We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Los Abrigados Resort and Spa
Nearby Hotels
GreenTree Inn Sedona(Sedona)(Great Value!)
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$259
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$335
$319
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sedona Summit Resort(Sedona)(Great Value!)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$594
$479
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona(Sedona)(Great Value!)
$287
$259
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arabella Hotel Sedona(Sedona)(Great Value!)
$179
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$235
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$630
$585
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,088)
Filter reviews
1,088 results
Traveler rating
266
365
211
135
111
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
266
365
211
135
111
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstoaster ovenminiature golfkids poolpickle barbedroom suitegrounds are beautifultennis courtstimeshare presentationsmall kitchenoak creek breweryliving areamain poolsales pitchfitness centermain buildingshopping and restaurantshot tub
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
731 - 736 of 1,088 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2012

When a guest is paying over $100. per day for a hotel, plus ( $15.00 a day ) resort fee. the least you can expect is clean towels, which are changed daily. Not at this property. They say only if your staying five days or more will they change your towels. For a 3 1/2 star property, it needs about a three star upgrade. Diamond resorts needs to bring this property up to speed soon. I for one would never stay there again.

Room Tip: Travelers to Sedona, AZ should look for much nicer hotels than this one.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank albionsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay here at Los Abrigados Resort. We always strive to provide exceptional hospitality and offer good quality accommodations to each of our guests who stay with us, and it is quite concerning to us that our accommodations, nor our services, did not meet your expectations. As we are primarily a Vacation Ownership resort, mid-stay housekeeping services, which include changing towels, are only provided for those stays that are 5 days in length or longer. This information can be found directly on our management company’s, (Diamond Resorts) website. In addition, we try and relay this information about housekeeping services to our 3rd party rental partners, so that they can advise their customers. We regret hearing that you may not have been made aware of this resort policy before your arrival, and we are truly sorry if this had a negative impact on your stay. Since Diamond Resorts took over Resort Management, we have made significant improvement to our rooms and reception area. Nevertheless, we do realize that some of our rooms and grounds area need further refurbishment. A significant refurbishment plan is being worked on to update all of our rooms and grounds; however, we cannot provide any specifics as to when this will be started or completed. If you are willing to give us another chance, we are extremely confident that your next stay will be much more enjoyable and even exceed your expectations. Your business with us is sincerely appreciated and we wish you the best on all your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

I got a great deal through Hot wire, one where you don't know which hotel you will get until after you pay. We were pleasantly surprised. We had stayed a night at the Grand Canyon then one night in Sedona. The place is a time share so they do try to talk you into listening to a presentation, but when I said we didn't have time they weren't pushy. The rooms were large with a kitchen, sitting area ,bedroom, and nice little balcony but decorating was a little out dated and could use some updating. Small old style tv's, and small bath tub, but over all was very nice and clean. We used the jacuzzi and the pool and it was great.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reallyreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay here. We were very delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay here, and that our accommodations, amenities, and location met your expectations. We have recently undergone a change in management. Since Diamond Resorts took over Resort Management, we have made significant strides to improve our rooms and reception area. Even with these improvements, we do realize that our rooms are still outdated. A significant renovation plan is being worked on to update our rooms; however, we cannot provide any specifics as to when this will be started or completed. We hope to see you again the next time that you are in the Sedona area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

First - I must admit we are both a PVC (formerly ILX) and Diamond resorts owner. As such, we can provide a honest and meaningful review. We want to have a good vacation experience and think most travelers want the same.

Second - we bought at Los Abrigados (LA) about 10 years ago and still love the property. The location is great, the local shopping is good and the views are awesome. And the people of Sedona and VOC are great!

Now for our complaints;
- Parking - yes it can be an issue. Even though we had a reserved space, some idiot decided he was more important and took it one night. We didn't handle it well (not proud of that) but security did place a sticker on his car. Hopefully he's still trying to get that off his window.
- Restaurants - there used to be 3 very good restaurants onsite but for some reason, LA is down to one. Previously there was a great breakfast place with awesome french toast. And we used to have a Chef's table available in the Steak & Sticks. Both are gone and the current setup resembles a cave with big screen TVs where the kitchen open bar used to be. It appears that some of the space has become premium suites. I can understand ROI - return on investment - but doing away with breakfast at a major resort is a bad move. This deserves some rethinking.
- Housekeeping - once a week is lame! Our feet were dirty from walking the tile floors and the trash started to draw bugs. Nuff said..

Good news;
- the movies at the pool was a nice addition
- the new flat screen TVs were a great addition
- the new furniture in the living room is a welcome addition
- the grounds look great

If you are new to LA, ask for a 2nd floor end room if they are available. You'll get an extra balcony and the views are much better. Some 2 bedrooms also have small fire places and soaking tubs. If you go for the 1 bedrooms, the rooms are still nice but could be too cramped for 3 or 4 guests.

Please give Diamond Resorts some time to improve this property. We believe they will do some amazing things with this site but you cannot remodel while the resort is 100% online. That would be foolish and end up with more complaints due to noise and construction.

We'll be back in 3 or 4 years to check on the progress. And we won't hesitate to say what we do and don't like.

(Pssst - Diamond Resorts - get our breakfast back in-house. I can put up with parking issues but a good breakfast while on vacation is a big deal!)


Cheers,

L&J
Miami Beach

Room Tip: Ask for 2nd floor on the end if possible. LA is also pet friendly!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JRD33141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about our resort. We really appreciate that you have been a part of our ownership family for the past 10 years, and look forward to servicing you again when you come back. It was great to read that that you were accommodated in an updated unit, and that you were able to experience, firsthand, the new flat screen TVs and furniture, as well as, some of the updates we made to the grounds and reception areas. The restaurant that served breakfast, On the Rocks, was converted to premium suites by the former management company over 4 years ago. We definitely agree that having an establishment that serves breakfast is very important for our guests, and we are working with our Homeowner’s Association to see what we can do to fix this need for the future. Thank you again for taking the time in sharing your thoughts. We look forward to seeing you in another 3 or 4 years (hopefully sooner!), as we are confident that you will be pleasantly surprised with the changes that will be made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We had stayed here six years ago and it needed help then. We were told at the time that the facility was going to be completely refurbished in the next five years. Well guess what? It is worse now than six years ago. The grounds are neat but the plant is run down and shabby and that shabbiness continues right into the rooms.

When we arrived we were told that our room was not ready, even though we were checking in a day late, and they would call us when it was ready. We never received a call and had to go back to the resort to find out if our room was ready.

The room was a Motel 8-, the floor was dirty, there was hair in the shower/tub, the counter in the kitchenette was sticky and the TV in the bedroom did not work. The finishing’s were shabby, the bed headboard was left over from the 80’s waterbed era, and was so close to the wall on one side that you could not walk to that side of the bed. The bed was uncomfortable and their vaunted pillows are a disaster, the worst I have ever tried to sleep on. The couch in the living room was at best cheap looking and uncomfortable. The room had a nice balcony overlooking the red rocks but it was right next to the sewage processing facility which made lots of noise when it was operating not to mention the perceptible odors emanating from it.

Los Abrigados has been acquired by Diamond Resorts in the last two years and maybe things will change but as of this time there is nothing to recommend them except for the location and the setting.

Room Tip: Inspect all room before you agree to it, we usually do but did not follow our own rules
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herman F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your stay here. We have recently undergone a change in management. Since Diamond Resorts took over Resort Management, we have made significant improvement to our rooms and reception area. Nevertheless, we do realize that some of our rooms and grounds area are still outdated. A significant renovation plan is being worked on to update all of our rooms and grounds; however, we cannot provide any specifics as to when this will be started or completed. Our front desk is always more than willing to look into issues with the appliances in your room when brought to their attention. Your feedback about our pillows are appreciated. We have generally received positive reviews about our pillows from our guests; however, we will definitely look into this further. The nearest sewage processing facility to the resort is roughly 8 miles away. If you are willing to give us another chance, we are extremely confident that your next stay will be much more enjoyable and even exceed your expectations. Your business with us is sincerely appreciated and we wish you the best on all your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

They have zero security cameras near the rooms. I believe we left the back door to our suite unlocked allowing someone to come in and vandalize the place. Needless to say since the lack of security cameras I am held responsible for the room and they kept my 500$ deposit. And of course after all that they just think were lying about the whole thing and think it was us. If only they had security cameras we could prove it.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roberthennessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your stay at our resort. The safety and well being of our guests is one of our top priorities; however, the installation of security cameras for each and every room would have to be approved by our Homeowner’s Association before we could start such a project. We have a well qualified and well trained security staff that does monitor the premises thoroughly to ensure that the safety and well being of our guests is being met. Each and every guest is made aware, at check in, to make sure that their suite doors are locked if they are away, and that they are responsible for any damage or theft that occurs while they are checked into their suite. We sincerely regret that this issue had a negative impact on your stay. Your business with us is sincerely appreciated and we wish you the best on all your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews