We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Deal, wonderful stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Los Abrigados Resort and Spa
Ranked #40 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

I got a great deal through Hot wire, one where you don't know which hotel you will get until after you pay. We were pleasantly surprised. We had stayed a night at the Grand Canyon then one night in Sedona. The place is a time share so they do try to talk you into listening to a presentation, but when I said we didn't have time they weren't pushy. The rooms were large with a kitchen, sitting area ,bedroom, and nice little balcony but decorating was a little out dated and could use some updating. Small old style tv's, and small bath tub, but over all was very nice and clean. We used the jacuzzi and the pool and it was great.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reallyreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay here. We were very delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay here, and that our accommodations, amenities, and location met your expectations. We have recently undergone a change in management. Since Diamond Resorts took over Resort Management, we have made significant strides to improve our rooms and reception area. Even with these improvements, we do realize that our rooms are still outdated. A significant renovation plan is being worked on to update our rooms; however, we cannot provide any specifics as to when this will be started or completed. We hope to see you again the next time that you are in the Sedona area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,029)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

675 - 681 of 1,029 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012

First - I must admit we are both a PVC (formerly ILX) and Diamond resorts owner. As such, we can provide a honest and meaningful review. We want to have a good vacation experience and think most travelers want the same.

Second - we bought at Los Abrigados (LA) about 10 years ago and still love the property. The location is great, the local shopping is good and the views are awesome. And the people of Sedona and VOC are great!

Now for our complaints;
- Parking - yes it can be an issue. Even though we had a reserved space, some idiot decided he was more important and took it one night. We didn't handle it well (not proud of that) but security did place a sticker on his car. Hopefully he's still trying to get that off his window.
- Restaurants - there used to be 3 very good restaurants onsite but for some reason, LA is down to one. Previously there was a great breakfast place with awesome french toast. And we used to have a Chef's table available in the Steak & Sticks. Both are gone and the current setup resembles a cave with big screen TVs where the kitchen open bar used to be. It appears that some of the space has become premium suites. I can understand ROI - return on investment - but doing away with breakfast at a major resort is a bad move. This deserves some rethinking.
- Housekeeping - once a week is lame! Our feet were dirty from walking the tile floors and the trash started to draw bugs. Nuff said..

Good news;
- the movies at the pool was a nice addition
- the new flat screen TVs were a great addition
- the new furniture in the living room is a welcome addition
- the grounds look great

If you are new to LA, ask for a 2nd floor end room if they are available. You'll get an extra balcony and the views are much better. Some 2 bedrooms also have small fire places and soaking tubs. If you go for the 1 bedrooms, the rooms are still nice but could be too cramped for 3 or 4 guests.

Please give Diamond Resorts some time to improve this property. We believe they will do some amazing things with this site but you cannot remodel while the resort is 100% online. That would be foolish and end up with more complaints due to noise and construction.

We'll be back in 3 or 4 years to check on the progress. And we won't hesitate to say what we do and don't like.

(Pssst - Diamond Resorts - get our breakfast back in-house. I can put up with parking issues but a good breakfast while on vacation is a big deal!)


Cheers,

L&J
Miami Beach

Room Tip: Ask for 2nd floor on the end if possible. LA is also pet friendly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JRD33141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about our resort. We really appreciate that you have been a part of our ownership family for the past 10 years, and look forward to servicing you again when you come back. It was great to read that that you were accommodated in an updated unit, and that you were able to experience, firsthand, the new flat screen TVs and furniture, as well as, some of the updates we made to the grounds and reception areas. The restaurant that served breakfast, On the Rocks, was converted to premium suites by the former management company over 4 years ago. We definitely agree that having an establishment that serves breakfast is very important for our guests, and we are working with our Homeowner’s Association to see what we can do to fix this need for the future. Thank you again for taking the time in sharing your thoughts. We look forward to seeing you in another 3 or 4 years (hopefully sooner!), as we are confident that you will be pleasantly surprised with the changes that will be made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We had stayed here six years ago and it needed help then. We were told at the time that the facility was going to be completely refurbished in the next five years. Well guess what? It is worse now than six years ago. The grounds are neat but the plant is run down and shabby and that shabbiness continues right into the rooms.

When we arrived we were told that our room was not ready, even though we were checking in a day late, and they would call us when it was ready. We never received a call and had to go back to the resort to find out if our room was ready.

The room was a Motel 8-, the floor was dirty, there was hair in the shower/tub, the counter in the kitchenette was sticky and the TV in the bedroom did not work. The finishing’s were shabby, the bed headboard was left over from the 80’s waterbed era, and was so close to the wall on one side that you could not walk to that side of the bed. The bed was uncomfortable and their vaunted pillows are a disaster, the worst I have ever tried to sleep on. The couch in the living room was at best cheap looking and uncomfortable. The room had a nice balcony overlooking the red rocks but it was right next to the sewage processing facility which made lots of noise when it was operating not to mention the perceptible odors emanating from it.

Los Abrigados has been acquired by Diamond Resorts in the last two years and maybe things will change but as of this time there is nothing to recommend them except for the location and the setting.

Room Tip: Inspect all room before you agree to it, we usually do but did not follow our own rules
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herman F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your stay here. We have recently undergone a change in management. Since Diamond Resorts took over Resort Management, we have made significant improvement to our rooms and reception area. Nevertheless, we do realize that some of our rooms and grounds area are still outdated. A significant renovation plan is being worked on to update all of our rooms and grounds; however, we cannot provide any specifics as to when this will be started or completed. Our front desk is always more than willing to look into issues with the appliances in your room when brought to their attention. Your feedback about our pillows are appreciated. We have generally received positive reviews about our pillows from our guests; however, we will definitely look into this further. The nearest sewage processing facility to the resort is roughly 8 miles away. If you are willing to give us another chance, we are extremely confident that your next stay will be much more enjoyable and even exceed your expectations. Your business with us is sincerely appreciated and we wish you the best on all your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

They have zero security cameras near the rooms. I believe we left the back door to our suite unlocked allowing someone to come in and vandalize the place. Needless to say since the lack of security cameras I am held responsible for the room and they kept my 500$ deposit. And of course after all that they just think were lying about the whole thing and think it was us. If only they had security cameras we could prove it.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roberthennessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your stay at our resort. The safety and well being of our guests is one of our top priorities; however, the installation of security cameras for each and every room would have to be approved by our Homeowner’s Association before we could start such a project. We have a well qualified and well trained security staff that does monitor the premises thoroughly to ensure that the safety and well being of our guests is being met. Each and every guest is made aware, at check in, to make sure that their suite doors are locked if they are away, and that they are responsible for any damage or theft that occurs while they are checked into their suite. We sincerely regret that this issue had a negative impact on your stay. Your business with us is sincerely appreciated and we wish you the best on all your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We spent two nights here at a three couple annual reunion. The site was chosen by a friend and his wife. They and the other couple had a 'suite'. We had a 'room'. The room was a bit hilarious.

The coffee maker was on a microwave oven. It blocked the television screen. Even more comical, the television was mounted on the left facing wall when one lay in bed. This would require a person in bed to look 90 degrees to his/her left in order to see the television. Dumb and 'funny'.

The bath did not have a vanity. We put a towel on the toilet tank to create our vanity.
The room had the awful instant style coffee. We passed on that. There was no coffee available in the lobby. *(Why not?)

We had to go to a nearby restaurant for our morning coffee.All in all not a good room. Thankfully, we spent most of our time in surrounding areas and used the room for sleep and showers We did go to the bar for drinks. No problem there.

I could not recommend this place to family/friends. It is quite dated and the room we had was pathetic.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redsoxbernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your most recent stay with us. We have recently undergone a change in management. Since Diamond Resorts took over Resort Management, we have made significant improvement to our rooms and reception area. A significant renovation plan is being worked on to update all of our rooms; however, we cannot provide any specifics as to when this will be started or completed. We always strive to deliver exceptional hospitality and offer good quality accommodation to each of our guests who stay with us, and it is concerning to us that our accommodations did not meet your expectations. Your feedback about your room setup is certainly appreciated. We will definitely look into modifying this setup so that it is more beneficial to our guests. We are also looking at possibly providing coffee for our guests in the lobby area in the future, but, for now, we provide instant style coffee in all rooms/suites. Most of our guests have stated they like the instant coffee, so that is why we have kept it for the time being; however, we do appreciate your feedback. If you are willing to give us another chance, we are extremely confident that your next stay will be much more enjoyable and even exceed your expectations. Your business with us is sincerely appreciated and we wish you the best on all your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

For Sedona standards, not as nice as your typical resort. However, we knew this going in to our stay. The price for timeshare points is so low, I think expectations need to be tempered. If you are able to get a renovated room, this place is nice. These rooms have flat-screens and wi-fi that you can pick-up. I like the building near the pool, with a view of the red rocks. I think the room will make or break your experience here. The location is great, next to Tlaquepaque. There is a really good mini golf course and a nice area near Oak Creek to enjoy. The pool is pretty good, I thought the staff was friendly.

I would not recommend using the couch pull out to sleep on, not comfortable at all.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room, and a higher floor. Ask for a room facing the red rocks, but close to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pedrothelion77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Sedona is a wonderful destination, however this "resort" is not what it appears. The rooms are small, dark and very dated. The bathroom was tiny with one sink and a small bathtub.
The spa was fair. I had a massage that was very expensive and not very good.
Disappointing.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your most recent stay here. We have recently undergone a change in management. Since Diamond Resorts took over resort management, we have made significant improvement to our rooms and reception area. However, we do realize that some of our rooms may still appear to be outdated to some. A significant renovation plan is being worked on to update our rooms; however, we cannot provide any specifics as to when this will be started or completed. We always strive to deliver exceptional hospitality and offer good quality accommodation to each of our guests who stay with us, and it is concerning to us that our accommodations and services offered did not meet your expectations. If you are willing to give us another chance, we are extremely confident that your next stay will be much more enjoyable and exceed your expectations. Your business with us is sincerely appreciated and we wish you the best on all your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
1.9 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
2.9 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
5.2 mi away
Bell Rock Inn
Bell Rock Inn
#31 of 48 in Sedona
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona
0.3 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#20 of 48 in Sedona
1,250 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sedona Summit Resort
Sedona Summit Resort
#22 of 48 in Sedona
1,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Abrigados Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Abrigados Resort and Spa

Address: 160 Portal Ln, Sedona, AZ 86336-6149
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
Price Range: $115 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Abrigados Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury resort and spa in Sedona, Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Los Abrigados Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Abrigados Hotel Sedona
Los Abrigados Resort Spa
Los Abrigados Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing