We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inexpensive with a great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Desert Quail Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Desert Quail Inn
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Phila. PA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Inexpensive with a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Rooms were very nice and included a couch, table, chairs and refrigerator. The bathroom area is just how I like it, because the sink and counter space are separate from the bath area. The king size bed was comfortable, also. The pool was warm which we usually don't find in hotels even when it is stated. There is no complimentary breakfast but directly behind the hotel is the Red Rock Café. We had breakfast here and it was delicious. The portions are large so be careful. We ordered 1 cinnamon bun for the 9 of us and we didn't finish it. The hotel is located across from shopping and close to restaurants. We would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbT_Phila_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    747
    395
    47
    12
    6
See reviews for
257
654
55
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
94 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

It was our first visit to Sedona and we were totally blown away by the beauty of this area, it is stunning. We stayed one night at the Desert Quail Inn. The room was large and well maintained, although a little dark. It was a bit unusual to have the bathroom vanity in the bedroom/living room. Although we were on the top floor we were a little disappointed that most of our view was blocked by buildings, but what we could see was spectacular especially in the evening light. The motel is a few kilometres outside of Sedona township, in another small town, but as we had a car that wasn't a problem. There are plenty of shops and restaurants nearby, including a supermarket next door.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank opgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOLIET
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Nicely remodeled place with great view right across from and shopping outlet area. By a grocery store. The owner is very accommodating and the place is very clean. I would recommend this place.
Walking distance to restaurant.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MARYKJJoliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, AZ
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

The Desert Quail Inn is an exceptional buy--clean, large well furnished rooms at a very reasonable cost. You can walk next door to a large grocery store; or across the street to a small mall with an excellent restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ddeacon9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
365 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We have stayed in the village of Sedona previously so were happy to be outside for this one night stop where prices were much more affordable.

This place has been totally refurbished since the new owner took over about 2 years ago. Everything is spotless and pristine and linen and towels are of a very high quality (always appreciated and show that owners care in my view).

Front desk staff very pleasant as was the owner. When asked he recommended a place across the road for our evening meal (The Market Place – great, we had a ball and separate review to follow).

Small pool was clan and at the back of the motel so nice and out of view of traffic etc.

I would recommend this place without hesitation. Sedona is only about 10 minutes drive away and clearly has more choice of places to eat but for us this time, it was ideal. No breakfast, but we knew that so no complaints.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 19Nurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Never having been to Sedona before, we had no idea where to stay, so we picked this hotel from TripAdvisor comments. Our comfortable stay included the bonus of what I thought was an ideal location -- close to many of the popular hikes, but away from the touristy section of the city. Also, we were within walking distance to Cucina Rustica, an excellent Italian restaurant, a great breakfast place and a very fresh, "basic" sushi place (description offered by the chef and owner) Minami, both next door. The owners of this hotel are friendly and quite cooperative. When I asked for a not-so-firm pillow choice, they were quick to supply one, and the manager told me he would be adding those as he could in rooms this fall. We stayed in the king room upstairs, 210, I believe, and it was quiet.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the motel if you would like to be away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CorkyMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We got a very good deal on a couple of rooms at the Deserty quail inn, Oak creek on our visit to Sedona. oak creek is a small village in a beatiful part of Sedona. As we understood it, it has lower tax than the more tourist oriented parts of sedona so thats a plus. the whole group liked both Oak creek and Desert quail inn and felt that this was a place to return to. Nice clean rooms with comfoirtable beds. A very good breakfast place (red rock cafe ) nearby and Oak Creek outlet across the street. Being a low cost hotel/motel, desert Quail inn is great value.
When I return to Sedona (and I will!), this will be the place to stay for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krusse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
6.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Sedona
6.4 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
6.3 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#18 of 48 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
6.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
6.3 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Quail Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Quail Inn

Property: Desert Quail Inn
Address: 6626 Highway 179, Sedona, AZ 86351-7910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sedona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#6 Family Hotel in Sedona
#11 Business Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Desert Quail Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Deset Quail Inn Sedona is located in the heart of Sedona's Red Rock Country, just 7 miles south of Uptown Sedona in the Village of Oak Creek. The Desert Quail Inn Sedona offers beautifully furnished Guest Rooms and Guest Suites featuring in-room Jacuzzi's, cozy Fireplaces, Microwave and Refrigerator in all rooms, soft sheets, plush towels, and Upgraded Amenities. Office hours 8:00 AM - 10:00 PM. Check hours 3:30 PM - 10:00 PM ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Desert Quail Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Quail Hotel Sedona
Desert Quail Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing