We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wonderful Experience, Great Place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Desert Quail Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Desert Quail Inn
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience, Great Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

This place is fantastic. Most of the hotels in Sedona cost much more than what we wanted to spend, and I'm so glad that we ended up with this one. I had been worried it'd be sketchy, but it totally wasn't at all. Here's my breakdown:

Room: It was a great size and looked much nicer than I had originally anticipated. Everything was clean and in great condition. Our beds were really comfortable and the rooms did a good job of shutting out noise. The only minor thing was that you had to move around the toilet to shut the bathroom door because it's a bit small, but that's a total non-issue in the grand scheme of things. I was really impressed with the room overall.

Amenities: Refrigerator, microwave, good-sized TV, free wi-fi and parking - those were the main ones I cared about, and it had them all.

Location: It's located in the Village of Oak Creek, which is outside of Sedona proper. You're very close to both Bell Rock and Cathedral Rock, which is super convenient (because those are two of the most popular hikes), and walking distance to Cucina Rustica. Desert Quail is also right next to a supermarket (which is great if you want a simple breakfast or late-night snack) and Red Rock Cafe, which is a wonderful breakfast/lunch spot. The only thing is that you're not right in Uptown/West Sedona - I'd say it's about a 10-25 minute drive depending on how far in each section you're going. I didn't really find it to be a big deal, since the drive is so beautiful both ways, but it's just something to keep in mind when planning the day so that you're not going back and forth all the time.

Safety: I felt completely safe here. Sedona's not a town where I'd feel unsafe in general compared to the city, but the outside of the hotel doesn't look run-down and it looks like it's in a secure area. I didn't have any qualms about this issue during my stay.

Overall, it's not a resort, but if you're looking for a nice place to relax after a long day, then this is perfect. It's a super reasonable price considering the quality of everything, and the staff is really friendly and helpful. If we return to Sedona, this is where we'll probably stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    723
    387
    46
    12
    6
See reviews for
251
631
55
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Ana, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is a great place, in a great location. The room was bigger than I was expecting and in great condition. The place is family owned and both husband and wife were very friendly and resourceful. You are a few miles from uptown Sedona but very close to Bell Rock, Courthouse, and Cathedral Rock. I would highly recommend it.

It also has a supermarket very close and a great place for breakfast/lunch called Red Rock Cafe.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chonia1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeneville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

This motel was perfect for us! Immaculately clean. Peaceful. Beds were amazingly comfortable. Motel was booked to capacity, but never heard a sound from other guests. Owners let us check in a bit early and very helpful in telling us where things were in Sedona. Conveniently located, walking distance to grocery store and restaurant. Highly recommended, and would stay again

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tntraveler39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
none
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Their welcoming staff makes you feel quite at home; a feeling only magnified by the really comfy mattress that allows you to sink-in after a hard day's hike. This husband and wife team went out of their way to make certain that my stay was truly comfortable ~ very knowledgeable about the trails and always there with a great restaurant recommendations. Considering how ridiculously expensive other area hotels are ~ it's almost too good to be true to find this wonderful oasis so close to everything. I've stayed here twice and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoneMxxm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed her twice within a two-week period. After our first two-night stay, we decided to go back for one more night before flying back to Chicago! We loved everything about this hotel, including the location. The rooms have obviously been recently updated. Everything looks brand new, and the beds were fabulous! What we really appreciated about the Desert Quail Inn, in addition to the wonderful amenities, were the owners. It is family-owned and run, and we had the pleasure of meeting the owners, a very nice couple (and their adorable kids) during our two stays at the Desert Quail Inn. It is always refreshing to deal with the actual owners rather than a 1-800 number when making reservations, and even more enjoyable when you get to meet the folks you talked to over the phone. This hotel is about 15 minutes away from the busy and congested areas of Sedona, which we really appreciated. We ate at three restaurants very close to the Inn--all very good. The Red Rock Café (closes early--no dinner here) is a great, little café that is across the parking lot from the Inn. Great breakfast/lunch. Try their plate-sized cinnamon roll (which feeds 6)! Across the street is Marketplace Café, where we both enjoyed some awesome pasta. A short drive down Hwy 179, another gem: Maria's Restaurant & Cantina with great food, reasonable prices and a really nice staff. We can't wait to get back to the Sedona area!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skipper06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Sedona is beautiful but expensive. After searching several months for accommodations that were under $200 and after reading many TripAdvisor reviews of the Desert Quail, we crossed our fingers and booked online. I was initially a little hesitant because of the "motor lodge" appearance of the place, but they must have recently put some money into renovations because the rooms are tastefully updated. As an added bonus, the beds were comfortable, and the rooms were quiet. The inn is not located in downtown Sedona, and you will need a car to get to and from attractions, but it's located in a quieter part of the area, and I felt the rock scenery was even prettier in that region than in the touristy downtown area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amdanbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
74 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

While we were a bit disappointed with the weather In Sedona, we were not disappointed in The Desert Quail Inn. Our room was spacious, very clean and comfortable. We had a large flat screen tv. Instead of hiking in rain and snow, we enjoyed the art shops and restaurants of Tlaquepaque and then returned to enjoy our room. Behind The Desert Quail Inn (go around the swimming pool) you will find Red Rock Cafe and a handy grocery store, IGA Webers, with good selections for travelers. We paid $193 total for two nights, a very good price; it's less other nights of the week. Lots of advantages to its location off highway 179.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
6.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Sedona
6.4 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
6.3 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
6.3 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
5.5 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#18 of 48 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Quail Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Quail Inn

Property: Desert Quail Inn
Address: 6626 Highway 179, Sedona, AZ 86351-7910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sedona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#6 Family Hotel in Sedona
#11 Business Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Desert Quail Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Deset Quail Inn Sedona is located in the heart of Sedona's Red Rock Country, just 7 miles south of Uptown Sedona in the Village of Oak Creek. The Desert Quail Inn Sedona offers beautifully furnished Guest Rooms and Guest Suites featuring in-room Jacuzzi's, cozy Fireplaces, Microwave and Refrigerator in all rooms, soft sheets, plush towels, and Upgraded Amenities. Office hours 8:00 AM - 10:00 PM. Check hours 3:30 PM - 10:00 PM ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Desert Quail Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Quail Hotel Sedona
Desert Quail Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing