We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oasis In a desert haven!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Desert Quail Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Desert Quail Inn
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Newark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Oasis In a desert haven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Stayed 7 nights 6/10/14 -6/10/14 for a wedding and visit. After seven days you really get a feel for the place! Excellent experience! A very well run establishment, with the owner on site attention to detail. Rooms were updated and fresh, we rented several of them. Housekeeping was efficient and always kept the room in order. Small, but, clean pool. Owner is in the process of adding a hot tub. Location was great with close by breakfast/lunch cafe and a large grocery store all within a one minute walk. Rooms equipped with refrigerator and small microwave. Nice size sitting area in room so you can have guests stop by and entertain! Reasonably priced. Book this one! You won't be disappointed!!!

Room Tip: They do have a upgraded suit with in-room jacuzzi, four poster bed and ceiling fan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    747
    395
    47
    12
    6
See reviews for
257
654
55
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

We highly recommend the Desert Quail Inn. Spent two nights at here while in Sedona for a wedding this week. The staff are friendly and helpful, beginning with Francine. The room was extremely clean and well appointed and maintained (far better than a $500 a night 5 star hotel we stayed in recently). It was nice and quiet, but close to restaurants, and all other amenities. The large flat screen TV is a nice touch too as it features many, many viewing choices. Francine directed us to a tiny shopping center just a stone's throw behind the motel. There is an unpretentious looking IGA food store there that is like an Aladdin's cave. For the wine/beer aficionado they have the best and most affordable selection my husband has ever seen.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mesalimey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

We chose the Desert Quail Inn due to the affordable rates and good reviews online. We were pleasantly surprised. Our room was very clean and spacious. The pool was very comfortable and clean. We took advantage of the grocery store behind us. The hotel staff provided referrals to 2 restaurants close by that each offered a 10% discount to people staying at the inn. We went to both and they were excellent. We kept the leftovers and took advantage of the fridge and microwave in the room for one lunch while we lounged poolside for the afternoon. We could see Bell Rock from the pool which was gorgeous at sunset. If we visit Sedona again we would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

My husband and I were very happy with our stay here. The location was excellent and the hotel was affordable than staying inside the city of Sedona. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Manager/owner of hotel was extremely nice and helpful. There is a grocery store and cafe behind the hotel that you can walk to safely. We will definitely be coming back to Sedona for a visit and staying here again. Location is awesome and near all the scenic loop areas to take pictures and see the sunset and rays hit the rocks.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bookbutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

This place was very nice rooms where clean and very quite! Pool was very clean too! You even get a discount on a little restraunt right behind hotel that has great breakfast. The gentlemen at the front desk was so nice and very helpful..... thanks again for the wonderful stay. It is not located in Sedona but you are only 5 to 10 minutes away and the scenery is so pretty on the way into Sedona so what a few minutes with beautiful scenery and saving money!

Room Tip: If you are going to arrive early and want to check in early make sure to call ahead of time so your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank campgirlsmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Nestled away from downtown Sedona, this place was perfect for a family wanting great views. The small pool was perfect with a 3 foot deep shallow end for the 4 year old.

The rooms were clean and the owner and staff were friendly and helpful. When an excursion was canceled, he recommended the safari park for the kiddos. Spot on recommendation! By letting the hotel book our Pink Jeep tour, we saved 10%!

There are plenty of eateries within walking distance. A grocery store is also right behind the Inn.

We will definitely stay here on our next Sedona visit!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilroy, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Not a resort but this motel has all the basics for a short stay. Room was clean. Pool was adequate but on the small side.

Staff was friendly.

They have adjoining rooms which made it nice as we were traveling with others.

Behind the hotel is a grocery store which was convenient to pickup a few things for our road trip.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 20rickg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
6.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Sedona
6.4 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
6.3 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#18 of 48 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
6.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
6.3 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Quail Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Quail Inn

Property: Desert Quail Inn
Address: 6626 Highway 179, Sedona, AZ 86351-7910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sedona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#6 Family Hotel in Sedona
#11 Business Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Desert Quail Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Deset Quail Inn Sedona is located in the heart of Sedona's Red Rock Country, just 7 miles south of Uptown Sedona in the Village of Oak Creek. The Desert Quail Inn Sedona offers beautifully furnished Guest Rooms and Guest Suites featuring in-room Jacuzzi's, cozy Fireplaces, Microwave and Refrigerator in all rooms, soft sheets, plush towels, and Upgraded Amenities. Office hours 8:00 AM - 10:00 PM. Check hours 3:30 PM - 10:00 PM ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Desert Quail Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Quail Hotel Sedona
Desert Quail Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing