $109 (although that excluded a $15 spa use fee that we didn't want and didn't use). In reality, we should have read the signs and left instead;
2) After several hours of no sleep, we called reception at 3.45am to complain about the extreme noise coming from the aircon units (not ours, we had turned ours off, but from others in the same block as our room). I've stayed in rooms with noisy aircon, but never anything like this - like a twin prop plane in the attic. The receptionist promised to send a maintenance guy straight over. He never showed up;
3) I checked out at 8.30am. I explained about our poor experience to the receptionist. She offered to waive the spa fee. I declined her offer, requesting instead that the manager spend 20 minutes in our room (to understand the fault) and then call us to tell us what he thought a fair price for a night in that room would have been. She agreed to get him to act on this as soon as he arrived later that morning;
She also promised to email me a receipt, which would contain a guest questionnaire that would enable me to provide my feedback in writing.
4) It is now Sunday (we left this place on Friday morning). So far, no call from the manager, and no email to enable me to provide direct feedback to the resort.

Based on m experience, my personal advice is to avoid this place. Above and beyond my specific complaints, you can expect to be confronted by agents (disguised as a concierge) trying to flog you timeshare.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travellingdave0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
We always strive to deliver exceptional hospitality, provide premium services, and offer quality accommodations to each guest that stays with us. It was very concerning, after reading your review, that we did not meet these expectations in regard to your stay here at Los Abrigados. The customer service, or lack thereof, that you received from our front desk is not typical for the type of customer service we wish to provide for our guests. We will bring this up with the parties involved, and handle internally. There was a case of miscommunication between the receptionist and maintenance staff worker when the noise issue involving the air conditioner was brought to their attention. It is our hope that the compensation being offered for the issues that occurred during your stay will help make up your negative experience. As a Vacation Ownership property, solicitation of a sales presentation is part of the check in process. While many of our guests are interested to find out more about our products (and the free gifts that are included for attending); unless you are staying on a promotional trip, you are not required to attend this presentation unless you want to. If you are willing to give us another chance, we are extremely confident that your next stay with us will be much more enjoyable and even exceed your expectations. We sincerely appreciate your business with us and wish you the best on all your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    330
    188
    114
    102
See reviews for
252
403
35
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

I would not stay at Los Abrigados again. We stayed in a cottage that did not have wifi, nor could the maintenance man get the heater working correctly. Nights were cold. The room was quiet. Spa workout room is the best I have ever used! But a cold night’s sleep is not good after a great workout and massage.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
We always strive to deliver exceptional hospitality, provide premium services, and offer quality accommodations to each guest that stays with us. It was very concerning, after reading your review, that we did not meet these expectations in regard to your stay here at Los Abrigados. We currently offer complimentary Wi-Fi in all but 9 of our units (studios) and the Morris House at the Inn. Our Wi-Fi service, given the location of the routers on the roof tops, sometimes causes intermittent reception and a poor signal. Typically, guests are able to connect and note that the speed is slower than they would like. While our In-room directory clearly states on page 8 that “Complimentary high speed wireless access is available in each accommodation and the lobby”, we are in the process of updating this so that guests know that the 9 studio units and Morris House mentioned above may not have Wi-Fi service available. Please be aware that we are in the beginning stages of installing new Wi-Fi equipment to strengthen the signal, speed, and reception of this service for our guests. Installation is scheduled to be completed later this year. We are truly sorry that this issue had an adverse effect on your stay here. It was also concerning to hear that your unit’s heater was not working. This is an issue that we are currently working at fixing so that future guests are not affected. If you are willing to give us another chance, we are extremely confident that your next stay with us will be much more enjoyable and even exceed your expectations. We sincerely appreciate your business with us and wish you the best on all your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sedona hotels

Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed at Los Abrigados the week of Valentines. The room was a little dated but it was understandable as the entire complex is being updated. The beds were comfortable and clean. We had a small issue with the sales presentation with Diamond Resorts, but we brought it to the attention of one of the managers. They did what they could to makes us happy and we found a nice gift basket waiting in our room the next day. They did not have to do that, but it was very appreciated.
We enjoyed our stay and look forward to coming back soon. My only suggestion would be that there would be unfront notice about a $15 per day resort fee. Not sure it this was because we don't own here, but it wasn't that bad.
We'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_Hunter1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus OH
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Was concerned after reading the reviews but had gotten through Priceline so no turning back. Pleasantly surprised. Asked for a 2nd floor and they were very accommodating. Cathedral ceiling makes the unit seem very large. Furniture somewhat dated but understand they are renovating the complete facility. Beautiful grounds and conveniently located. Pillows and bed very comfortable which is really what we are looking for as we are out site seeing most of the day. Nicely equipped with everything we need. Would strongly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ostiguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mountains
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

The info on expedia says that there is free Wi-Fi in the rooms. Upon check-in, I was informed that there is no internet access in the rooms.
The guest information sheet in the room states that there is no Wi-Fi in the rooms, only in the lobby.

Clearly, management mis-informs the traveler about this hotel, and I consider this as "terrible service".

The unit is basic and not exactly very pretty, but decent and clean.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flying_about
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
We always strive to deliver exceptional hospitality, provide premium services, and offer quality accommodations to each guest that stays with us. It was very concerning, after reading your review, that we did not meet these expectations in regard to your recent stay here at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa. We currently offer complimentary Wi-Fi in all but 9 of our units (studios) and the Morris House at the Inn. Our Wi-Fi service, given the location of the routers on the roof tops, sometimes causes intermittent reception and a poor signal. Typically, guests are able to connect and note that the speed is slower than they would like. While our In-room directory clearly states on page 8 that “Complimentary high speed wireless access is available in each accommodation and the lobby”, we are in the process of updating this so that guests know that the 9 studio units and Morris House mentioned above may not have Wi-Fi service available. Please be aware that we are in the beginning stages of installing new Wi-Fi equipment to strengthen the signal, speed, and reception of this service for our guests. Installation is scheduled to be completed later this year. We are truly sorry that this issue had an adverse effect on your stay here. If you are willing to give us another chance, we are extremely confident that your next stay with us will be much more enjoyable and even exceed your expectations. We sincerely appreciate your business with us and wish you the best on all your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
green valley
Level Contributor
58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

We were very disapointed in this hotel/resort. This is actually a timeshare/vacation complex. The complex is very old and not in good repair. Our suite was old and smelled bad, we had to use air freshener to stay there. Our TV in the bedroom didn't work and maintance came and found that all the cables had been unhooked. There is no internet access that is reliable, wifi is very poor and there is no cable hookup. There is no extras that you would get at most motels like maid service or breakfast served. If you need coffee or clean towels you have to go to the front desk and get them. If you are in a lower suite you can hear the people in the upper apartment flush their toilet . . .enough said about that! There isn't an indoor pool so if you go in the winter you will have to like the cold.

Room Tip: Get a different motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
We are sorry that your room did meet your expectations upon your arrival. We’re glad to see that maintenance was able to resolve your TV issues, but we hope that you contacted the front desk in order to address your concerns about the smell. Our front desk team will ensure that anything out of order is resolved as quickly as possible.

We have plans to replace our current Wi-Fi system, in the next year. Until that time, Wi-Fi is guaranteed in the lobby, but not in the rooms.

Complimentary coffee is provided in the unit at the time of check-in. Additional coffee and towels can be picked up at the front desk, or you can call the resort operator and place a request from your room; we will be happy to deliver both!

Housekeeping is provided mid-week for 7 days stays or more. You have the option of requesting additional housekeeping from the front desk for a nominal fee. There are two places near Los Abrigados for breakfast within a 5 minute walk. Please ask the front desk or concierge, as they will be happy to share their local favorites with you!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Los Abrigados. We regret that your stay fell short of your expectations, but we can assure you that feedback, like yours, is used to consistently enhance our guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

After reading some of the other reviews here i was a bit nervous about staying here but we were not disappointed. When we checked in first they were not able to find our reservation but we booked it through a third party website, the staff at the front dest were very helpful and polite and had the issue sorted in a few minutes. We stayed in one of the second floor rooms with a balcony overlooking the outdoor pool, which we would have used only for it was almost freezing and snowing out. There are a lot of facilities on site and the hotel is located in Tlaquepaque Village which is great for exploring Sedona its close to Uptown, Oak Creek a range of shops and restuarants and plent of attractions like Chapel of the Holy Cross, Catherdral Rock, Devils Bridge, Slide Rock State Park and Oak Creek Canyon within a couple of miles drive. The room itself was comfortable and nicely decorated, its more like a self stay apartment with living area and small kitchen and cooking facilities. A lot of people mentioned there was no room service but this is clearly stated at reception upon checking in as its not a hotel in that sense but can be requested. Would recommend this place for a nice relaxing getaway and place to explore Sedona and the price is great too.

Room Tip: i would try get a room on the second floor either overlooking the pool or the scenery
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay here at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa. We were extremely thrilled to read that our accommodations, amenities, location, rate, and staff contributed to your overall relaxing stay and recommendation for others. The tips about our resort and the general Sedona area that you have provided are greatly appreciated! We hope to see you again, soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
2.0 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
2.9 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
3.0 mi away
Southwest Inn at Sedona
Southwest Inn at Sedona
#31 of 48 in Sedona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#18 of 48 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
3.6 mi away
Sedona Summit Resort
Sedona Summit Resort
#19 of 48 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Abrigados Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Abrigados Resort and Spa

Property: Los Abrigados Resort and Spa
Address: 160 Portal Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Abrigados Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury resort and spa in Sedona, Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Los Abrigados Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Abrigados Hotel Sedona
Los Abrigados Resort Spa
Los Abrigados Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing