We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rudest worst managed hotel I have ever been in!”
Review of Enchantment Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Enchantment Resort
Ranked #8 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
CT
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Rudest worst managed hotel I have ever been in!”
Reviewed October 31, 2005

Arriving at the Enchantment resort in the afternoon, we were told by a fairly rude front desk to return in one hour to check into our room. After an hour, they told us to return two hours later. When we did return, our room was "ready" and they showed us to what had to be the worst room in the place--near the road, no view and next to the laundry dropoff facility for the entire hotel ( Our reservation was for a suite with a view). There was even a welcome package in the room with someone else's name on it!!
After another 90 minutes, the manager Chris basically told us tough luck.
This is the first time in our lives (and 40 years of international luxury travel) that we actually left a hotel and stayed somewhere else (Adobe Grand Villas- a luxury B&B that was fantastic).
The Enchantment resort is in a beautiful location. However, the resort is run poorly and no one should waste their money when there are so many other good places to stay in Sedona

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
36 Thank BMK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,861
    459
    186
    74
    58
See reviews for
693
1,211
73
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (681)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 25, 2005

I was very impressed with the staff's attention to detail! I was traveling to celebrate my mother's birthday with my sister and infant, we booked the promotional rate so I expected the service to not be terrific at our rate-but they treated us like Queens! I had requested a baby bed and made a note that it was my mother's birthday and we received a lovely note and fresh berries. The rooms are huge and walking along the grounds both day and night were amazing. The staff could not have been more pleasant and the food was amazing! Terrific hotel!!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gibraltar, mi, 48173
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2005

I just got home from Enchantment and it was spectacular. I felt like I was dreaming. The nountains, the wildlife, the service, the ambiance and just everything was great. Took the jeep tour which was well worth it. Concierge was very informative and I liked the way Enchantment was secluded and not a tourist trap. Can't wait to go back.

Stayed October 2005
Helpful?
7 Thank blueyes_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greensboro
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2005

I made reservations online a few weeks in advance for the Sunday Jazz Brunch at the Yavapai Restaurant. I requested 10:30a but the reservation came back for 12N and did not mention my 10:30a request. Because of this I called the resort about 9am Sunday morning to verify our reservation time. When I explained my request, which was only to make sure we showed up at the correct time, she was very rude and said they did not have any 10:30am times--funny I didn't ask that!

We were there at 11:40a and went to the desk to check in for our reservation. The receptionist was very unfriendly and said we could not check in early but to come back at 12N! We sat in their waiting area till 12N and went to the receptionist to check in. She acted as though this was the first time she had set eyes on us and rudely told us we would have to wait for 15 minutes because they did not have a seating for us. My shocked husband asked if they would find us and got a very rude "ok". After the 15 minute wait, my daughter went back to the receptionist to ask about our seating and got a blank stare and "can I help you?". After explaining once again we were waiting for our 12N reservation, they finally very coldly seated us. By this time my husband could barely eat and most of us wanted to leave but we stayed and the buffet was very good.

We had enjoyed evening meals at the Yavapai in the past with no problems but we have never been treated so rudely this time and have to agree with the others who have said their staff needs to be retrained.

Stayed October 2005
Helpful?
13 Thank dots33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemont, il
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2005

I have been to this resort 5 times before and I love it. I cannot say enough good things about it. The spa is wonderful, the pools are great and the view is really what makes the place. The service it outstanding whenever I have been there. I have had the problem though of wearing jeans or shorts and not being able to eat at the Yavapi restaurant, which is good but overpriced and not a big selection. Tio Gavo is just as good. I have had several massages at the spa and they have always been good, the therapists have always been attentive to my personal needs. I stayed here three times last year, and each time we were greeted with attentiveness to detail, such as a welcome back card and chocolate covered strawberries or two small bottles of Bailey's and chocolate or once a plate of nachos and beer. My husband and I stayed there while on our honeymoon and they brought us chocolate covered strawberries and two splits of champange and a card for our wedding. We stayed at the Santuary on Camelback Mountain in paradise valley after this and it was no comparison to the Enchantment.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank megs781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2005

This is the second time we have said never coming back. The last time they would not let my wife in the dining room wearing denim jeans, we had had no problems the last 4 stays!! they finally relented and let her in the next night but at 5.30pm. As she was eating they let another family in wearing hiking shorts and boots so much for consistency.This stay was a gift we came for three nights the check in was sloppy the room had to be changed the staff don't know what they are doing and don't care. The dinner was very poor the price high. We do not expect this quality in a $750 a night resort we would not mind if it was $100 per night. It's a great pity the setting is magnificent it seems there is no staff training.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank carpis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwood, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2005

My wife and I stayed at Enchantment September 23 & 24/05. We enjoyed every minute. The rooms are extremely comfortable, setting spectacular, restaurant excellent, staff friendly and helpful and genuinely interested in their guests and in making their stay a good experience in every way.

Swimming pools, small and therefore perfect - as there are a number of them all within steps of the rooms - are somewhat private and not thronging with other guests, in addition to red rock buttes towering all around. There are also free washer and driers conveniently nearby all rooms, something experienced travellers always appreciate.

Our sole complaint/suggestion would be that complimentary bottled water be in the rooms upon arrive instead of with the evening turn-down service.

We will return. We highly recommend it to one and all.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
4.7 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
4.2 mi away
Adobe Grand Villas
Adobe Grand Villas
#1 of 48 in Sedona
891 reviews
4.2 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
6.2 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
6.2 mi away
L'Auberge de Sedona
L'Auberge de Sedona
#7 of 48 in Sedona
3,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Enchantment Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enchantment Resort

Property: Enchantment Resort
Address: 525 Boynton Canyon Rd., Sedona, AZ 86336-3042
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sedona
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#3 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#5 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by stunning views of red rock Boynton Canyon and the Coconino National Forest, Enchantment Resort combines the rugged grandeur of the Southwest landscape with luxurious amenities and Native American culture. All 218 Arizona-style guest rooms, completely renovated, have beehive fireplaces and private patios with views of the towering crimson cliffs. The 70-acre resort offers guests more than 100 activities each week including hiking, mountain biking, tennis,cooking classes, arts and crafts, and Native American programs. Resort guests enjoy exclusive access to Mii amo, a destination spa, consistently ranked among the world's best, and Seven Canyons golf club for 18 holes of golf with stunning views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Enchantment Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Enchantment Hotel Sedona
Enchantment Hotel And Mii Amo
Enchantment Resort And Mii Amo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing