We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Los Abrigados - I've got to say goodbye!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Los Abrigados Resort and Spa
Ranked #40 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Sarasota, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Los Abrigados - I've got to say goodbye!”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I just returned from a week in Sedona, and I hate to say it but I'll no longer be staying at Los Abrigados. We've stayed here too often, expecting that things would improve, but sadly they haven't. The rooms continue to be outdated and dingy. The carpeting is bare, the floors are dirty (do not walk in bare feet!), the appliances and electronics are inadequate, and housekeeping is really a joke. The nicest thing that I can say about this resort is the location and the grounds; the management company hasn't been able to ruin that. So please visit Sedona - it is truly wonderful, and visit nearby Tlaquepaque, have a Prickly Pear Margarita at the Oak Creek Brewery, but please stay anywhere else. It's not worth the money, your timeshare weeks or points!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NJtraveler40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are truly sorry that you have decided against staying at our resort again due to the lack of improvement towards our units. We have recently undergone a change in management. Since Diamond Resorts took over Resort Management, we have made significant improvement to our units. We do realize that our rooms are still outdated. A significant renovation plan is being worked on to update our rooms; however, we cannot provide any specifics as to when this will be started or completed. It is very concerning to read that you did not feel our Housekeeping staff met your expectations. This will be dealt with appropriately. We hope that you will reconsider your decision, as we feel very confident that should you choose to visit our resort again, you will have a much more pleasant and relaxing experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    345
    196
    121
    105
See reviews for
273
429
37
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gardiner, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Spent a week in Sedona at Los Abrigados in march. Fabulous! Accommodations were excellent, staff was friendly and helpful. Shops close by and fun to walk through. Walking distance to downtown Sedona. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Parking is very limited. Rooms at the front of the facility tend to have more spaces available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinW724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plover, WI
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed two nights at Los Abrigados Resort And Spa. I only read the reviews after we booked the room and was concerned given some of the recent reviews. I was pleasantly surprised. Yes the facility is older and somewhat dated decor but our suite (184) was fine. Large flat screen tv in living room. Analog tv in bedroom. Bathroom was the most dated but it was mainly the fixtures. Hotel and ground are nice with lots of trees right on Oak Creek. Bed was comfortable. This is a time share but we did not partake in the timeshare presentation. Certainly not a 5star facility but I would give it 3star which is close to where the hotel is rated.

Room Tip: We were in the T building (184) this is at the back of the facility thus quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ijourneaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Visited for a weeding June 2012. The wedding venue was great. It was in a large shaded area and all of us were quite impressed with how pleasant the shaded area was in the June heat of Sedona, AZ. The area was large and secluded and the staff were wonderful.
HOTEL - A DUMP! It was VERY outdated, old, and dirty. It was disgusting! I checked and overchecked for bed bugs, it was that bad. To provide you a visual, it was more of a old Ramada Inn than a Hilton/Marriott, much less a "resort & spa". The bathroom was dirty and everything was not updated since 1982ish... very disappointing. Worse yet, there was no housekeeping for our 3 days stay.
POOL - The Jacuzzi wasn't even warm.
BAR - The worse bartender! He would disappear, yes, just vanish, then show up 20 minutes later as if nothing has happened, and have a terrible attitude because we mentioned that we had been waiting for the check.
Overall, we were disappointed. If you can afford it, they Hyatt is right up the street.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ezra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post feedback from your recent stay at Los Abrigados. It's a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed the wedding venue!

We regret that your unit was not up to the expected standard. We are currently in process of making upgrades throughout this year. We are adding Flat Screen TVs to all units, bedding will upgraded, sleeper sofas are being changed out, in addition to granite in the kitchens.

It is unfortunate that you had issues with the bartender in the restaurant. We pride ourselves in having a friendly and expedient staff. We have reported this to the restaurant manager for coaching and review.

We hope you'll come visit us again to stay, wedding or not!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sedona hotels

Osoyoos, BC Canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Very dark rooms, small kitchen area, needs new furniture, but the bed was comfortable. We had to go for a 60 minute "update" which we thought was at this resort. Got there at the appointed time and we were told to go to a newer resort for the update (20 minute drive). 60 minutes was supposed to be 90!!! but got out of there on time. This is the second time that we have been told by Diamond Resort that they had just bought the resort we were in so the rooms and areas were not up to par. If they are trying to sell, would you not think they would put us in one of their newer resorts ??? Would not go back to Los Abrigados Resort. Will go back to Sedona, it is gourgeous.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richmil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
We’re really sorry to read that there were aspects of your stay which caused you dissatisfaction. The Los Abrigados Resort and Spa is currently undergoing a rolling program of refurbishment, which will include redecoration of the apartments, and replacement of appliances and interior furnishings.

Please be advised that some of our resorts unfortunately aren’t able to offer presentations on-site – we apologize if this wasn’t made clear to you in advance.

We are very sorry for any disappointment you experienced during your vacation. We do hope that you will choose to return to the Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, however, and we look forward to being of service to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head Island
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We own a week at this place but have not been here in 10 years. What a big disappointment! ILX drained all the money from the property & left it a mess. Diamond took over but have not improved it at all. The units are very dark, drab, & extremely dated with original 70's furniture. Kitchen & bathroom are also very dated & small. Internet does not work at all! The front desk stated that they were working on it for the future!! Unacceptable answer. I admit the grounds were very well kept up. They use to have 3 restaurants but now only have 1 left. When we checked in we were pressured to go on a tour but declined. The woman continued to pressure us & we finally made it very clear that we were not interested. The same woman called us the next day to continue her high pressure tactics to convince us to take a tour. I thanked her & hung up. The only amenities were the pool & fitness room. This resort is in a great location but needs a major overhaul. I would not recommend this resort to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HiltonHeadIslandNavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. It is true that prior to the acquisition of the property, maintenance for certain areas may have been overlooked. Since Diamond Resorts took over Resort Management, we have made many improvements to our units, which include, but are not limited to: guest rooms have new mattresses and box springs along with the Diamond Resorts bedding and linen package, and most kitchen wares and iHome radio/alarm clocks in the rooms have been replaced and upgraded to Diamond standards. We realize that the rooms themselves are still dated. A plan is in the works to renovate these rooms in the future although we cannot provide any specifics on a timeframe as to when this will be started. Our internet routers are located on the roof tops, which may be the cause for intermittent reception and poor signals. We are looking at options to improve our internet service; however, any changes to this would need to be approved by our Homeowners' Association. We apologize about the continued persistence by our Concierge desk representative in regard to requesting you to attend a timeshare tour. This kind of behavior is not representative of Diamond Resorts, and is not acceptable to us. We will take the necessary steps to ensure this type of behavior is not repeated. As we are located in a very popular area in Sedona, we hope that you will reconsider your stance, and decide to stay with us again in the future. If you do decide to stay with us again, we are confident that your next stay will be a very memorable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Since Diamond Resorts took over Los Abrigados, the quality of customer service has declined significantly.

We mailed a check for our maintenance fee of over $800 and they said it was processed on January 4, 2012. So before we are able to book our one bedroom, we have to pay them $91.75 for a late fee. For three days. Before Diamond, we were allowed to pay by January 31.

I have called five times over the past month to try to negotiate something with them, but have never been able to talk to a person to do so. Today I called again to talk and their phone rang 14 times, then their line went dead.

I have been trying to book 2 days of our one week for my wife and special needs daughter to get away for Memorial Day weekend, while I stay home with the rest of our family. We are foster parents.

When my parents passed this on to us years ago, we envisioned comfortable stays among beautiful scenery in Sedona. But not this.

Neil Tift

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
1.9 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#20 of 48 in Sedona
1,217 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
5.2 mi away
Bell Rock Inn
Bell Rock Inn
#31 of 48 in Sedona
554 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sedona Summit Resort
Sedona Summit Resort
#22 of 48 in Sedona
1,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Abrigados Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Abrigados Resort and Spa

Property: Los Abrigados Resort and Spa
Address: 160 Portal Ln, Sedona, AZ 86336-6149
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Abrigados Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury resort and spa in Sedona, Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Los Abrigados Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Abrigados Hotel Sedona
Los Abrigados Resort Spa
Los Abrigados Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing